We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay here 4 - 5 times a year”
Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Griswold Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

and each time we check in we're asked if this is our first time. Odd, in the digital age. The Inn is lovely, but they do seem to have lightbulb problems (ours was out in the shower) as others have mentioned - disconnect between housekeeping and management, I guess The bar is lively on a Friday night with a great band, not so much on Saturday nights (if you'd like to sing along to "home, home on the range" this is your night). The town is delightful, the staff hospitable, the bed comfortable, the breakfast good, they allow a one night's stay. The Inn is just over an hour from the airport in Providence, and makes a great halfway stop on our trips to Nantucket via Cape Air. We'll be back in September and October, and yes we've been here before.

Room Tip: They have rooms in a variety of the historic buildings in town. Sometimes the rooms in the main inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningTraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Everytime we come to this beautiful part of America we visit this place, the food is ok, the drinks great but the ambiance is magic! The village of Essex is worth the visit alone but this pub just makes

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank andrewtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

a lovely place to stay, we only stayed one night en route to NH. The room was lovely and included a sitting room, we stayed in the annex next door which was very quite, not sure if the band could be heard in the main hotel but definitely not in the annex. The people were so friendly and the food was excellent, would have liked to stay longer :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you are looking for a modern hotel with flat screen TVs, elevators and every room exactly the same, this is not your ideal hotel. If you are looking for super friendly staff, old world charm, authentic furnishings and a beautiful inn experience in a historic New England Town, then this is definitely your hotel.

Room Tip: One note of warning: the bar can get loud some nights so if you go to bed early request a room in on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Citymominwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I agree with the last reviewer that although the "Gris" has its faults, it offers so much by way of character and authenticity that all imperfections are forgotten. My husband and I have returned again and again for over thirty years and love that almost everything has remained the same: a few updates, yes, but definitely not drastic modernizations. Staying in Essex and at the hotel is relaxing and great fun - from wandering about the town or the waterfront, visiting the Conn River Museum (top-notch!), sitting around the pub, stale popcorn in hand, listening to live music to enjoying the extensive collection of maritime pictures which crowd the walls. The staff has always been accomodating (although the reviewer who found the upstairs rooms next to the action noisy has a point). In short, there are few places left which still offer an old time, simple Yankee hospitality with a touch of old Connecticut River valley life. Plus the fact (not unimportant) in the late spring, shad and shad roe are often on the menu - if not, they can be ordered in advance. I'll take a star away for the "nuts and bolts" problems, but the Griswold Inn gets full points for making "the world go away".

Room Tip: If you have special concerns, be sure to make arrangements in advance. There are nice rooms across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cap25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It's interesting reading the other reviews of The Griswold Inn as I find myself agreeing with both the negative and positive comments expressed. And it is this very dichotomy of expectation that is both the charm and the problem with the Inn.

On the one hand, its rusticity is what makes it unique and appealing. Viewed from a different perspective, you would be justified in criticising this as a shortfall - which is why it is so important to 'get' what the Gris is all about before you book a room.

Being from the UK, we're surrounded by history and my home town of York is perhaps one of the country's most historic cities so we're well used to staying places with 'historic' charm. If your idea of the perfect stay is bland efficiency of a Hilton or a Holiday Inn, then The Griswold is definitely not for you.

The reason I like the Gris is for exactly the reasons a lot of reviewers dislike it. The quirky plumbing, creaking floorboards, noisy bar, simple food...and its (and the surrounding area's) history which, by American standards is positively ancient.

The town of Essex does not have a lot for the tourist so don't expect theme parks or tacky tour buses. Instead, take a leisurely stroll down to the jetty and sit by the Connecticut river. Watch the locals fishing for crab and take in the quiet peace of the place. Take walk around the marina area and admire the boats. These are simple pleasures and are a million miles from the daily grind you've left behind.

The Griswold is not without its faults. For example, the breakfast is very disappointing and there have been times when I have had to ask the staff to come and remove the spider webs (and on occasions, spiders) from the room. But this is an Inn with masses of character and originality and the experience is well worth the trip.

On balance, providing you know what to expect in advance, you will not be disappointed with The Griswold Inn.

Room Tip: The annex rooms across the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

After having difficulties with the manager, I feel we were put in the worst room at the inn. Never accept Room number two especially on a Saturday night when they have the sing along in the bar,unless you don't want to get to sleep until after 1 a.m. Extremely loud rude people with no respect for the paying over night guests. Between the two couples that stayed at the inn over night and the two meals at the inn approximately $800.00 was spent on a sleepless night.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the main inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.1 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
768 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
2.4 mi away
The Copper Beech Inn
The Copper Beech Inn
#1 of 2 in Ivoryton
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
719 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge
5.9 mi away
Westbrook Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Address: 36 Main St, Essex, CT 06426-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range: £131 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing