We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
“Nice!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Everyone left well rested and happy. Quiet area, which for a family is perfect. The room was clean and comfortable, a nice change from the place we had stayed the night before. Nice staff witah everyone saying Hi as we passed. Small things like that make traveling to far away places seem more like home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquieCrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Jacquie, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We agree with you a 100%, it is the small things that make the biggest impressions. We hope you are enjoying your summer while you travel. We hope to see you again when you are traveling near our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    67
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
65
51
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stopped at this Holiday Inn Express while traveling through Danbury. It was right off the highway. Easy access. Nice and clean. We arrived at 4. Check in was at 2. We asked for a top floor. Housekeeping was not done cleaning rooms on that floor yet...kinda struck us as being odd...as check in was at 2. After 10 minutes of the front counter trying to get a hold of housekeeping they finally decided they had a room. When we got into the room there where no further issues. Breakfast was great. Checkout easy. We paid 119 a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssheilmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have had a busy summer and I am happy that we were able to get you in quickly. Staff has been working hard for all our guest and I glad you were able to see that. Thank you again and enjoy the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Good deal. Clean room, no problem with a late checkout, friendly staff. Breakfast was not delicious-- fake eggs and rubbery pancakes-- but at least there was a good variety, so you had to find something you could eat. Coffee always available, apples or cookies out in lobby. Housekeeping skipped us one day for no known reason, but we eventually got them to come back. Only improvement I'd like to see in the room is an exhaust fan in the bathroom. It gets very steamy with no fan! Had to leave the door cracked open, which was weird considering I was staying with my sister and brother-in-law. But a nice showerhead and good water pressure and temperature.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your compliments on our hotel. We have a really dedicated staff here and they enjoy taking care of all our guest. Your Kind words will be shared with them. Enjoy your summer and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster,PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Saw some mixed reviews and normally would have been a little apprehensive. However, I have never had a bad experience at a Holiday Inn Express, and I know what whiners some folks can be.
OK....the hotel was super easy to find right off I84. The young lady behind the desk couldn't have been any nicer. Not only was I checked in in less than two minutes, I was also given a quick rundown on places to eat.
My room was clean, but somebody must have wanted to hang meat in there as it was freezing. At least I didn't have to worry about the A/C working. Within a couple minutes the room was back to a more moderate temperature.
Other reviews are correct, there is a decent Asian restaurant just at the end of the hotel parking lot. Not great Asian food, but not bad either. Dinner for two with one drink each ran about $35.00.
Two things I do want to note. First, I didn't notice that the hotel was pet friendly. There were two dogs being walked in the parking lot, one in the lobby and one on the elevator. Not once did I smell a dog, nor did I hear a dog barking. I guess people who travel with dogs take pretty good care of them. The other thing I wanted to mention was that while the hotel is non-smoking, it seems that not all the guests abide by the rules. Just inside my room door on the 4th floor I could distinctly smell cigarette smoke. The odor hung around for several minutes but I didn't want to turn into "smoke police" so I didn't go looking for the source of the phantom smoke.
All in all would I stay here again.......for sure. Clean, convenient, friendly staff, fair price....and I didn't mention a very nice complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Wayne, thank you for this extensive review. I am glad after reading the other reviews of our hotel you came and seen for yourself firsthand what our facility has to offer. When we read a review like this from a Senior Contributor, we know we are getting it right. Our guest traveling with their four legged friends are very good about taking care of our product while they are with us, as well as our housekeeping team who work very diligently to make sure our hotel is up to par with every guest expectation. It is unfortunate that some people can’t adhere to the no smoking policy, but I am glad it did not ruin your stay or reflect badly on our hotel. We get many compliments on our breakfast and you can see why, just everything you can ask for and something for everyone. We look forward to having you back when you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Checked in and was given a key to a room that had not been cleaned. Asked not to have my card charged as I was paying cash at checkout, awoke to find a bill with my card already charged. Asked for late check-out, was told yes and had housekeeping walk in on me. After paying cash for room I was told the charge would not be removed from my card for 24 hrs, it is almost a week later and the charge has still not been reversed. Called both the hotel and customer relations and was told there was "nothing they can do". I highly recommend staying at one of the many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the challenges you encountered during and after your stay. This is so unfortunate that we fell so short of your expectations. It really is not the norm here and I apologize on the behalf of our entire team. While it does not appear credit card and cash paying guest policy was explained to you at check in, and this is on us. I know that we cannot be perfect, but in your experience we failed all around. All of our reviews are shared with the staff and we will use your review to better our operations here. If you would like to contact the hotel direct to further discuss this stay I would love the opportunity. Again I apologize to you and I hope in the future you might be willing to let us try and regain your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with a great shower! Easy access to highway, close to good restaurants. Clean, efficient and affordable. Comfortable and quiet! We will definitely stay there again when we travel through Danbury.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Donald thank you for your review, it appears we accomplished our goal of delivering a great guest experience. Your review is exactly how we want every guest to feel about our hotel. The best compliment we can get is knowing you will be coming back. Until then , thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We checked in very late. Make sure you set the GPS for the right location. There are 2 Holiday Inn's in Danbury. The front staff was friendly. The room was larger than expected ( a nice surprise) we had 3 adults and 2 children. The room has 2 full beds and a sleeper sofa. The bathroom was stylish with granite counter top but kind of small. There was a coffee pot, mini fridge and microwave in the room. Breakfast had a good selection with the pancake machine. It was very busy with 2 softball teams there. They made a mess so it was too much for 1 breakfast lady to keep up but she never let the food run out! The out door pool was very small. Over all pleasant, clean, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellye407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found everything accommodating for your family’s needs. The best compliment we can get is know you will return. Thank you again and have a safe enjoyable summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Danbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
1.7 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#3 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#4 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Danbury
Crowne Plaza Danbury
#8 of 15 in Danbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Address: 89 Mill Plain Rd, Danbury, CT 06811-5133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Danbury
#7 Business Hotel in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Danbury
Comfort Suites Danbury
Danbury Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing