We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Donuts in New England”

Flanders Donut & Bake Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in East Lyme
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Phone number is 860-739-6320
Restaurant details
Description: Phone number is 860-739-6320
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Donuts in New England”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a small family owned and operated donut shop, in its 40th year of business. Three generations are in the shop at any one time. Everything is outstanding. Whether you like strudel, meltaways, cinnamon rolls, raised donuts or cake donuts...everything is awesome.

I measure all donut shops by their ability to make a good cake donut, either glazed or sugared. Flanders' "honeywheat" is the finest example of a glazed cake donut I have ever tasted. It is the quintessential donut. I regularly drive 25 miles to get a honeywheat.

I have sampled donuts all over New England, Allie's in Rhode Island and Donut Dip in Massachusetts are very good, but Flanders is better. The only negative, from an eater's point of view, is that they are closed on Sundays

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJ06412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the best around”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I live in the neighberhood and they got the best donuts and bagels in the area. Much better than Dunken donuts. Everything is very fresh. All the locals love it and some people that moved away many years ago still talking about Flander's donuts. I am surprised there aren't more reviews because there is a line everytime I go there. The service is fast, so you don't wait in line long. They are closed on Sundays though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zahanoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If you like Donuts, this is the place!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My Dad brought me to this place because he loves the donuts! He drives down from Groton every chance he gets, and I can't blame him. The donuts are really good! I had an Apple Turnover which was great! Everything is fresh and the service was outstanding. The coffee was pretty good too! It doesn't look like much from the outside, but trust the locals and my Dad, it's what the inside holds that counts!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m4pEverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Wish they were open more”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I've stopped here several times over the last few years. It seems I only catch them open once in a while. Really hard to find real donuts anymore but this place does it well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakdale29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Classic!”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is the place to go for fresh bakery locally. Try the Butter cups - cinnamon rolls only available on Fri and Sat AM. Go early because they run out.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TeamSmallState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flanders Donut & Bake Shop also viewed

 
Niantic, Mystic Country
Niantic, Mystic Country
 

Been to Flanders Donut & Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing