We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ADA Accessible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My daughter (a paraplegic) and I stayed here for 3 nights in a wheelchair accessible room with roll in shower. Bathroom very big and room very easy to maneuver. Appreiciated having the fridge in the room since she needs to keep some medication cold. Had a microwave as well, but did not use it. I did find it odd and not very ideal (or sanitary) to have the coffee maker with its coffee & condiments on one side of the bathroom vanity sink and the ice bucket with cups on the other side. This left little to no room for what you really needed on the vanity. Perhaps putting these on the large desk area in the room makes much more sense, to me at least. Maybe this setup is just in this type or room...not sure.

The handheld shower handle was good placement to the side close to the pull down shower bench, but the faucet cannot be reached from the bench by someone who can't get up to reach it on the opposite end.

The breakfast is always a welcomed perk, but I didn't find the perfectly shaped (frozen?) egg omelets good at all. Everything else was great.

As far as the price of the stay, I thought it was high even for AARP. Why so much higher on a Monday night? Stayed 3 nights and each night was a different rate. Nearly $500 for 3 nights (Aug 2, 3 & 4). We stayed here because of the accessiblilty of the room and only 1 other lower class hotel choice in this same Enfield area that we wanted to be; and because of being familar with Hampton Inns decided on this one. It's a very nice place. Did not use any of the facilities other than the business area for boarding passes.
For a wheelchair accessible room, the door to the room is extremely heavy...almost impossible for that solo person in a wheelchair to enter without help.

Overall, everything was really quite nice, but my suggestion to hotels building new accessible rooms is to think of the people who are wheelchair bound and can't walk at all versus those who are somewhat mobile. Those wheelchair bound may not be the majority but they are the ones in most need of having the most/best room accessibility.

Also, one glitch was with the side entrance...key card would not work..desk clerk said it sometimes has to do with the cooler weather. Really??

Room Tip: If you are a paraplegic and want a wheelchair accessible room with roll in shower, this is a great r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Valerie W.,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Your information is very helpful as we provide service to our ADA guests. I will review every detail with the management team to see if there is anything we can do differently to improve based on your comments. If you have the opportunity, it would be very helpful if you could contact me directly at raustermann@buffalolodging.com or at 860-741-3111 x805. It would be good to know the actual room you were in so I can investigate the items you were speaking about.

Thank you for the positive comments and excellent scores as well. We appreciate that you selected the Hampton Inn-Enfield, CT for you and your daughter to stay.

Richard Austermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Hampton Inn Springfield is my favorite place to stay while in the Enfield area. The accessibility to the interstate, restaurants and shopping are all within 1 mile of the hotel. The beds are so soft and the abundance of pillows make the end of the day that much more enjoyable. And when you wake up you are greeted by friendly wait staff for a large continental breakfast featuring handmade waffles.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Todd G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Todd G M.,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us on TripAdvisor. It is nice to extend your compliments to the team. This will certainly contribute to their motivation and I have gladly passed your comments on. The time taken along with the effort made to share your observations with us is most appreciated.

Safe travels-

Richard Austermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent overall from check in to checkout. Few exceptions - pull out couch and roll away were not the very comfortable even for the kids. Fitted sheets on queen were not staying on mattress. Internet access was a bit difficult to use.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Leanne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Leanne I.,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at the Hampton Inn-Enfield, CT. We appreciate the observations and nice scores you gave us. Thank you for sharing this important feedback with us so that we can continue to improve.

Safe travels-

Richard Austermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent hotel that is within short distance to Six Flags. Indoor pool/hot tub very clean, great complimentary breakfast. Many restaurants to choose from close to hotel. Only negative, there is no mini fridge in room. Staff very helpful!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank LSF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Your comments on TripAdvisor are very much appreciated. We share them with the staff and use them to improve our guest satisfaction. We are a perfect property to stay at when visiting Six Flags New England. We have discount tickets for the park that are available for our guests for $36. Even if you are here for another reason going to the park is a great option since we are the closest hotel to Six Flags. Thank you for staying, we hope you can return before the summer is over.

Richard Austermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very clean. Friendly front desk,allowed us to check in early. Easy check in, check out. Breakfast was decent enough to start your day without having to go elsewhere. Pool and spa were clean, open till 10pm. Good location, near shopping and restaurants. Safe. Don't hesitate to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank raymondg946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Raymondg946,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay at the Hampton Inn-Enfield, CT. I am glad you had a great stay when traveling with your family. We are in a great location with easy access to shops, restaurants and attractions. Hopefully you can come back and spend more time with us!

Safe travels-

Richard Austermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel was wonderful. We stayed as a family to visit Six Flags New England. This hotel is 5 minutes away, heading OUT of traffic and hustle and bustle. The staff was wonderful. Felt like royalty. Rooms were immaculate.. Pool was perfect .. gym was perfect.. Free breakfast was delicious. Far more variety than any other free breakfast option. Hot food, cool food, waffle makers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for posting your positive comments on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the property and were able to visit Six Flags New England. We are the closest hotel to Six Flags and even have Six Flags New England packages available. It is great to hear you enjoyed the property. Our staff does a great job caring for our guests. With over 60 items on our breakfast buffet it is hard to walk away hungry.

I appreciate the time spent writing your review, I will be sure to pass along the comments to the staff.

Thank you!

Richard Austermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Overall a good experience and an excellent value. Good restaurants nearby-we recommend the 99 Restaurant down the street but avoid the Red Robin. Helpful staff and a good place to rest after flying/driving in from California via Boston-Logan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Maek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Maek T.,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us on TripAdvisor. I am glad you ended up here when traveling between California and Boston. The time taken along with the effort made to share your observations with us is most appreciated. Safe travels-

Richard Austermann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Enfield-Springfield
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#3 of 5 in Enfield
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
7.8 mi away
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
8.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield

Address: 20 Phoenix Ave, Enfield, CT 06082-4406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Enfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range: £102 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Springfield South/Enfield, CT hotel is located within easy access off Interstate 91, eight miles from downtown Springfield, Massachusetts - home of the Basketball Hall of Fame and the MassMutual Center. We are in within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We are the closest hotel to Six Flags New England, just five miles away. Our hotel in Enfield is located twenty minutes from Connecticut's capital city of Harford. Take in a musical at the Bushnell, Connecticut's premier performing arts center, visit the Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, the nation's oldest public art museum or pack up the kids for a fun-filled day at the Connecticut Science Center. Close by in West Springfield, MA, enjoy an event at the Eastern States Exposition which features The Big E in September. College-bound students and parents will enjoy a relaxing stay at our hotel within a short distance to area colleges and universities including Bay Path University, Springfield College, American International College, Westfield State University and Western New England University. A little further is the University of Massachusetts, Smith College, Amherst College and the University of Hartford. If you need to visit the area for business we are close to Lego, Brooks Brothers, Mass Mutual, Eppendorf, Farm Credit and many others. Visit the Hampton Inn Enfield, CT to find your picture-perfect retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield Hotel Enfield
Hampton Inn Enfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing