We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rig friendly park”
Review of Aces High RV Park

Aces High RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Lyme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aces High RV Park
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Big rig friendly park”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This big rig friendly park has hard gravel roads leading to level gravel/grass sites. There are no sharp turns or low branches in this park, making it easy to get to any campsite. The trees do cast some shade but none should affect your satellite reception. Most pull-thru sites are very long and wide, we had plenty of room setting up our 40ft class A with 4 slides and awning in a 50amp full hookup spot. There was also lots of room left for parking our toad as well. Our sprint 3G phone and hotspot worked well. Bathrooms, showers (coin operated) and laundry were clean as well as the pool and pond swimming area. Long term residents’ sites were also kept tidy. This is a very quiet park with no road noise. There is a prox card security gate at the entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    11
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stopped at this campgound for a few day. During the time we were there it was very empty. It seems that this campground is where local people leave there campers there during the week and return on the weekend. The pool was very nice and clean. The bathrooms were nice but not many people use them. They are on the warm side and not much of a breeze cooling it off. Showers cost 25 cents for a few minutes. The trees are smaller so there not alot of shaded spots. The beach area is not in the greatest shape as weeds were growing on the sand and the water look dirty. The playground equipment is older. The sites were very spacious.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSwiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton NH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We went here for my son's wedding. Instead of a hotel room, we chose to camp!
This campground is more out in the open than others. Not a whole lot of trees. We camped on the lake and it was great sitting out there early morning with a cup of coffee and at dusk. Store was on the small side. We were welcomed warmly. They have a nice pool which we enjoyed. Very quiet and clean. Camp sites were alittle on the small side. (we have a 25' travel trailer). The next guys campfire was almost right behind our trailer and they were up late and made a lot of noise talking (we had to get up early for the wedding). They kept walking their dog behind our site. On the other side, our picnic table was right next to the other guys sewer receptacle.(We moved it a bit)
We would go back if ever in the area again.
To note, we had family and friends that wanted to come back to our camp. Anyone staying more than 30 min at your site has to pay $10./day. I thought that was a bit much. Also, our daughter came with us so there were 3 of us in our trailer and we had to pay extra for her.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PW1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We just got back from Aces High RV Park in East Lyme, Ct. after a one week stay. We opted to upgrade to a lakeside or waterfront site. The sites are well spaced and had the most updated power pedestal and water/sewer connections that I have ever seen.

But those are about the only nice things that I can say about this place.

First - when they say that they have WiFi, don't believe it. We were parked next to a repeater and I sat about 10 feet from it in my chair and it was useless. The signal strength was good, but the service would come and go all day long. When it did work it was miserably slow. So bad that we needed to switch back to using data from our provider (Verizon LTE) which was a great relief.

Next - there are many signs and rules posted everywhere. Yes, RV parks need to maintain order by establishing rules. But there are signs all over the park that state: "don't do this" or "you must do that". I especially love the sign by the pond with the nice sandy beach (which you are encouraged to swim in) that states "All bathers must wear life jackets." I haven't wore a life jacket in a pond since I was nine years old.

My favorite sign of all was the sign over the double entry doors to the office/store. This sign is at least seven feet wide and at least sixteen inches high that states: "If you don't like all the rules, then you can buy this park and make it your own."

Obviously, with this large sign posted in such a prominent and visible location, they have gotten many complaints about all the many rules. But, instead of re-examining their style of management, they just defy you to buy the place. I think they have a bit of an attitude problem.

Let's just say the owners and operators of this park have made their little kingdom. And the rules are basically "Put up, shut up, or get out." And that is not the kind of welcome or thanks that I would expect to hear after spending $400 for the week.

We would never go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed here for a weekend with my wife, 7 year old son and his friend. This place is definitely more of grown-ups, we we still had a great time. Plenty of room to ride bikes, pool was clean, staff was friendly. Full hook-ups, pull-thru sites.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson,nh
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We were scheduled to arrive at Aces High on Monday Sept 3 for a 5 night stay. Unfortunately for us our tow vehicle broke down on the way. They were very understanding and just asked us to follow up with them the following day. After a day in the shop our vehicle was ready and we arrived the following night. The office was closed but we had called ahead as asked to make arrangements .All the information we needed to check in was left for us outside the office. The sites are pull thru so set up was easy After setting up we check out the facilities they had to offer. The pool, laundry, game room, playground and bathrooms were found to be clean and easily accessible. The following morning we did the official check in and were greeted with warm and friendly staff. They checked our reservations and asked if we would like to stay thru the weekend and there was no question about additional charges. They simply moved our reservations. At other campgrounds in the area this would be unheard of . We were very appreciative. We found it an easy commute to many destinations including the casinos and local beaches. During the week we stopped by the office to ask for dinner suggestions and they did not disappoint, They made sure they gave us suggestions for local establishments as well as a few out of the way places. One of the staff even hand wrote out directions for us to a few of their favorites. We would highly recommend staying at Aces High and will be returning.











.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hogiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny D, Manager at Aces High RV Park, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Thank you for your " 5" review, we understand the hardships RV'ers go through when their vehicle breaks down on a journey so we try to extend their lost night if at all possible. Happy you enjoyed the park and the local restaurants....look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Fla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We are a retired couple and spent 17 days at the campground. The service from the staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was kept clean, there was oversight and the setting was beautiful. Our grandchildren came to visit, enjoyed the pool and fishing. It's close to the beaches, casinos and just about everything. We got to meet other retired couples and had a wonderful time. We are definitely planning on returning next August. Rated a 4 due to the fact I would like to see a better rate for extended days and monthly stays. It met all of our needs. RB & PB

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny D, Manager at Aces High RV Park, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review, our new management and staff will continue to work hard to make your future stay here enjoyable and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Lyme
4.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Waterford
Rodeway Inn Waterford
#2 of 5 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
11.3 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oakdell Motel
Oakdell Motel
#3 of 5 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
5.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Mystic Waterford
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Niantic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aces High RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aces High RV Park

Property: Aces High RV Park
Address: 301 Chesterfield Rd, East Lyme, CT 06333-1003
Region: United States > Connecticut > East Lyme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in East Lyme
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing