We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falls Village Fabulous !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Falls Village Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falls Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Falls Village Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Falls Village Fabulous !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

The recent restorations have brought this old inn from ruin to remarkable. On a recent visit to FV I had the opportunity to stay here and had a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. I was welcomed warmly and ushered into an inviting dining room where the sounds of relaxed conversation and laughter puncuated the clatter of cutlery to plate. The offering were in keeping with the season, simple but creative in delivery. I brought dessert up to my lovely room.The decor is professionally done and it shows in the balance of colors, textures and furnishings. The bed was clothed in fabulously silky sheets and piles of pillows. The ensuite bath was an inspired balance of aged charm and modern convenience with a dash of luxury. Soft plush towels and a roomy tiled shower....ahhh.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicki2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel is truly a grm, the rooms are great the relaxation is there and the owner Colin is a true gentleman. My experience was great until the night time, when my friends and I were ar the bar. The place was busy with patrons at 9:30 with drinkers and we ended up getting shshshed by the bartender. Apparently its a bar w people but it has to be quiet. The owner or lair (not Colin) a woman who was rude, distrespectful, and does not handle situations well. This is a beautiful place but make it a short visit, and dont go there looking for more then a quiet bar. I give it a solid but woman like that can hurt your business.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler860_203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duaneromanell
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

The wife and I spend a good bit of vacation time up in this corner of CT. We love the relaxed atmosphere and lush farmland, which is a contrast to our normal routine and scenery in NJ and NYC.

One of the spots we come back to most often is the Falls Village Inn. We were there at the time of its restoration, and seeing it brought back to its former glory now is a pleasure to behold. The rooms are finely appointed, thanks to the talent of Bunny Williams and the vision of the Innkeepers, and the kitchen and tap room are kept humming along by Chef Jose and bartender Chris (who makes the perfect Greyhound).

Some of our favorite dishes include: Chicken wings, linguine with white clam sauce, seafood cocktail (ceviche), Maine lobster roll, chicken pot pie, mac & cheese, fish tacos, and the Inn burger. We've also enjoyed their Sunday brunch where the Eggs Benedict, blueberry pancakes, and homemade corned beef hash are stand-outs.

The food and desserts are sourced from the surrounding area, so you know the ingredients are as fresh as can be. That sort of attention to detail and respect for local farmers and artisans is very important in an age of packaged this and processed that.

We will continue to return as long as the Inn is standing, and hope the friendships we've made there will be ones that continue. Stay for the weekend, enjoy the comfy rooms and yummy dinners, and take the time to explore the countryside.

5 stars.

Room Tip: When staying with kids, pick the Blue Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duaneromanell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had dinner there before going to a concert at Music Mountain. The dinning room is not fancy, but it is clean and bright. The same could be said about the food. The meals were not incredibly complicated, but the portions were large and the taste was very good. I thought that the prices were just a little high, but then considering that this is one of the most expensive regions to live in Connecticut (if not the whole East Coast), they were not really bad. Over all it was a good meal in nice surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn for a two night getaway. The owner Sue, was extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in the blue room which had delightfully soft sheets and a tasteful decor. I loved all the historic details that were respected during the recent renovation. In the morning there was a continental breakfast waiting for us downstairs. We had dinner there two nights in a row it was so good! We had a variety of items on the menu and specials, such as the NY strip steak, the salmon, the marinated lamb special and the swordfish special. everything was extremely fresh and expertly prepared. The wait staff was very pleasant and attentive. I would make a point of going back for our next getaway!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abstract69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here after reading press on the hotel in the New York Times and Travel & Leisure. The house is pleasant enough with charming rooms that are a bit loud in the mornings and evenings (as an old house typically is - you can hear everything going on in the halls). The main complaint I had is that the hotel does not offer breakfast with the rooms which is a shame as the food here is nice and there is not even a tea/coffee maker in your room. I've never stayed in a small inn that doesn't offer this service. It would be a small improvement to put that in the room and have a continental service with muffins and OJ downstairs that would make a world of difference. We had lunch there and the burger was amazing. We also had dessert there a few nights but nothing to write home about. The lovely cakes from Sweet Williams are best served room temperature to avoid hard icing but they were served straight from the fridge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colebrook, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

If you like brown paper bag table coverings, this is the place for you. They serve overly spiced grocery store crackers/flatbread instead of a nice warm bread. This goes well with the brown paper bag table coverings. If you prefer a very plain dinning room with no atmosphere, you might like the Falls Village Inn Restaurant. I found the food and the service to be mediocre.
There are better places to dine.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falls Village
3.6 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
16.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
16.8 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
5.3 mi away
Locust Tree Bed and Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Inn at Iron Masters
Inn at Iron Masters
#3 of 4 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Village Inn

Property: The Falls Village Inn
Address: 33 Railroad St, Falls Village, CT 06031-1328
Region: United States > Connecticut > Falls Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Falls Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falls Village Inn is an historic inn located in Falls Village CT in Litchfield County. Accommodations designed by the famous Bunny Williams make it the perfect stay or getaway in CT. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing