We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff not FRIENDLY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Centennial Apartments
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
New York
1 review
“Staff not FRIENDLY!”
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We checked in and first off, the old woman behind the desk was not at all friendly. We should have known from all the reviews prior to this about her, that we read about. It was not quite a reception. Also, the website, room information included in the room and brochure should be update to exclude 'evening reception' and 'afternoon cookies after
3pm. ' One evening I went to ask for the cookies and the answer was "we just don't have any today." (So tough luck for us, the guests!)
On the positive side, the inn was close enough to Lake Compounce, the reason we were visiting. The pool and basketball court were nice. All in all I would not stay here in the future. I guess we got what we paid for!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
11
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We selected the Centinnial Inn as our base for exploring the Litchfield Hills area since accomodations the Litchfield area are rather limited. We were traveling with our 2 teenage daughters, so a suite with kitchen facilities was a plus very

Check in was okay. The woman who checked us in was not very friendly. We were assigned a room in the J building at the rear of the property. It had the aura of a crummy '70's apartment. The upstairs neighbor was very noisy and the folks in the apartment next door were cooking something with a disagreeable odor.

We returned to the front office to be greeted by a very nice young man who immediatley offered several other apartments. Chris, another employee, escorted us around the property and showed us two other apartments. We choose a recently renovated loft apartment. Chris and the young man at the front office were very nice and helpful.

The loft apartment was very quiet and cozy. The girls slept upstairs in twin beds. The a.m. breakfast was average. There are grocery stores and restaurants within a couple of miles.

I would definitely recommend the renovated apartments.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fundatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We always do our research when selecting accomodations and make out very well relying on previous guests. While some of the older reviews eluded to some of the issues we experienced we decided since the updated reviews were better, we would give it a shot. The "J" building where we stayed was damp, musty and old smelling - rooms very outdated, grill did not work; internet went down but we were told Thursday they were on their way to fix it - by Saturday still no internet, no apology, no sign posted to alert new arrival guests and a minimum of three different reasons (they tripped something up when they were there updated unrelated service; they needed to order a new part; and of course the favorite - I have no idea, I just see a note from management that it isn't working (hard to believe after three days it was "first he was hearing of it"). Didn't seem to care or acknowledge that some guests did need it for business/employment reasons). Another review commented on fact they advertise newspapers and management responded that they do not say they deliver to each room - good luck trying to find a copy of the local paper - they had USA but one of four days we were able to find the local paper in spite of asking; no towels for pool area on Saturday; limited kitchen items so if you plan on cooking for more than two people or need two pans - bring your own. If you need to use the sofa bed - make sure you ask before hand for pillows for that (option is take one from the king bed). On the plus side the breakfast is great and staff in the breakfast area was very friendly and helpful. Grounds are nice but just didn't feel the level of customer service we expected. Location to attractions we wanted to visit was great (better than our choice last year) but all in all did not feel it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynBMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial_Inn, Management at Centennial Apartments, responded to this review, 18 August 2009
Thank you for taking time from your busy day to write about your concerns during your stay at the Centennial Inn Suites. Information such as yours is both helpful and important to the constant improvement of our hotel and its services. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and we sincerely regret that we fell short of your expectations.

The internet was down from Thursday even to late Friday evening. Being a corporate hotel it was our priority to get the internet back up and running which is why we had Comcast here working around the clock. Unfortunately we are only able to pass on information as we receive it from the 3rd party, which at that time was very limited. We always try to give honest and accurate feedback to our guests; however, sometimes the accuracy gets compromised from the 3rd party. This situation could have absolutely been handled better and I offer our sincere apologies.

There is no reason for a guest to bring their own kitchen supplies. We have fully furnished eat-in kitchens and if any extra cooking utensils are needed the staff will be more than happy to have them brought to the room. A quick phone call to the front desk and we can take care of your needs. Extra pillows are conveniently stored in all closets in the room for the sofa bed, if any pillows are needed beyond the normal supply a call to the front desk and extra pillows will be at your door in the matter of minutes.

It is unfortunate that your experience at the Centennial Inn was not a positive one and hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced.

I appreciate your time and comments and hope you will give the management & staff the opportunity to earn your business and trust again in the future.

Best Regards,

Centennial Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Stayed here last year (July 2008) for one night when I took my son to Lake Compounce. The Loft was very spacious and appeared clean. It actually felt like our own little home. Some of the furniture and carpeting seemed a little out-dated but, all in all, not horrible. Also, a little on the expensive side, but then again, it's like a little studio condo with a loft, so you get more than a standard hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverLayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurel, md
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed one night on our way to Maine, and we very impressed with the room. We had a loft room and it was very nice and spacious. It had a nice size kitchen and a great walkout area. It has a nice fireplace, but too hot in July to use. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. I read another visitor say it was noisy but we never heard one sound. It was very comfortable and a good value. The sheets were a bit starchy but that bad. The room was very clean and spacious Check inn was abreeze but i was disappointed that the clerk did not give us any information about the breakfast. I had to read a small bit of info in the room. If i had not called & asked about times,etc i wld not have known. I do recommend that they extend the breakfast hours though for people that are traveling during the week. All in all it was a very nice place to stay and I def. wld stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorihope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We selected this hotel based on other reviews and the staff was very accommodating. We requested a ground level room in a non-smoking building (thank you to another reviewer for recommending this!) and the gentleman who took our reservations made sure he assigned our rooms right then so we could get that. We then had all of our family also move to this hotel and they put all of us on the same floor in the same building. Sean at the front desk responded to all of our requests right away and with a "no problem" attitude. At the last minute we requested 2 pack-in-plays for our kids and Chris brought them over within 10 minutes.

The added bonus was the Executive breakfast in the morning that was included in the price of the room. Holly who runs the breakfast was so friendly and quick to meet all of our needs - even making our waffles for us as we juggled our two kids. She remembered us each morning and was great. Breakfast was fully stocked even when we arrived after a girls soccer team had just eaten!

The only thing that could have made our stay better would be to have liquid dish detergent in the rooms. There's a kitchen - but no detergent to wash our kids bottles and sippy cups. We never had time to go buy any - and it was a waste of energy to run the dishwasher for only 6 items - but we had to. They didn't have any at the desk either. Seems like a small but very convenient item to have for your guests.

Great hotel - we will stay there again if we come back to visit our family out there.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMacSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial_Inn, Management at Centennial Apartments, responded to this review, 28 May 2009
It is so great to hear that you had such a good time staying with us here at the Centennial Inn Suites. It is our goal to meet all expectations of all our guests and we are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable. I will pass the kind words you have said about our staff members to the appropriate department head so that your praise does not go unheard. I apologize that we did not have any liquid dish detergent available for you during your stay. This is something we will definitely keep in mind as we review our guest amenities. I would like to thank you for staying with us here at the Centennial Inn Suites and hope we may have the pleasure of accommodating you again in the near future.


Thank You,

Centennial Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2009

The INN grounds are beautiful and the personel are very helpful and friendly.The quietness made a rough bussiness day very relaxing in the end.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccadmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial_Inn, Management Representive at Centennial Apartments, responded to this review, 17 April 2009
Thank you staying at the Centennial Inn Suites while traveling to the Farmington Valley area for your business trip. We take great pride in making every guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as they expect. We are glad we have hit your expectations and hope you will come visit us again soon.

Thank You,
Centennial Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farmington
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
3.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Farmington
2.9 mi away
Farmington Inn
Farmington Inn
#4 of 7 in Farmington
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
4.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Hartford Farmington
5.9 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Farmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Apartments

Property: Centennial Apartments
Address: 5 Spring Ln, Farmington, CT 06032 (Formerly Centennial Inn Hotel & Apartments)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Farmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Centennial Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Centennial Apartments of Farmington located on garden like grounds with a picturesque babbling brook that includes pool, basketball court and outdoor picnic areas with grill. NOW FEATURING: BRAND NEW 1 and 2 bedroom apartments located in a secure building and boasting granite counters, stainless steel appliances and spacious bathrooms! We also offer studio and loft style 1 bedroom apartments with private entrances and balconies. Our apartments feature a gas fireplace, central air, cathedral ceilings, ceiling fans and a dishwasher. Our state of the art laundry facility is secured and available 24/7 for access on tenants schedule. Pets are welcome! Furnished apartments are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centennial Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centennial Inn Hotel And Apartments
Centennial Hotel Farmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing