We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of Five Bells

Five Bells
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Bells
Ranked #2 of 2 Wickham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 May 2014

we booked this weekend break after watching four in a bed i thought it would be a nice place to stay for my birthday we arrived saturday at 5pm had a couple of drinks then booked in to room 5 at the back nice views overlooking the garden and fields room was very clean. Showeroom was spotless then went back downstairs for somthing to eat food was very good and large portions beer was very good great selection we came down for breakfast at about 9am and was served straight away our order was taken and freshly cooked and arrived on warm plates which is how it should be food was again very good and lots off we enjoyed our final day here on sunday evening with another great meal and a great evening talking and laughing with Emma and Peter then left after breakfast on monday all in all a great weekend just to that their is not a lot near by so do not expect other pubs or restaurants or shops it would be about a four mile drive to the next pub

Room Tip: rooms at the back have great views we had room 5
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B4075ILpeterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Five Bells
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here following a day at Newbury races:
Very friendly, helpful and efficient staff.
Fabulous food - both in the evening and breakfast.
Real ales - amazing well kept choices - also some interesting ciders and perrys if that's your taste..
Accommodation - room 4 was very small but the bed was sooooo comfortable, it was all spotlessly clean, the towels were of excellent quality that wrapped right round you and also dried you well! The shower exquisite! There was a super hairdryer, but perhaps thought could be given to a mirror being in the room for hair drying etc.
In fact the only thing to spoil the visit was the other selfish guest who decided to try and smoke out of the window setting off all the alarms at 11pm, however the staff dealt with the incident very efficiently and well. Thank you, hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillyMollysixty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for a night at the end of March as part of a birthday surprise. We were given room 1, which was lovely and had the bath and shower open plan in the same room. Very comfy bed, rain shower, and seperate roll top bath.
The staff, from checking into room in the afternoon, throughout the whole evening were brilliant.
We really enjoyed the food, but the beers were amazing.
If you like Belgian Beers, this is the place for you. They have around 30 and all put into a little book that describes them, and all served in their own special glass. nice touch.
The Tripel Karmaliet and Kwak were beautiful.
Talking about taking a walk the next morning, a map was photocopied for us, showing routes we could go. very impressed.
Would recommend this to anyone, but if you like Belgian beer, you must get to this pub!!

Room Tip: Room 1 was excellent. ground floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfcandsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The staff were very friendly and food was lovely. If you want to stay in a real ale pub this is a great place. A selection if 9 ales which you can have a 1/3rd of a pint in a taster tray. The rooms are small but newly done and clean. For £75 a night I would expect a hair dryer. Overall a great stay

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a room so that we could have a few drinks with our meal and not worry about getting home.

Meal was fantastic.

Room was tiny. No space to put even a bag down without tripping over it, so had to shove everything under the bed. Only one set of towels left out for two of us, no shampoo or conditioner provided (would have expected those for the price). And there were a lot of stains on the walls. None of this a real problem but disappointing for the price.

Also the room was freezing during the night, after the heating had gone off. Had to sleep fully clothed and woke up cold.

One other problem which may have been entirely down to the howling gales that night: the window rattled and wind whistled through it very loudly. We had to jam a towel between the window and the frame to get any sleep. Would benefit from double glazing, which it already had in the bathroom.

Breakfast was excellent.

Overall would suggest either reducing the price or making some improvements.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
11  Thank clairenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Booked this lovely pub for one as we travelling to Lancashire from Gatwick just for one night.Well what a surprise,the staff could not make us more welcome,the bedroom although on the small size was ideal for a one night stay,it was very modern and immaculate.We had dinner in the restaurant and again it was very good.The only fault no hairdryer in the bedroom otherwise brilliant

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Great location, just off M4. Food, both evening and breakfast was superb. The sign at the front said 'boutique rooms' - they were clean, nicely presented but were quite small and lacked any space to work (desk) or a surface for a suitcase. If you're there on a stop-over, recommend but not necessarily for more than a night or two?!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robshepbland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wickham
4.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
642 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crab & Boar
Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
738 reviews
5.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,818 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Bells

Address: 108 Baydon Road | Newbury, Wickham, Newbury RG20 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury > Wickham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wickham
Price Range: £70 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Five Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing