We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay and the Staff are ABSOLUTE LIVESAVERS”
Review of Courtyard Danbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Danbury
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay and the Staff are ABSOLUTE LIVESAVERS”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My husband and I booked the whirlpool suite, and - like an idiot - I forgot the honeymoon registry card that was needed to pay for the room about 1000 miles away. We were running late for a wedding, and it looked like, instead of our romantic room, we would miss the wedding And have to sleep in the reception parking lot! But Gloria (THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH!!!) not only took care of everything so we'd have a room to stay in that night, she also fixed it so that we could have the room we originally booked and let us check in and head out to make it to the wedding in time while she ironed out the booking details. We didn't miss one moment of our dear friends' "I Do"s and enjoyed a room that was clean, quiet, comfortable, and a check out that was simple and easy. Everything worked out wonderfully, and we can't thank the staff of the Courtyard Danbury enough. These folks went Waaaaay out of their way for us, and they've got loyal customers in us for life. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneGratefulCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYManagerDanbury, General Manager at Courtyard Danbury, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear OneGratefulCouple
Thank you so much for the wondering posting. We are so glad that excellent customer service was not only what you expected but what you also received during your stay! Gloria is one of our seasoned guest service agents and was delighted that she was recognized for outstanding guest service. We look forward to hosting you in the Danbury area again. I am so glad you had a great time at the wedding and enjoyed the benefits of our wonderful hotel.

Sincerely

Jillian Alps
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    87
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
63
42
11
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I've stayed here many times over the past years and each time it gets better. They just finished cleaning out and converting it to a non-smoking facility. They also just finished the cafe/reaturant down in the lobby. Looks great. Not an inexpensive place to stay, there are many other hotels nearby but I think this one is the safest, cleanest and has the most amenities.

Room Tip: No ''bad'' rooms. It's a quiet area, all rooms converted to non-smoking and thor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYManagerDanbury, General Manager at Courtyard Danbury, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Good afternoon - thank you so much for your continued patronage of our wonderful hotel. We are so glad you have chosen to continually stay with us. Please let us know when you will be traveling through the area again and will ensure that you have another wonderful stay!! Sincerely Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, NH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the marriott Courtyard in danbury as part of a weeding weekend. The rooms in the hotel were quite nice but some of the amenities were not. The "pool" was not much larger than a bathtub. The front desk service was very spotty. The "fitness center" consisted of a bench, some dumbbells, 2 treadmills, 1 eliptical machine and a stationary bike. I would love to see a hotel be honest and describe this type of set-up not as a fitness center, indicating a fully equipped room, but instead as what it is, a room with some exercise equipment. The lobby of this hotel was nicely furnished but the restaurant had limited menu options. And FYI - be careful when ordering a drink. The drink prices are not a accurately depicted on the drink menu.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYManagerDanbury, General Manager at Courtyard Danbury, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Dear seh09
Thank you so much your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not have an entirely exceptional experience at our hotel and I will certainly forward your suggestions to our Marriott corporate office in charge of the hotel design. Providing feedback does provide us the opportunity to offer excellent customer service to each and every one of our guests. Thank you for contributing to the overall success of our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you to the Danbury area again soon. Please contact me personally if you would like to make a reservation.
Sincerely
Jillian Alps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hurricane Irene hit us in Connecticut and we were without power for TEN loooonng days. We have a 6 month old and a 4 year old and didn't realize how much we would miss simple things like ummm... hot water, cold milk or a stove much less things like a fan much less air conditioning and, of course, television.
Luckily, we were able to snag a room at the Courtyard Marriott in Danbury the night the eye of the storm was scheduled to hit us the hardest. Needless to say, trees and power lines went down, our yard completely flooded and our power went out. What we didn't expect was the electricity not to come back on for ten whole days...
But, thankfully, we had Jillian and the entire staff at the Courtyard who took care of us and made our home away from home as welcoming and comfortable as possible.
The room was spacious - enough for us to spread out and not annoy each other too much. The indoor pool and whirlpool was a great way to get some fun in and the hotel is across the street from a Wal-Mart, 2 minutes away from a Target and is a short 10 minute drive to the Danbury Mall (which features a 2 story carousel)
When we ran out of things to entertain the little ones, of course Jillian and the staff gave us some great recommendations of things we could do locally to avoid going stir crazy.
In addition to being full of great ideas and help, they went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. There was a fridge and microwave in the room and a washer/dryer on site. The little things the hotel did such as complimentary Internet access throughout the entire hotel, free printing service and providing washing detergent and fabric softener really made our stay so much easier.
The bistro had a problem one night so we went to Blue Chip (a restaurant right in front of this hotel) with a discount from the hotel to get dinner. But, on many other nights we were able to get anything from the bistro from panninis to salads, wraps to burgers. They had a surprisingly large selection. While their hours are pretty limited, several choices of to-go wraps, sandwiches, salads, chips etc are always available for pick up at the Market, right near the bistro and for those of us with needy kids who just "NEED" a warm glass of milk at a time when the bistro is closed, the front desk always works something out for you.
Our package was the 'stay for breakfast' package which includes breakfast for 2 adults and their choices were perfectly acceptable with french toast or an omlette, a bfast platter or a bfast sandwich and a choice of beverage or side - they have bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit and the such.
The shower was amazing and just knowing that anything you could possibly want or need would be taken care of by their staff was enough to make us forever grateful to this Courtyard Marriott and we hope to go again in the future under less stressful circumstances!

Room Tip: they also have great AAA rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medha311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYManagerDanbury, General Manager at Courtyard Danbury, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Good Morning Medha311 - thank you so much for the wonderful review of the property. We were so lucky that we did not lose power at the hotel and were able to cater to all of our fabulous inhouse guests for the week. So glad all of the amenities met your needs and you were able to enjoy your time here during the power outages. It is always so rewarding when our guests truly enjoy the hotel and are able to connect with all the wonderful employees that we have. Please contact me directly the next time you would like to stay at the hotel and I will ensure it is a special time for you - completely stress free. Again we are sincerely appreciative of the lovely things you have said about the hotel and we thank you tremendously. Best wishes from both Mangement and Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Possibly the best Courtyard experience. Great location in Danbury. Easy access to freeway. Front desk staff is very helpful. Food in the lounge was good, and available at night. Hotel itself is clean and has everything you would need. TV's are old, but didn't spend too much time watching anyway. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Stay here you will not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYManagerDanbury, General Manager at Courtyard Danbury, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Good afternoon - thank you so much for the wonderful feedback on our hotel. We are looking forward to hosting you in the Danbury area again soon. Hospitably Yours - Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffin, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We only stayed one night enroute to our main destination but I found the hotel very nice. The room was well decorated and quite comfy. We even had a small balcony. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nattie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYManagerDanbury, General Manager at Courtyard Danbury, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Good afternoon - we are glad you chose our hotel for your overnight stay. Thank you so much for the positive comments. Please let us know when you will be traveling through the area again. Sincerely Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My friend was getting married on Saturday 8/6/11 at the Fox Hill Inn in Brookfield so the wedding party stayed here the night before and got ready in the room the day of the wedding.

The hotel is very chic upon walking in, not something I would expect to see in Danbury, CT. They have a huge touch screen TV in the entrance to give you updated news, weather, local events, etc. There is a media center (2 actually) where you can hang out and read, print boarding passes, go on the computers, etc. The check in desks were cute, 2 separate desks rather than the one large counter in most hotels.

They do have a little breakfast bar type place where you can grab bagels, muffins or even eggs and sit down to eat, nothing like a restaurant. They do serve Starbucks, thank goodness!

The room was nice for the price and totally fit all of us, granted the pull out "bed" was a disaster, thankfully we had air mattresses. The pullout couch looked smaller than a full but just a smidgen larger than a twin in size, it was extremely uncomfortable. The bottom legs didn't even touch the ground, they just suspended in midair even while you were on it. It's understandable that those are not the most comfortable to sleep on but the one girl who did sleep on it could barely walk the next day.

Overall the hotel is nice, the gym looked great - although we didn't use it and the pool is tiny but looks like it works for the 100 little league players that were there the same weekend as us :) We did request additional towels and pillows at about 1am and the hotel had no trouble getting them for us - which was awesome!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shlinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYManagerDanbury, General Manager at Courtyard Danbury, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you Shlinds for the wonderful progress report on our hotel. We love to host wedding guests and you are one of the reasons why!! The hotel has been completely renovated and we are pleased that you like all of our upgrades and amenities offered with the room. We love the new addition of our Courtyard Bistro serving breakfast and dinner with our bar. Starbucks has been the best addition to the hotel and our guests love not having to drive to the local store but just walk down to the lobby and order!! Sincerely Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Danbury hotels
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#3 of 15 in Danbury
742 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#1 of 15 in Danbury
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Danbury-Bethel At I-84
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Danbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Danbury

Property: Courtyard Danbury
Address: 3 Eagle Rd, Danbury, CT 06810-4125
Region: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Danbury 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Danbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Danbury Hotel Danbury
Danbury Marriott
Danbury Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing