We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gideon's Only Gets This” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gideon's BBQ Smokehouse

Gideon's BBQ Smokehouse
Ranked #57 of 90 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gideon's Only Gets This”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I was looking forward to trying this place as I'd heard great things about it. Was it good? Sure. Was it something to brag about? I think not.

The menu offers some good options to choose from and we went basic for our first outing. It wasn't disappointing but we didn't think it lived up to the hype. We may try again as I never think it's fair to judge harshly based on one visit.

The service was great, the atmosphere was suitable and we didn't think the prices were too bad. But in a town with so many restaurants and variations to choose from....just okay is simply not good enough. Let's see if the next visit fares a better review.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie-says-so
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryEllen011, Guest Relations Manager at Gideon's BBQ Smokehouse, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
Hi! Thanks for leaving the review. Have you been back since you posted nearly a year ago? If not, please be sure to chat with us when you come in, about any concerns you have. You are right about there being a lot of restaurants in Glastonbury, but if it is authentic southern comfort food (aka BBQ) that you are looking for-this is the place. Have you had a chance to come check out new menu items in the last year or any of our weekly lunch specials? Our desire is to not just create the great environment and offer you great prices, but we want to see what we can do to help you make us one of your top 5 favorites in town, as is the case with many of our patrons. Be sure to call ahead or order online if you are just doing take-out though, because we get very busy during meal time and don't want you to have to wait. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to the best barbecue in several states”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I was very impressed with the smoky flavor of the barbecue brisket and turkey meats.
The portions are enough and prices are the usual for this quality. I rank this as a close
second to the best barbecue in Phila area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bob4law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryEllen011, Guest Relations Manager at Gideon's BBQ Smokehouse, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
We are thrilled to hear that you love our BBQ! Clearly, you know your way around BBQ's and recognize us as serving the real deal, authentic Southern BBQ (which as you know, is VERY different than backyard style BBQ's). It is exciting to us that people are traveling for well over an hour to get to us, some from NY and MA-just to get the Southern BBQ. We invite you to come in and try some of our other smoked meats too, like our wings that are especially popular on Wingsdays (Wednesdays). Of course-we'll never deny you the smoked turkey and brisket that you liked! See you again soon. Be sure to chat with us when you get here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harford ct
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is NOT a smokehouse”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

This place is awful
There is no smoker
The sides are warehouse quality
And it's expensive for the serving size

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anniem4690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryEllen011, Guest Relations Manager at Gideon's BBQ Smokehouse, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
We see that this is the second negative review left in a matter of mos, back in 2013. As reiterated on our other response, we regret that you did not ask to speak with the owners or the chefs. Rest assured, we absolutely DO have a smoker, and we use it daily to slow cook all of the fine quality of meats that we purchase. Not only do we smoke our finger lick'n ribs; but we also smoke turkey, wings, brisket and more. As our business continues to expand, we are adding to our menu to keep up with the demand of our patrons who dine in, take out, get delivery, grab lunch specials, or have us cater their events. If you call ahead or order online, we will have your next order waiting for you. And, most importantly, please drop in to talk with the owner or the chefs about your concerns. We'd be happy to discuss our smoking methods with you and have you try some of our (deff not gray) meats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a real smokehouse smokehouse that will be closed in a year”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I should've known better when I walked in and young kids running the place. Smoked food is an art and you need to be doing it for a long time before you become any good at it. My first issue is they don't have a real smoker. My second issue is the food was horrible and all I tried was wings and chowder. I figured if they got this right then I would try something else on another visit. The wings were horrible and the chowder tasted like flour. I will never be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xxmenarcaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryEllen011, Guest Relations Manager at Gideon's BBQ Smokehouse, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
Our apologies for your dissatisfaction. The owners and the chef are all mid-lifers and beyond. The front of the house staff are experienced in the industry, and the chef has over 30 years experience as one of the more renowned in the Glastonbury region. As you can see, we are not out of business a year later. We invite you to return for another visit, and ask to speak with the chef or owner personally, if you do not see them in the dining room. We are confident that your next visit will be to your satisfaction!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mmmm Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Gideon's is a new restaurant, open a couple of months in Glastonbury CT.

The atmosphere is very modest, with a patriotic flair. It is a small place, seating about 20 or so people. Ordering is done at the counter and the food is then delivered to your table. No liquor license, but you can BYOB.

Bottom line, the St. Louis ribs (only kind they sell) are fall off the bone fabulous. If you live in the area, stop by and try them-you won't be sorry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CT-traveler137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryEllen011, Guest Relations Manager at Gideon's BBQ Smokehouse, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
Hello,
We thank you for your kind words! Have you been in lately? We have added menu items, now offer catering and delivery and are still making those St. Louis Ribs! Do be sure to speak to us when you come in, as we love getting to know our patrons!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gideon's BBQ Smokehouse also viewed

 
Glastonbury, CT
 

Been to Gideon's BBQ Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing