We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Name changed to Wild Ginger but same good food”
Review of Ching's Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ching's Kitchen
Ranked #56 of 80 Restaurants in Darien
Price range: US$20 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Takeout
Timbuktu, Mali
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Name changed to Wild Ginger but same good food”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We usually do take out from Wild Ginger -the name now used by the former Ching's Kitchen. The dining area is large and pleasant and the service is good. There is a large selection of Chinese and other Asian menu items. Good sized servings of very well prepared food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank howdydoody30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wild Ginger/Ching's Kitchen - very good.”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Had a late lunch with husband and toddler while travelling; located in little cute area of Darien. Pretty standard Chinese menu with some additions, like dim sum and chow fun. We had dim sum special sampler, beef chay pot, spring rolls, vegetable mai fun, wonton and hot and sour soups. Server was a little on the quiet side but they accommodated the baby, even giving him an orange for no charge. Clean, nicely decorated, bar available, reasonably priced, food was good. Nice, quiet lunch. Very good and I'd definitely go back if I were in the area again and in the mood for Asian.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruangel82480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not Many Dumpling Options for a Dumpling House”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

As my family loves dumplings, I was disappointed to only find three dumpling options on the menu in this so called Dumpling House. It was very crowded on the night we went and I was not impressed. I probably will not be back as I can't really rate the experience outstanding in any way. Too bad - we were looking for more. Also, it's extremely hard to find a menu from them anywhere online. Not impressed no matter what the reviews say.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank AuthorMomManhattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just fine, now named Wild Ginger. Very good for a quick chinese/fusion meal.”
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Just fine, now named Wild Ginger. Very good for a quick chinese/fusion meal.

Helpful?
Thank MarcReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“always a high standard - great service”
Reviewed 2 September 2008

always a high standard - great service

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ching's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing