We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, basic place to rest your head”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A good, basic place to rest your head”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

A comfortable, clean and basic place to rest your head in Danbury. Flat screen TV, Neutrogena bath products, a wake-up call that was on time and it was less than $100 for the night. A Starbucks is just down the road and I-84 is right there. Free wi-fi didn't work that well, though. No real complaints here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hartss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenDanbury, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Danbury, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your day to comment on our hotel, we appreciate the feedback, and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    227
    49
    18
    11
See reviews for
193
159
49
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This hotel is located just outside of downtown in a quiet neighborhood near the highway. It's new, updated and clean and staff are excellent: friendly and proactive about anticipating guest needs. I have stayed here often in the last year and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieq71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenDanbury, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Danbury, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your day to comment on our hotel, we appreciate the feedback, and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My spouse and I stayed here one overnight only during the recent Electricity Outage due to the Pre-Halloween Blizzard. We had been without power for a week. We craved heat and a hot shower...
This hotel is right off of the main highway 84. The hotel has an open, lovely, welcoming lobby. All the staff were prompt, kind and courteous regarding check-in and check-out. Requesting a late check-out at no charge was NO problem and much appreciated!

'Probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on! No availability of pay-per-view movies was the only oddity for us. Otherwise, the room was clean, spacious and quite comfortable. I would recommend this hotel readily to family or friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dctrip96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenDanbury, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Danbury, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your day to comment on our hotel, we appreciate the feedback, and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We had the opertunity to stay here recently and it was a great experience. As you enter the lobby it is very airy and open. They have a gas fireplace and I noticed people using it as a place to gather and talk with one another. The front dest staff were friendly and helped us very quickly even with the hotel being filled to capacity. The room was very nice, longer than it was wider which made it feel much bigger than I am sure it is. I liked it because when you walked in the first thing I noticed was how big it felt. Each room comes with a refrigerator, microwave, wired & wireless internet and flat screen TV. There is a small indoor pool with a hot tub and a fitness center. They even have a small restaurant in the lobby. We ate there in the morning for the breakfast buffet. The food was very good and they have a great variety. They are able to prepare omlets, and other types of eggs. It was a great change from the usual junk you get at most hotels. I would even consider coming just for breakfast in the future. I would not hesitate to tell family and friends to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenDanbury, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Danbury, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on our hotel. We value all comments and feedback from our guests. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to enjoy the hotel and our services and amenities. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed here recently for a business trip and found the accommodations to be clean and comfortable. All of the linens were clean and nice quality. There were plenty of towels in the room. The bathroom was slightly small, but I like the curved shower rod. The staff were professional, courteous, and attentive whenever I had a question or asked for anything. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and a good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55229Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenDanbury, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Danbury, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, our guest feedback is important to us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We recently traveled to Danbury and chose to book this hotel due to the guarantee for a handicap accessible room for my mother. I am still very thankful that said room was on the ground level. We checked in on Thursday the 27th of October and checked out on Monday the 31st. My only complaint would be the lack of generator for power back up, as we were there during a major snow storm that crippled this city on the 29th. The room was spacious and clean and the staff, however at their wits end (with everything being beyond their control), were polite and courteous. They did their very best to make sure that even when there was no power and cooking capability, that there was some sort of food and coffee for breakfast, and even ordered Pizza for the staff and guests on Sunday night. I would rate their service as 150% as they went above and beyond and never once gave up the smile. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Danbury, I just hope no major storms decide to visit at the same time. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts (Room 129).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenDanbury, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Danbury, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment and review our hotel. I am glad that you were able to see our staff in action during the historic and unprecedented Autumn Nor'easter! It certainly was a hectic time for all - staff and guests alike - however we managed the storm to the best of our ability. You will be pleased to know that our ownership is investing in a generator for the hotel which will be in place in the next six months. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I would really love to like this hotel. On the surface, it is cozy, spotless, friendly and spacious. Not a single complaint about the accommodations. Perhaps it's not fair to judge them during a major storm where they lost power. But we had just come from a wedding hall whose backup power worked so well, we didn't realize the town had lost power until we reached the hotel, which had no functioning elevators, no light, no heat nor hot water. The older folks at the wedding had a difficult time making it up 6 flights of stairs. After traveling in the icy snow for hours, this was a rude surprise. No vending machines to provide water, and no breakfast in the morning either.

The least pleasant part was that we were not offered any sort of recompense, so we paid full price for a substandard stay. Hence the 3-star review instead of 4. So, the chance that this will happen to you if you stay here is slim and you will most likely enjoy your stay here; just note that in the event of a major weather event, this place is not capable of providing the basics with backup power and will not reimburse you for your trouble.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astara8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonGardenDanbury, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Danbury, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment and review the hotel, we value all guest feedback. The unprecedented and historic Nor'easter that crippled the state the weekend of your stay did present some challenges for our hotel, as well as the other hotels in the area. It is difficult to navigate four flights of stairs with limited lighting available, and unfortunately we were not able to offer our standard hot breakfast buffet the following morning, but I am pleased to say that we did have a continental breakfast available for guests as well as hot coffee from a local shop that following morning. You will be pleased to know that our ownership is investing in a generator for the hotel which will be in place in the next six months. I hope that you will give us a try in the future when in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Danbury hotels
2.4 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#2 of 15 in Danbury
741 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#4 of 15 in Danbury
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Danbury
Crowne Plaza Danbury
#8 of 15 in Danbury
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Danbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Danbury

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
Address: 119 Mill Plain Rd, Danbury, CT 06811-5142
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Danbury
#1 Romantic Hotel in Danbury
#3 Business Hotel in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Danbury 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Danbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury Hotel Danbury
Danbury Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Danbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing