We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shows”

Goodspeed Opera House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GOODSPEED MUSICALS' Birthplace of the original productions of Man of La Mancha, Shenandoah, and Annie, and the first regional theatre to receive two Special Tony Awards for its outstanding achievements, Goodspeed Musicals produces America's musical treasures to delight, inspire, and entertain you. Set along the tranquil Connecticut River, our two intimate theatres bring you closer to the excitement of live musicals. The beautiful surrounding countryside is brimming with restaurants, shops, and galleries for a get-away so perfect, you'll want to make it a Goodspeed day!
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Shows”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have been going to the Opera House for years. Its a great place to see a show ..... order your intermission drinks before the show begins and if its nice sit outside on the deck. Your drinks will be waiting for you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise33876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    47
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great little theatre”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We saw Fiddler On The Roof, and although I had seen it before, I have to say it was the best production I have ever seen. In fact, one of the best productions of any musical. First rate cast, direction, music, choreography. The old theatre could have used more bathrooms, since there were still lines when intermission was over, and the egress was crowded, but it is an old charming building. During intermission, go out on the little deck behind the theatre for nice views of the river. The show was a highlight of our trip to Connecticut.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Booneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bravo!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Took my mother to see Fiddler on the Roof in July. Booked the dinner and play option. It was a great dinner ending with a memorable performance. We so enjoy the comfort and intimacy of the opera house. We will continue to attend plays there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maypo112003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Production & Unique Venue”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My first visit to the Goodspeed Opera House was for a showing of Fiddler On The Roof. The theater was unique and quaint - because the theater is so small, you'll have a great view no matter where you sit. I highly recommend the mezzanine seats, but there are quite a few stairs to go up to reach the mezzanine level. Parking is just a short walk away and free.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank krzemke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We live nearby and are Season Ticket holders...... every show is professional quality and the venue is a step back in time.... Not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goodspeed Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Goodspeed Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing