We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ferry ride away!”
Review of Marley's Cafe

Marley's Cafe
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“ferry ride away!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

loved the 30 sec required ferry ride to get to this restaurant! although we had to wait for some time, it was worth it. the place was packed! i loved the eggs benedict and when i come back will order it again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stumbled upon this little restaurant in Essex, CT. All the food is home-made, BYOB. The meal my husband I had was simple but delicious. Their home-made potato salad is awesome. Prices are reasonable. Loved the "Caribbean" feel it had. Will definitely go again with our friends!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bobfab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, CT
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Loved the short ferry ride over to Marley's. We sat outside in the shade and drink wine that we brought as we waited for our meal. Get there early as there was a line when we left. Enjoyed the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgirl315_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good chowder”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have been visiting restaurants in the area in search of the best chowder. In this part of the world, there is only one Clam. Marleys does it very well. Lots of clams. Made on premise. Potatoes cooked just well,enough. Somewhat peppery, but hey, the place is called Marleys isn't it? Setting is a big plus. On an island. Tables under shade trees. Lots of boats to look at .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HPBsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Views and Yummy Breakfast”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

You can get there by the people-only ferry boat at no cost. This place is not to be missed; get there early; especially on weekends. They open at 7:30am.

I have only been there for Breakfast, but I think they serve lunch too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marley's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Marley's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing