We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a stellar night” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Max Fish

Max Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
Max Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 90 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: When you're in the mood for good service and great seafood be sure to check out Max Fish, the newest of the Max Restaurant Groups fine dining establishments. True to the Max Restaurant Groups mission statement, this restaurant embodies an uncompromising commitment to quality service, style and superb cuisine that made the Max Group famous. The menu at Max Fish features a wide array of the finest seafood and raw bar items, made from only the freshest and highest quality ingredients, with something sure to please every member of your group. The Shark Bar at Max Fish also offers a lighter variety of seafood and Max classics in an exciting and up tempo environment. Max Fish is sure to offer you a pleasant and unique dining experience every time you visit. Please stop by soon to see our beautiful new restaurant!
western new england
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not a stellar night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I were to meet another couple at the restaurant. We arrived first and were seated. The general manager sent the other couple away when they arrived as he had already booked the table full on the computer. They later joined us. In retrospect, that was the least of our problems. My wife ordered the soft shell crab, which was a special that evening. It was tough, salty and over breaded. She couldn't eat half of it. I later told the same GM about her meal. He did not offer to take the meal off the bill. He should have. We are Max regulars and spend freely every time we dine there. I had my usual Dover sole and it was as awesome as it always is, but the experience we had will keep me from returning for quite a long time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Globetreker1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    99
    37
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overboard for Max Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Max Fish, we're hooked.

Happy hour, stop it, cheerful cheap with cocktail treats.

Sunday last, for Easter? SURPRISE! Bagel with Lox tops, capers and greens goes to eleven.

Max Fish, this brightly lit homage to yesteryear Oyster Bars keeps dragging us back in. Now, with the most pleasing smoked salmon for Sunday Brunch we are trapped in their tasty trawler of top flight service and presentation.

Sure, it's possible to find fault, one cherrystone of six had a weird color and was replaced with a gargantuan plum of a cherrystone.

For the happy hour expert new cocktails are seasonally enjoyed and if they ever stop the burger special salty tears will flow. Confident, competent and caring, great stop, seconds from the freeway for a pit stop or a major do. Do Max, do Fish, do go . . . now!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oceans21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Raw Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great pricing on the oyster of the day and clams. Offered 4-6 during the weekday and again from 9pm to closing. Very attentive bartenders and waitstaff in the Lounge area. Casual dress. Great crowd mix from college students to business professionals and road warriors stoping by to enjoy a great dinner/drinks. Sunday brunch is another festive event that features a Bloody Mary raw bar.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pagllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“MAGNIFICENT at Max Fish ! Top Trip Advisor Contributor.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Greeted by a Very Friendly Welcoming smiling Staff that seemed genuinely happy that you arrived .
Disappointed that the " Happy Hour " Raw Bar Specials did not extend into the main dining room, which is usually the case. With that out of the way.

Our server was Katherine. Attractive, great smile, friendly, hospitable, professional , helpful and knowledgeable. I'm Sicilian , she was Napolitano . Great beginning.
The entire wait staff seemed to be moving about like a professional experienced trained family.

Cocktails to begin. ( $28.25 ) Gin and Tonic, Grey Goose Martini.

Entree's: The Pan Roasted Lobster ( MKT price $34.00) with spring pea risotto, bourbon, pink peppercorns and vanilla. Outstanding flavor and presentation.
Atlantic Cod, with asparagus, and mashed potatoes. ( $25.00) . Cooked to perfection and seasoned well.

Save room for Killer Deserts ! Chocolate Nut Tart , chocolate ganache infused with various nuts, and thick caramel layered on the bottom with in house cheese cake Gelato on the side . Really ? Cheese cake Gelato ? Amazing and Decadent ! ($ 7.95 ).
Key Lime Tart, gingersnap crust, whipped cream and toasted coconut . Fresh, and delicious. ($7.95).
Snifter of Gran Marnier ($ 8.00 ) .

Total : $ 110.00 and well worth it all. Without liquor it would have been $ 82.00.
With tip of ( $ 25.00 ) TOTAL $ 135.00 for 2. Great meal, Terrific service !

On the way out, Raw bar staff, Host, and several servers thanked us for coming in. Great finale !

I would definitely return again and sample different Entree's and deserts.
What are you waiting for ? Make it to the MAX !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Max Fish is Max Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

One of the pleasures of living in CT is being within driving distance of the Max Restaurant Group's restaurants. Max Fish is one of the best, providing good food in an attractive setting brought to the table by excellent waiters and waitresses.

My biggest "problem" with Max Fish is that is right next door to Max Amore. That leaves me in a quandary -- which really good restaurant do I want to enjoy today? I wish I had more problems like this! My friends chide me for ordering mashed potatoes and chicken at Max Amore. I respond by asking have you tried it? It makes the commonplace uncommon. I love that. Try it and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reasonrules2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Max Fish also viewed

 
Glastonbury, CT
 

Been to Max Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing