We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Older Marriott - Tiny Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Farmington
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Typical Older Marriott - Tiny Rooms”
Reviewed 27 January 2007

I stayed in the Farmington area for a month on business. I selected the Marriott because that is where everyone stays. It is a typically furnished Marriott with all of the standard ameneties that you would expect. It is an older Marriott. You can tell by the older, small bathrooms.

I didn't stay after the first week, because I could not get past the 145$ a night that I was paying for staying in a hotel room the size of a broom closet. This had to be the smallest Marriott room that I have ever stayed in (and I travel alot!). If the rooms were larger, I would not have looked elsewhere. Probably OK for a night or two but when you are on the road all the time, you need more space.

  • Liked — Typical Marriott
  • Disliked — Broom Closet sized room
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JKTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    164
    91
    33
    23
See reviews for
143
52
16
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Va
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2006

Stayed for one night and was happy with the service and accomodations. My only complaint was the only mirror in the room was in the bathroom. I thought that was really odd given the reputation of the Marriott.

Breakfast was good and the staff was really friendly!

  • Liked — cleanliness, staff
  • Disliked — NO large irroe in the room!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank candylkemeHerndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
106 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2006

Having stayed in a few other Marriott properties in the Hartford area and not being impressed, I read the reviews on this site and thought I would give this property a try. Thank you reviewers for steering me in this right direction!

My room was very nice, the service was good, and everything appeared to be clean and in working order. A few small gripes - this property still charges for WiFi, and I think they are blocking cell phone access, because my Verizon Broadband, Cingular BlackBerry, and T-One Mobile phone all showed "no service." I've never had all three not work in the same hotel before. The Concierge breakfast did not have any eggs, but otherwise was pretty standard. The bathroom is also on the small side.

But compared to the other Marriotts in the area, this is the best.

  • Liked — There were no surprises. It was everything you expect from a Marriott.
  • Disliked — No cell phone access.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CJKatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2006

The Marriott in Farmington, CT has almost everything down pat from
service to amenities. Staff is very friendly (and well trained) and the
restaurant fare is decent. Two areas it needs work are the Gym and Tennis courts. The (new) gym is merely a new room with OLDequipment. The treadmills are at least 5 years old and offer little to no cushioning and the display is all but illegible. The tennis courts (clay) are unevenly surfaced with one of the two courts having clumps of grass. Other than that, a great hotel that is a very reasonably priced.

Helpful?
1 Thank Traveleasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2006

This hotel is exactly what you would expect from a Marriott meeting hotel, but it also makes a great family place, especially during the relatively quiet summer. The cafe is good though expensive, there is a Starbucks/Sushi bar in the lobby, the 2 pools are great, the exercise room is reasonable, there are laundry facilities, and the rooms are standard Marriott quality, most with large balconies. All of this is located in a tree-covered office park a half mile from the I-84 freeway, close to downtown Hartford, and over a hill from Farmington. Service is quick and efficient. There is plenty of free parking. My only complaint is the selection of beer in the bar: Budweiser products only!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank rbbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2006

Well, I too lived through the construction. As I was working in the area for 12 weeks I stayed at this hotel many, many nights between Thanksgiving 2005 and Feb 2006. Lest I say I stayed in each wing and did the treck to the conceirge lounge. I did get lost a couple of times (you would think I would have learned....)

The construction wasn't the most problematic item I have to report.

The worst of the worst was when in the newly remodled room in the concierge level I heard CLEARLY the TV in the room next door. Thinking I could get a good night sleep anyway, I turned off my lights and attempted to sleep. It was then that I noticed light coming into my room from the room next door. I kid you not. The ceiling was not firmly attached to the walls and every single solitary sound that was occurring in the room next door was immediately heard in my room.

There were others on my project who also complained about the sound. They even had to change rooms to get a good night sleep. This is not an isolated incident. The front desk clerk told me they were aware of the situation and had received many complaints on the same topic before... Hmmmm. Think they might look into fixing it?

When I called the front desk to ask them to call the room next door and ask that he/she turn down the TV, I heard the entire conversation on the phone. The rooms appear to be nicely refurbished, but do not --- at any point expect a good night sleep in the conceirge level / concierge wing. The construction of the rooms are intolerable.

As I stated, I did stay in each wing (or at least I think I did) and the other rooms -- are better insulated -- while less stylish -- but certainly more conducive to sleep -- which is the point of it all, isn't it?

The gym is a complete afterthought. It may as well be in a closet as to where it is. The towels are infrequently replaced, the water is empty or if the water isn't empty, there are no cups. The TV reception is also hampered by the fact that the gym is in the basement and the reception stinks.

The staff at the hotel also didn't know the marriott reward program very well. When I reserved a King non smoking and then received a double non smoking I requested my $100 prior to checking out. The front desk person told me he was sorry, but could he give me 1,000 points to satiate me? NO. I needed the cash as promised by the policy. When I told the front desk person to read the policy and then find me in the restaurant he did in fact bring me my $100. Cool. Not a bad deal.

Stay out of the concerge wing -- make the treck for the food from another wing.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gidget265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2006

I expected less of a hike to the concierge lounge , I couldn't believe I had to go down , around, and up to building E . This hotel is divided into building segments so if you are not staying in a building section that has the pool you have a long way to get there also. The layout of the hotel made it very inconvenient to get to my car when the hallways were blocked off for renovation.
The lobby bar was nice and the easy on easy off exit from Intersate 84 was a plus but the front desk staff was not overly helpful.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chambord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Farmington
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#4 of 7 in Farmington
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Farmington
7.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Farmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Farmington

Property: Hartford Marriott Farmington
Address: 15 Farm Springs Road, Farmington, CT 06032
Region: United States > Connecticut > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartford Marriott Farmington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a memorable experience at the award-winning Hartford Marriott Farmington. Our Farmington hotel's location in Connecticut is ideal - moments from West Hartford and top destinations like West Farms Mall, Wadsworth Atheneum and Mark Twain House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hartford Marriott Farmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hartford Farmington Hotel Farmington
Marriott Farmington
Farmington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing