We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Located on a pedestrian or walking street along the old town square in city. The hotel is an old building but well renovated into a 5-star hotel.
We requested for an early check-in, it was approved, we request for a late check-out, it was approved also, even on a off season time, some hotel would not have approved it.
The reception personnel were very helpful in advise on what to do in the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaiF B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Johan Liebenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    65
    36
    17
    16
See reviews for
48
36
13
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My company hosted an event at the Holiday Inn in July and we were very pleased with the service. Carol was amazing to work with and has great follow-up and responsiveness! The food was delicious and the staff was very accommodating with every request we made. The renovations that were recently completed are modern, functional and aesthetically pleasing!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Kelly,

Thanks so much for the great review of our hotel. We appreciate your kind feedback and I will be sure to share your comments with the team.

See you soon,

Johan Liebenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunriver, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a relative in the hospital in Hartford and so decided to book a Hotwire stay near by. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left we were treated like gold. The hotel managers had a greeeting for guests on the first night of our stay and we spoke with them both personally. They offered up a free microwave oven and a small refridgerator for our room which were delivered before we even got back to the room after dinner. The hotel has a shuttle which made trips to the hospital effortless and the driver was warm and very thoughtful. The waitress took special efforts to learn our names and to satisfy us in every way. Total customer satisfaction seemed to be the goal of every employee at this hotel and it was obvious that they took pride in their hotel. When we checked out one of the managers asked how our relative was doing in the hospital. This hotel is a great value and has outstanding staff. I would rate them 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: Just ask for a good room and you will get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 473steve_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hi Steve,

Thanks so much for taking the time to do a review of the Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area. It was great to meet you and your wife and I am very glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations while you were visiting your Mother-in-Law here in Hartford.

It was a pleasure to be of service and my team and I look forward to hosting you again the next time you come to visit.

All the best,

Johan Liebenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after a concert at the Xfinity Center - 0.8 miles away, and it is definitely within walking distance. You have to cross a bridge, but there is a pedestrian walkway. Rooms are clean and when we stayed, the hotel was quiet, despite what seemed like too many costumed human beings. Access seemed like it was right off of the highway, and there was plenty of parking.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank reefcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Jess B,

Thank you so much for your review of the Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area. I am happy to hear that you had a great weekend, it was indeed an interesting one with all of the "costumed humans" that attended the annual ConnectiCon Convention. They are a fun bunch!

Enjoy your summer,

Johan Liebenberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjt184
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Recently stayed here for one night to go to a concert at the Xfinity Theater. It was clean and comfortable. Check in was quick and easy but had an issue with the air conditioning not working when we got to our room. Called the front desk and they had someone fix it in less than 30 minutes. Great location and reasonably priced compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjt184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. The Dave Mathews concert at the Xfinity Theatre was a huge event for the city seeing as it was on the same weekend as Riverfest and all hotels were sold out, I'm glad we could accommodate you.

Enjoy your summer and we hope to see you again soon.

Johan Liebenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

TOO MANY NICE THINGS TO STAY - Carol Catrini, Renee Denno, Bernice Peltier and Denise Devillez were the perfect assets to our trial team. Not only did they treat our entire team like family, but everyone at the hotel went above and beyond to help make our 7 week stay in Hartford a great experience. Could not have asked for a better group of people. Thank you to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We really enjoyed having your legal team here during the trial. They were a great bunch of people and they became family very quickly. We miss all of them already.

Also, I will make sure to share your compliments with my team.

Thanks again!

Johan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn this week. I am not a big fan of Holiday Inn's in general, but needed something that was close to downtown Hartford. It was a beautiful, reasonably priced property close to downtown (about 3 minutes) which made it very convenient for my co-workers to pick me up. It also offers a free shuttle to take you downtown or pick you up. The decorations were lovely, and I found my room to be fresh and clean. The bed was very comfortable. For breakfast, they offer a great all you can eat buffet of eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, french toast, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, etc. If I need to return to Hartford, I am going to stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the Route 84 side, as it is much noisier than the other side of the property. It al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Barbara,

I love reading reviews such as yours!! Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our hotel, I am always happy when someone walks in skeptical but out as a loyal customer.

See you soon,

Johan Liebenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hartford
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,075 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 12 in Hartford
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
1.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area

Property: Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Address: 100 E River Dr, East Hartford, CT 06108-3233 (Formerly Hartford Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > East Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easily accessible from Interstates 91 and 84 and located only 12 miles from Bradley International Airport, Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area features 215 tastefully appointed guest rooms and suites. Additionally, there is more than 7,200 square feet of meeting and event spaces. Plus a restaurant and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel East Hartford
Sheraton East Hartford
East Hartford Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing