We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”

The Spicy Green Bean
Ranked #8 of 88 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our creative menu is sure to excite your palate. We pride ourselves on our seasonally changing menu selections we refer to as “Kooky Konkoctions”, or, of course you can always create your own. We cater all types of occasions from elaborate full service special events, weddings, parties, corporate meetings, private dinner, backyard picnics to simple delivery drop-offs and everything in between.The Spicy Green Bean, more than anything else, is about great taste and quality food. Variety comes in a close second. You'll be able to return again and again and have something great and different, every time.Our bakery selections are baked fresh daily so each day the selections vary - Stop in and see what we have or call in advance to place a special order. Each day we usually have a varied selection of fresh baked cookies, cupcakes, brownies, bars, cakes, and homemade ice creams!!
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Service was ridiculously slow, even though restaurant was only half filled. Took over 2 hours to get our simple entrees! Another group who arrived some time before us only got served about the time we got our entrees, so their wait was even longer than ours.

Waiter didn't have a clue about the menu - said the soup of the day was Borscht, when the board on the back wall (which we didn't see initially) said Corn Chowder. When asked about the chowder, he said "of course we have it".

Food was mediocre at best. Steak was smothered in cheese, onions, and a thick gravy, all sitting on top of soggy french fries. Had to peel away layers of goop to find the meat, which was fatty (couldn't see the fat for all the coverings, had to taste to find it).

The menu looks good for sandwiches and salads, which we didn't try, but the service was so poor we'd never go there again.

BTW - its a BYOB location - bring lots of wine, you're going to be there awhile!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fusion_Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Hi Fusion Pilot,
Thank you for your review thats how we learn sorry you did not have a pleasant time hopefully you will give us another chance to WOW you!!! Thanks again...Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 117 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is the greatest little restaurant around. There is a wide choice of dishes, well-prepared and presented. The combinations are inspired.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hi Jill,
Thank you so much for the Fantastic review we really appreciate it!! We really hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

I do a lot if catered lunches for my job, and I am thrilled that someone turned me on to this place! The samdwiches are excellent, and a great change from your ordinary deli offerings. People also loved the pickles and green beans. The eggplant was a huge hit , too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chessie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Rock on Melissa, Thank you sooo much we really appreciate the praise!!!! Were trying to keep you guys interested in fun food so hopefully were Wowing you!!! Please come in soon..Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We saw The Spicy Green Bean on a friend's Facebook page. We're always looking for different restaurants so I wrote it down and the note has been on my desk for a few months. On Friday (August 2), we were looking for a place to have lunch and decided to finally go to this restaurant. It doesn't look like much from the outside and there's not much parking but the food was great and definitely worth the trip. I had the chicken salad with bacon and cranberries and my husband had the kielbasa and sauerkraut sandwich. Both were excellent. The service was good as well. We'll definitely go back again in the future. It's not a place I'd take my kids because the menu choices weren't up their alley but it was definitely a quirky yet delicious choice for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RitaC321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Manager at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Hi Rita C! Thank you so much for finally coming in and checking us out! We love to see new faces and hope to see you again soon!
We do have a kids menu and can always make anything they want!

Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

The food sells it's self. I would recommend the veggie burger to anyone! The service, on the other hand... Not that great. They are nice enough, just not to great with "checking in". I have since gone back and will go back again, because yes the food is THAT good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KDreamBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Hi KDreamBear!

Thanks for the awesome review of our food! I am constantly working on the service and hopefully we will be better at that soon!

Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spicy Green Bean also viewed

 
Glastonbury, CT
 

Been to The Spicy Green Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing