We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Goodspeed Musicals!”

Goodspeed Opera House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GOODSPEED MUSICALS' Birthplace of the original productions of Man of La Mancha, Shenandoah, and Annie, and the first regional theatre to receive two Special Tony Awards for its outstanding achievements, Goodspeed Musicals produces America's musical treasures to delight, inspire, and entertain you. Set along the tranquil Connecticut River, our two intimate theatres bring you closer to the excitement of live musicals. The beautiful surrounding countryside is brimming with restaurants, shops, and galleries for a get-away so perfect, you'll want to make it a Goodspeed day!
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss Goodspeed Musicals!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Outstanding productions of musical theatre, unrivaled in the state. Don't miss it on your next visit to Connecticut.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    47
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“B'way quality w/o the noise, crowding, prices”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I live a few blocks from Times Square's theater district, specifically for the opportunity to see as many shows as we can cram into our schedule, between 70 and 80 a year (for the past 20 years). And we make the two-hour drive here regularly, as the shows are equal in performance quality to most anything you'll see on B'way. That was certainly true of yesterday's well sung performance of The Most Happy Fella. It's a small, intimate theater with nice acoustics and sight lines, great for the family.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toreadorable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Always Delightful”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our second trip to Goodspeed, and I now wonder what took us so long to visit in the first place!

The show we saw was "Most Happy Fella", and everything including set design, lighting, sound, costuming, was about as perfect as it can get for a venue of this size (small). Additionally, and most important, the acting and singing were truly first rate, Broadway worthy performances.

My only small quibbles (and the reason for four-stars instead of five):

1) The theater is woefully low on restrooms. The ladies room has only a few stalls, and it is in a difficult location to reach; as in, second level, stairs involved, and only one tiny, slow elevator that holds about six people.

2) Seating, while not uncomfortable, exactly, is well, low. As in, the chairs seem "sunken" so you must turn your head and eyes upward during the performance.

3) Exits seem inadequate for the size crowds who attend. God forbid there was ever a fire--the aisles become clogged quickly, and I can't imagine making a quick exit even if your life depended on it.

None of the above is meant to be negative, it is just observations about a building that is old, and historic.

Still, the visit itself, and the play(s) we saw, were delightful both times we visited, and we plan to go again next season, which opens April 11, 2014.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
863 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“Off-Off-Broadway But First Rate”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have been enjoying Goodspeed for more than thirty years. Having seen a number of Broadway and some London shows, there is still something special about Goodspeed-its the AAA league team that frequently sends stars and new musicals to the Big White Way. Even when a revival is not destined for that honor, it cherishes and restores examples of one of our greatest art forms. We have never seen a bad show at Goodspeed-and many create lifetime memories.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The shows at this place are always to die for! The acting and singing is phenomenal and when it finally ends you only wish you could buy another set of tickets to see it all again! The location is so convenient because once the show is over you can choose between two delicious restaurants that provide the best service and the best food. It's the perfect place for a romantic date or a wonderful get together with family/friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 177Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goodspeed Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Goodspeed Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing