We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Connecticut River Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Glastonbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A place for a weekend get away or a place to stay for business or leisure. We had a wonderful stay in our updated but very well appointed historic room. The fireplace kept us warm and romantic. alot of wonderful touches from the organic soaps to the delicious and healthy breakfast.
Pat is an artist so you can imagine how beautiful this home is. I definately would reccomend this B&B.Fondly,
Nancy and Roger

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    13
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
40
111
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very delightful B&B with great attention to detail by owners, enjoyed our 4 night stay. Rooms tastefully decorated, and comfortable. Breakfast varied every morning and imaginative dishes.
Abe and Judith

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drabetheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Thank you to Wayne and Pat for providing a wonderful, yet all-too-brief, stay at the inn. You have a beautiful house. My room on the top floor was more space than one man could ever need, but it was nice having the elbow room to relax. I enjoyed walking down the street from the inn to the local restaurants and shopping there in Glastonbury. When traveling to or through the Hartford area, I will definitely opt for this town, rather than the urban center.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkarennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I've stayed here on a couple different occasions for business travel and have had a great experience so far. The house and garden are beautiful and the rooms are absolutely amazing, exactly what I needed after long business days. Couldn't ask for a better breakfast to start the day as well. Pat and Wayne are wonderful hosts too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This inn is a beauty. It's a lovely old house, which has been beautifully decorated and modernized inside. It's quite stylish and not stuffy. It has everything you could want in terms of comfort: a decadently comfortable bed and spa-like shower with all manner of jets and a rainfall showerhead. Everything was spotlessly clean. One of my favorite features of this inn were the gas fireplaces in every room. The entire house is heated by these fireplaces, which are charming, fun, and also heat quite efficiently. You could wake up in the morning, and turn your fireplace on with a remote! It made for a very cozy room in the evening, without the fuss of a real fire.

The grounds are beautiful, and beautifully maintained. The garden looks lovely in the website's summer pictures, but is also stunning in the fall. Our room (Autumn) had a great balcony with a table and chairs, which would have been fantastic to sit out on had the weather been warmer. I couldn't feel too sorry for myself, though, because the brisk fall weather gave me an excuse to enjoy the fireplace.

The hosts are helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was fantastic, and made to order. They served gorgeous fresh fruits, homemade pastries, and terrific main courses (a sort of Eggs Benedict and custom omelettes were featured during our stay, along with tasty, healthy whole wheat toast (hooray!)). Pat accommodated my partner's food allergy by making a gluten-free cranberry pastry with rice flour- I was quite astonished as this was above and beyond what most (or any) bed and breakfast has done before or what we would expect. On top of being quite delicious (and gluten free is not something a lot of cooks are comfortable with or good at), it was very generous of the host and and much appreciated.

We were in town to visit family, but Glastonbury is a charming Connecticut town with much to enjoy in its own right. I have always admired the historic houses on Main Street, so it was a treat to get to stay in one. The town is very old and there are a lot of beautifully maintained old houses. I enjoyed the Saturday farmer's market and Belltown Orchards with its view of rolling hills. The nearby river front is being developed with hiking trails and a boat launch. I'm sure it's great in all the seasons, but the Connecticut River Valley Inn makes for a great New England fall destination, and would also be a terrific place for an event.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Autumn Glow room, which was fantastic, but we peeked at the other rooms when they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband and I were married here on 10/12/13 and we couldn't have picked a better venue than this. It was very clean, comfortable and the rooms were all gorgeous. Patricia and Wayne were wonderful hosts, very helpful and very nice. They set up everything we needed for the wedding. The seats for the ceremony, the table and chairs for the reception, the table was decorated so nice with fall colors and flowers. The yard was beautiful and had so many flowers too. We stayed there the entire weekend along with a few of our guests and they loved it there also. They served us breakfast Saturday and Sunday morning and the food was amazing!! I highly recommend this place and will be returning again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jes0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have stayed here a few times as I have work in the area. It's always a wonderful stay from the welcome to cleanliness of the rooms, comfortable beds and fantastic breakfast. I highly recommend this and will continue to be a return customer!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glastonbury
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford South-Glastonbury
4.9 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
5.4 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Connecticut River Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Connecticut River Valley Inn

Property: The Connecticut River Valley Inn
Address: 2195 Main St, Glastonbury, CT 06033-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Glastonbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Glastonbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Connecticut River Valley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Connecticut River Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Connecticut River Valley Hotel Glastonbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing