We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to be cleaned better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Roof Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Enfield
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs to be cleaned better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed with my husband and and two children at the Red Roof Enfield in May 2013. The room we had was sufficient in size and amenities were ok. Several things that I didn't like about the stay. The first thing that I didn't like was the man in the reception area when we arrived. I went in alone to check in while my husband and children stayed in the car. I'm not sure who the man was (he was wearing dirty jeans, tshirt and cap, didn't look like an employee of motel). He was relaxing at the end of the counter on the same side as the receptionist and when I came in he didn't stop staring at me. He came from around the counter, sat in one of the chairs in the reception area and stared directly at me, looking me up and down the entire time I was waiting and then checking in. I was very uneasy about this and told my husband as soon as I left that this man was making me uncomfortable. We went to our room and then noticed within the first few minutes that the alarm clock didn't work. It had several wires sticking out the back. we didn't need to use it so we just unplugged it so our children wouldn't get hurt etc. I went into the bathroom and immediately saw several long black hairs around the shower and on the floor. I found an empty fiji water bottle, pennies and a pen top just under the edge of one of the beds. Really wasn't impressed with the cleaning job at all. I liked the location and it was a quiet place to stay, that was what made it work for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatUK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirav p, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Guest,
We have no employee working with the description you give us. I even pulled all the records for the whole month of May and do not see this. I am really sorry you felt uncomfortable but none of this was also brought to our attention at check out.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    73
    31
    17
    16
See reviews for
61
51
36
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

My wife and I went to Springfield, Ma to see our grand-daughter perform in a cheer contest at the Mass Center, great time great Inn, stayed two nights, never heard a dog bark, the Inn was full with my favorite canine, very well behaved.
Stayed in a room upstairs, clean and neat, as one would expect from Red Roof Inn, many thanks to Peter G, again, Red Roof Inn's should be very proud of caring and concern you have for your guests, we do

Bob and Janet Molter
Holbrook, NY

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLFER117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager10105, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review which I will be sharing with my staff. Peter is no longer with us but we do have an amazing front desk staff as well as housekeeping. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Only available place after discovering other area hotels full (Hampton Inn). Quick overnight stay after a long day. Kind, front desk greeting, was offered king 2nd floor non smoking room. Room was clean, fairly new with no complaints but don't plan on it being peaceful or quiet unless your deaf, sleep like a rock or with your earbuds. You hear EVERYTHING in this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager10105, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you heard your neighbors during your stay with us, but i am glad to hear that we were able to give you a room for the night that worked out for you other than the noise issue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
144 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed here 1 night (April 11). Slow check-in . . . I rang the bell on the counter and called out hello several times and there was total silence for close to 5 minutes before the clerk finally made an appearance. I had reserved a non-smoking room but she gave me a room that absolutely stunk of stale cigarette smoke and I had to return to the office to get a different one. The bathroom exhaust fan sounded as loud as a plane engine and there were ants crawling around on the floor. The top bedspread had a 2" dia stain on it and one of the two washcloths was so dingy, it was dark gray instead of white. Despite the economy coming back now, there weren't very many cars parked over night in the lot. Maybe the news had spread. The General Manager, Nirav Patel, needs to smarten his people up. I routinely stay in Red Roof Inns and this one rates very low in comparison.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager10105, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
I am very sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced during your stay with us. We have changed many of the staff since your last stay. We have also updated the rooms as well as our system to keeping up on making sure the rooms are guest ready and we are on top of any issues. I do hope that you decided to give us another chance when you are in the area. We would like to give you a pleasant experience during you stay with us, which hopefully will void out your last one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed here to visit Six Flags New England. I must say having never stayed at a Red Roof Inn, I was pleasantly surprised. Nice clean and affordable.The only downsides where the old-school tv and the bed was too soft for what I usually prefer. Will definitely stay again the next time I visit Six Flags New England.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager10105, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review which I will be sharing with my staff. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us specially your first time at any Red Roof. We have up grade alot of the TVs since everything was switched over with the cable company. We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I liked the hotel dont get me wrong but I had my son with me and hes a little night owl so he stays up late some nights. We got a noise complaint on the door but I didnt know what for so I tried to get little guy to be quiet, even though he wasnt making a lot of noise. Before any of this happend I was told I could re rent my room I tried to the next morning and the girl at the desk told me someone reserved my room? I didnt understand. I just recently tried to rent a room again and Sheryl told me I wasnt allowed to stay anymore because they got too many complaints all night which wasnt true at all. Im very frustrated and to be honest she was really rude and shouldnt be working there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paigecharleene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nirav p, Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Guest,
I understand you were annoyed, however at that time Sheryl handled the situation perfectly fine.The night before we had several complains about your baby and many people were in and out of your room all night long. Our night auditor give you several warnings about it to.

The following day we have to give 2 guest refunds because of the traffic coming in and out of your room and the baby crying. We didn't want a repeat of that so Sheryl told you there was no room's open to be nice.



Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

I stayed in one of the accessible rooms, and it had everything I needed. The bed was comfortable, so I had a great sleep each night. It is situated just off the I-91, so is handily placed to get to either Hartford or Springfield. There are many restaurants nearby, so I was never short of places to choose from. There was a bit of a sound bleed from the TV in the room above, but as long as they don't have it blaring all night, it would be ok.
Next time I am in the area, I will probably look at booking this place first.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handicappedtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager10105, Front Office Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review which I will be sharing with my staff. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were able to hear some of the TV from the room above you. We are looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Springfield South Enfield
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Enfield-Springfield
10.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
Red Roof PLUS+ West Springfield
#5 of 17 in West Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express - Springfield
8.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Property: Red Roof Inn
Address: 5 Hazard Ave., Enfield, CT 06082-3711
Region: United States > Connecticut > Enfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Enfield
Red Roof Inn Ct
Red Roof Inn Enfield
Enfield Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing