We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Functional & Large room w/ Fridge. Microwave, Couch, HD TV, nice bed, lousy Bkfst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Danbury
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
290 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Clean & Functional & Large room w/ Fridge. Microwave, Couch, HD TV, nice bed, lousy Bkfst”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Not bad, pretty clean rooms with cooshy beds. Falt screen HD TV w/ plenty channels. Watch out for the over-large faucet handle - you can poke your eye out with it. Is too long and sticks up into your face. Poor design and a hazard. Breakfast is lousy - same old instant eggs and yucky sausage patties. Change it up a little. Check-in could have been smoother. Asked for top floor (and this is on my awards profile as a default preference) and the girl acted like she had to do a miracle to make this happen, although parking lot was practically empty. Not a bad choice for the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimB_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura N, Guest Relations at SpringHill Suites Danbury, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear JimB_Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our guest service. I am sorry we did not make a great impression with you during check in or breakfast. Our front desk strives to honor our Marriott reward member requests beforehand and I will be sure to mention your experience with our staff. In regards to breakfast, the SpringHill Suites introduced a brand new breakfast this summer featuring healthy, natural selections to provide more options to our guests.

I hope you will stay with us again and give us another opportunity to demonstrate the quality and service we are capable of providing.

Sincerely,

Laura N.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    77
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
74
38
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed one night recently to see a concert at Ridgefield Playhouse...about a 15-20 minute drive. Check in was friendly and quick. Went to my king suite. It was super clean, and had the newer SHS décor(very colorful). I had a micro/refrig, and sofa and sitting area. The bed was awesome...soft with pristine white sheets. The A/C worked very well, almost too well, blowing slightly on the bed. The shower was hot with good water pressure. A large flat screen TV got a decent amount of channels. I had a quiet nights sleep despite a full hotel. Breakfast in the morning was crowded, hectic, but very good.
Now the only(slight) negative. Walking past the pool area, I saw a sign saying "pool/whirlpool. After 8 hours on the road, a soak in the whirlpool sounded great. Except they no longer have the whirlpool. It was removed and tiled over. I asked at the front desk...all they said was they haven't changed the sign yet. This was disappointing, though not a deal breaker. Being loyal to the Marriott chain, I would stay here again....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura N, Guest Relations at SpringHill Suites Danbury, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Jmat, Thank you for your review and taking the time to share how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We truly appreciate your kind words and I was happy to hear we provided you with a comfortable night's sleep.

Last spring we enlarged our pool deck area eliminating the whirlpool and I apologize for not having the updated signage posted. Our heated indoor pool is always a warm 80 degrees and available from 7 AM until 10PM for your enjoyment.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura N.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galesburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Nice room, nice bedding and kept nice and clean. The breakfast is simple but good. I didn't use the pool but noticed it was quite small but clean. The only problem we had was the people or person that was above us. I expect kids little feet running across the floor but I couldn't believe that during the night someone could be so inconsiderate!!! Of course this is not the hotels fault but if you are a lite sleeper you might want a room on the top floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura N, Guest Relations at SpringHill Suites Danbury, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Susan E, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your feedback about the cleanliness of our hotel, we appreciate your comments. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in keeping our SpringHill Suites clean and fresh so you will always enjoy a comfortable stay.

I apologize for the noise you encountered, please know there is always a staff member available 24 hours to assist with any concerns.

Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Laura N.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC Area
Level Contributor
183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Certain chains are consistent in their quality and the customer's expectations. I've found this to be true of the Marriott mid-range chains, and this was no exception. The property is on a quiet road, but near I-84, so it is a convenient stopping place for travelers. We were in the area for a Bridge tournament, and a hotel walking distance from the SpringHill, so it was perfect for us (we came in 2nd, so it was a good experience overall). Everything was well managed, the free breakfast was adequate if not an extensive selection, the free newspaper was the WSJ, a giant leap up from USA Today. The staff were all courteous and helpful. The beds relatively new and comfortable. The room was roomy, with a separate sitting area and good sized workspace. Free Internet. Just about everything you need for a one night stopover.

The downside was the heat pump that provided heating and cooling; it was so noisy we had to turn it off to sleep.

The other item of interest was the fact that there was no place outside to plug in the cord to top off the battery in our plug-in hybrid. Not a big deal, but we've started seeing this accommodation (weatherproof outside 110v outlets) in other venues we have stayed at recently; we hope Marriott and other chains catch up with the ICH chain where we have taken advantage of this feature.

Room Tip: No bad rooms that we could see. The whole area is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdclarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura N, Guest Relations at SpringHill Suites Danbury, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear pd clarry, Marriott takes great pride in making their guests feel at home during their stays and I was so pleased to read your comments about our consistency and how we met your expectations! Our wonderful staff, convenient I-84 location, spacious suite rooms and complimentary breakfast provide for a comfortable stay. I am sorry about your experience with our a/c and heating unit, we are currently performing our fall maintenance on all the units to insure they are in proper working order.

There are a number of Marriott hotels that currently provide plug-in stations for hybrid cars. In keeping with Marriott's 'Spirit to Preserve' green initiatives we look forward to adding a charging station to our property in the near future.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura N.
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Could not have asked for a better experience with a hotel. Spacious rooms, fridge, microwave, huge bathroom. Excellent temp control in the room. Has a pool and exercise room. Free wifi. And what might be the best continental breakfast I have ever seen at any hotel worldwide. They change it up every morning but a few things you can look forward to are: oatmeal bar - with choices of toppings, breads/bagels/muffins, fruit, yogurt, milk, cereal, juices, hot breakfast options! Scrambled eggs, mix, sausages. Just an unreal spread. The staff were more than helpful with every question I had. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, whether staying a night or long term!

Room Tip: All around excellent experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura N, Guest Relations at SpringHill Suites Danbury, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Lauren R, I was thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Our all suite rooms are spacious and larger than standard rooms and are well appointed with a convenient pantry area. This summer we rolled out our new SpringHill Suites breakfast program that includes a greater variety of choices like strawberries and fresh fruit to name a few, on our buffet each day. We appreciate your comments about our staff and I will be sure to share your review with them.

We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is very well maintained, staff pleasant and helpful, and the location excellent. I had business in northern Westchester County, NY and this location was convenient due to its proximity to I-84. Even though it is right off the interstate, you get the feeling of being removed from it. It was quiet and had no views of the freeway. Space inside the room was conducive to getting work done as the desk area is seperated from the sleeping area. There was a Starbucks just up the road for your morning fix and a Trader Joe's for take out healthy food selections.

Room Tip: I was on the top floor and had a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I like the Springhills. This was no different. I arrived in the evening without a reservation the front staff were very accommodating and cordial. The room and all of the amenities are as advertised and promoted. This location is in a good location; easy to get on and off the highway. The only problem that I had, and I wish they would address is availability of snacks. I came in late and hungry. There is a kiosk of grocery items to purchase and nuke in the room. I chose to leave and go about a mile to find something. The pickings are slim, so I returned to the hotel and purchased a snack. Not even water is in the room. The snack was very expensive, and in the end pretty much junk food, though advertised to be a good healthy snack. I threw it out and went to bed just drinking the water I purchased (which was probably best anyway). I have been to hotels that will at least have apples out to grab as you come in, or a cookie, or popcorn, and some even have a light buffet of something like pasta, fresh bread and salad. I would not expect this service and every location, but for this location, it would make sense! So, I do like this chain and this location and recommend a stay here. You will not be sorry. Just eat before you check in for the night, and bring your own water. Folk are really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthFloridian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Danbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees Danbury
1.8 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#3 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Danbury
Crowne Plaza Danbury
#8 of 15 in Danbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Danbury
Residence Inn Danbury
#9 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#4 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Danbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Danbury

Property: SpringHill Suites Danbury
Address: 30 Old Ridgebury Rd, Danbury, CT 06810-5128
Region: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Danbury 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Danbury, located off of I-84, offers modern amenities, thoughtful services, and an ideal location near popular area attractions. Our Danbury, CT hotel is accessible to many International Airports and is just minutes from Western Connecticut State University. Our SpringHill Suites hotel in Danbury is also in close proximity to Brewster, NY, the Brewster Ice Arena, Charles Ives Center, and O'Neill Center. As one of the premier Danbury, CT hotels, we provide expansive guest suites with semi-separate living and sleeping areas, luxury bedding, pull-out sofas, functional kitchenettes, and free high-speed Internet access. After a revitalizing sleep in our signature bed, guests can refuel with our complimentary breakfast buffet or get energized at our Danbury hotel fitness center with indoor pool. From arrival to departure, our staff at the SpringHill Suites Danbury works diligently to ensure that our guests enjoy all of the comforts of home while experiencing the quality of a Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Danbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Danbury Hotel Danbury
Danbury Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing