We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“come for the museum, stay for the Eagle cruise”

Connecticut River Museum
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum covers the maritime history of the Connecticut River Valley.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“come for the museum, stay for the Eagle cruise”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

historic building and museum with good history display of Essex, the whole river (410 miles from the Canadian border!) and CT. Well done for a private enterprise. Project Oceanology launches Bald Eagle cruises from here. $40 (incl. museum) gets you 90 minutes on the river in Feb and Mar - and you will see eagles, more than a dozen and other wildlife. Binoculars provided, expert guide on board.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HermanTheGerman-inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    49
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bald Eagles! Need I say more?”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a great way to spend the afternoon -
the staff was very professional and just full of great information, and the boat trip was better than expected - with tons of 'winter birds of prey' sightings and more -
the kids loved it (ages 8 & 9) and it was just the right length of time to keep everyone's interest

- we brought snacks,dressed in layers, and brought binoculars.

just be advised that parking seemed to be a bit tight - so leave some extra time if you have to park up the road a bit.
The gift shop was also unique - so plan on some extra time to shop.
we didn't have a chance to see the exhibits but plan to go back soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank worldsosweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lyme, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun short stop”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I visited here on a sunny cold day in January with my three year old son to see the toy train exhibit. I enjoyed the overall feeling of the museum building and setting. It's small and there was more that he couldn't touch than he could touch, so we didn't stay too long, but it was perfect for an hour or so out of the house, and I would definitely try again in a year or two. With a AAA discount the admission was $7 for me, and he was free being under 6 yrs old. I really appreciate a museum that doesn't charge for the wee ones. There is a parking lot, coat room, cute gift shop, and bathrooms inside.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank E091909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wooden submarine - I learned something new today!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The rich history of the Connecticut river valley is on display in all its full glory. I never knew the story of the wooden sub and enjoyed sitting in this unique piece of American history. The hands on display is very well done. The upper levels of the museum were interesting and well thought out in its presentation. The stairwell has a artist rendering of the Connecticut river that is cleaver and informative. The breathtaking views of the river and dock are the perfect backdrop.

Helpful?
Thank Masch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ahoy & All Aboard!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I've lived in Connecticut all my life and finally had the opportunity to visit the Connecticut River Museum. I was drawn in by the toy train exhibit and was pleasently surprised at how nice the facility was. On the 3rd floor, Steve Cryan set up two working toy train displays, one large layout in HO and a smaller one in S Gauge. The S gauge was an automatic operations, great for kids(and kids at heart). The larger, HO display was wonderful with several trains operating automatically with incredible details. Steve is a local artist and has on display and for sale, limited edition prints and original pieces that are for sale. After, I wandered the other exhibits and found them informative and professionally displayed. they're 3 floors and great views and grounds to spend time in. Essex is a great little town with fun restaurants and shops. Overall a very nice day and recommended for a family or just a curious nutmegger.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Connecticut River Museum also viewed

 

Been to Connecticut River Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing