We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but much better resturants close”

The Spicy Green Bean
Ranked #8 of 89 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our creative menu is sure to excite your palate. We pride ourselves on our seasonally changing menu selections we refer to as “Kooky Konkoctions”, or, of course you can always create your own. We cater all types of occasions from elaborate full service special events, weddings, parties, corporate meetings, private dinner, backyard picnics to simple delivery drop-offs and everything in between.The Spicy Green Bean, more than anything else, is about great taste and quality food. Variety comes in a close second. You'll be able to return again and again and have something great and different, every time.Our bakery selections are baked fresh daily so each day the selections vary - Stop in and see what we have or call in advance to place a special order. Each day we usually have a varied selection of fresh baked cookies, cupcakes, brownies, bars, cakes, and homemade ice creams!!
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Small, crowded and kinda warm on a hot day. The food is good but unimpressive. I had a burger that was good but Plan B down the street does it better. My husband had a hot sandwich on a toasted bun that was toasted to hard to bite. The resturant is decorated to be cute and eclectic but the baskets and plastic cups did not fit the atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Hi Kelly
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us we appreciate it!! Happy Dining Food is Love!!!..Thanks again…Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We heard from friends that this place was a great spot for lunch. We were disappointed. Although we were seated quickly, we waited over 30 minutes for a couple of burgers and fries. The food was served in wicker baskets, each with a piece of wax paper in the bottom, and the beverages were served in plastic cups. The service was OK. Our waitress wasn't particularly friendly, although a couple of other waitresses smiled and were more cordial to us. Background music was loud too--hard to hear over it. The burgers tasted good and were cooked to order, but $27 for burgers and fries? Not worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PercyKeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Hi Shelby
Thank you sooo much for the review we really appreciate it!!! And we hope to see you soon you need to check out our BYOB dinners they Rock too…Thanks again..Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Excellent brunch with many varied options! Fairly small seating area. Because of nice weather, seating capacity was expanded with outside seats. However, kitchen didn't appear to be expanded to cover additional seats resulting in a little slow delivery of our food. But, the food when received was delicious!

Thank Shelby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Hi Shelby
Thank you sooo much for the review we really appreciate it!!! And we hope to see you soon you need to check out our BYOB dinners they Rock too…Thanks again..Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I had heard great things about this place but to me it was just kind of average. I wish I could give it a better review. The atmosphere is good and the service was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hi Alison
Thank you so much for the review we really appreciate it!! Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a very good meal. We sat near the kitchen as It is a small place and the food coming by looked delicious too. Our waitress was the best. In fact she helped me get my car out on the very busy road which was a big help. The parking is the only drawback at all but you would do better parking on the street. We will go back for lunch definitely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hi Bev
Thank you sooo much for the AWESOME review we really appreciate it!!!…Kath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spicy Green Bean also viewed

 

Been to The Spicy Green Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing