We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, good quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hartford Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
River Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
257 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Convenient location, good quality hotel”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was looking for a hotel near my client's location, and for some reason, the hotels in the area were sold out for the dates I needed. I tried a few hotel sites, and found this hotel. I am not very picky, so I thought the hotel was excellent. Does it need some work, probably, but I found the room had everything I needed, and it did not feel crowded or unkempt. I would stay there again if in the area. Did not eat at the restaurant, got out in the morning before it opened.

Room Tip: It's near the highway, but I did not notice any road noise during my stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    30
    58
    68
    51
See reviews for
68
46
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. Staff was friendly and the room was nice. The bed was comfy, room was spacious but overall the hotel needs upgrading. The were no outlets near the bed (which isn't a big deal) but more convenience, the furntiture in the room was worn, there was an outlet cover missing and wires were exposed, the bathroom was old/dated and there was something on the bathroom ceiling, not sure if it was mold or what. I didn't have an issues with noise or smells. My suggestions: there should be a complementary light breakfast (that's pretty much standard with hotels now), they should have laundry detergent (or sell it) for the washer and dryer and upgrade the rooms. Bottom line, the price to value is average. It's nothing fancy but it's a convenient and affordable place to stay in a nice area.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor facing the main road. A little traffic noise but nothing major. I didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I checked in early and was surprised that they had a room available. I was kind of impressed by the lobby area and the restaurant connected to it.
The front desk clerks looked kind of sketchy but were nice. The blonde man wearing the over sized blazer looked like an extra from Miami Vice did a line, and seemed to over talk the guy in the hotel uniform but they were both nice all the same. I went up to my room which was at the end of the hall and to my surprise, house keeping wasn't done cleaning it.
They were almost done so I waited and they left.

The hotel seems like it is in the middle of nowhere if you arent familiar with the area and there isnt much around to begin with except office buildings housing and Margarita's.
It was very quiet but the room was something else. It was clean but the chair in the corner had dark spots covering it, it looked like mold (i was scared to sit in it), the ceiling over the shower was also trifling with the ceiling stained a different color and the tub was a bit discolored. The curtains over the window were also disheveled as though someone pulled parts of it down.
The next day I discovered at 11:30 that check out was 11 when I requested a late check out, which is something the receptionist failed to tell me at check in. What kind of place has check out at 11am? There was no one really there also, so they gave me until 1230, so I had to rush to get my bags together, book another hotel, and get out.

Its an okay place if youre just laying your head down but dont overstay.
The fact that it is rated a 3 star has me confused because the Sheraton, Hilton and Hyatt are considered 3 star, this was 2 star at the MOST. Someone fix this please, because a restaurant does not automatically give you an extra star rating.
Spare me Ramada.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlienNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertGrowth, Management Company at Hartford Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the Ramada in East Hartford. I apologize for some of the issues you experienced at the hotel. This hotel is currently wrapping up an extensive renovation of the rooms and public areas. We are proud of our renovations but even more so proud of our staff. They have won several accolades for their roles as ambassadors to our hotel.

We work hard to foster an environment where we care about our staff and in return they care for our guests. It appears that this customer associate provided you with a high level of service and again, I am sorry you didn't approve of the way they looked. The hotel is a work in progress and in the next month the renovation will be 100% complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Hartford hotels

Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A sign posted in the bathroom "how" the sink works . . . Unless you have that style lavatory who would know to press the center.
Barely warm water for showers @ approx 8a.m.
Advertised there was a microwave in the room which there was not . . . not a big deal!
Front desk staff was very friendly on arrival.
Coffee pot in 412 and alarm clock in 411 not working . . . plug in was changed for the coffee pot and alarm clock - then was ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertGrowth, Management Company at Hartford Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the Ramada in East Hartford. The hotel recently went through an extensive renovation, and we continue to make improvements.

I will make sure that I share your comments with the property and truly appreciate your business. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel was under construction - lots of noise, including an odd "ticking" noise in both my room and in my colleague's room; we kept smelling pot smoke (in the elevator, on the floor hallway); the hotel was sparsely furnished, and did not appear "clean"; the lobby bathroom smelled of sewarge; the bed was HORRIBLE! Hard as a rock (and lumpy!) the sheets were so thin you could see through them, like sheers; we stayed for 5 days but newspapers were only available on 2 of the weekdays; the room was gloomy, the curtains were falling off the rod, the a/c vents were all broken; there was no business office (though one desk cleark did print off materials for me); the shuttle only went to the airport and back, and when we scheduled it, we were told it wasn't available (though it was during the "availabel" hours); The only saving grace for this place was the resturant on the first floor - excellent food - and Margarita's Resturant acrross the street. Other than that, no where to walk to, (no sidewalks!) no where to go, not near anything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
1 Thank Mg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertGrowth, Management Company at Hartford Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am very sorry to hear of your experience at the Ramada in East Hartford. This is certainly not normal and the issues you have brought up have been reviewed at the property level.

The hotel has just completed a major renovation and the items you describe are certainly shocking as the entire hotel was updated, including furniture and bedding.

I certainly hope that you will give us another chance to prove our commitment to guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Hartford
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
1.4 mi away
Econo Lodge - East Hartford
Econo Lodge - East Hartford
#4 of 5 in East Hartford
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
3.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.8 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Hartford Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 363 Roberts Street, East Hartford, CT 06108-3603 (Formerly Ramada East Hartford)
Region: United States > Connecticut > East Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in East Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartford Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the HHCC in East Hartford, CT located just minutes from downtown Hartford & 16 miles from Bradley International Airport. Travelers appreciate the convenient location & free parking. Easily located off of I-84, this East Hartford hotel is near Rentschler Field, home of UCONN Huskies Football, Cabela's, & minutes from the Connecticut Convention Center, Hartford Civic Center, Dodge Music Center, Connecticut Expo Center & Bushnell Theatre. Attractions near hotel include the Mark Twain House, Harriet Beecher Stowe Center, Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, Children's Museum, & the New England Air Museum. Other attractions include Mystic, CT, Mohegan Sun Casino, & Foxwood's Resort Casino. The Holiday Inn East Hartford is also near several colleges & universities such as the University of Connecticut, University of Hartford, Trinity College, St. Joseph College, Rensselaer at Hartford, Goodwin College, & Manchester Community College. Guests visiting local companies, Pratt & Whitney, Cellu Tissue, Coca Cola, Freightliner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hartford Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada East Hartford Hotel East Hartford
Holiday Inn East Hartford
East Hartford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing