We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AJ's Steak & Pizza”
Review of AJ's Steak & Pizza

AJ's Steak & Pizza
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Goshen
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Restaurant details
Canaan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AJ's Steak & Pizza”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

AJ's is a great place! Great food and a fun atmosphere. Menu has many choices and daily specials are terrific.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelerCanaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
246 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“good Bison burgers”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stopped in for lunch today. Son and I had a local craft beer, the ladies had wine. They brought over a dish of peanuts and said just throw the shells on the floor. We all had bison burgers with cheese and onions, (I also had mushrooms). They were moist and very good. They have a full bar, Aj's is in a basement- with the door behind the building, nothing to look at but good food. Looks like a local's hangout- but they know where the good food is. Our 2nd time there and will go back. They had a very large menu so something for everyone. NOTE they take $$Cash only.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RGM-PJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
447 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“"Cheers" - It's AJ's in Goshen”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I stopped by AJ's Steak & Pizza with family members for a casual dinner last night. I hadn't been to AJ's for several years, however I recalled that AJ's was a casual, happy place where you could toss your peanut shells on the floor while tossing back a few cold beers. AJ's has since been renovated with lots of solid pine wood tables and a warmer atmosphere than from what I recall. I was pleased to learn that you can still throw your shells on the floor. I like restaurants and dives where you have to go downstairs into the dining/bar area. It somewhat reminds me of walking into a speak-easy from the prohibition era.

AJ's remains very busy with primarily local customers, many who are obviously regulars as everyone seems to know someone else dining or having a few drinks there. It reminds me of the atmosphere found the old television program, "Cheers." AJ's is very noisy, mostly because people are enjoying themselves. Several flat screen televisions located around the room add to the noise. As the evening progressed, there was a line of customers on the stairs, waiting for open tables. We engaged in conversation with friendly people sitting at tables on either side of our table. I enjoyed myself, as did my family.

Paper place mats featuring advertising of other businesses located in the metropolis of Goshen and paper napkins were utilized in service. Our waitress was very friendly, though a little over-tasked serving several tables. AJ's has an extensive menu that offers a mix of family style restaurant food and pizza's. I ordered a small, 12" AJ's specialty pizza (sausage, onions, peppers, pepperoni, olives and mushrooms) for $12.99. The actual size of the pizza was more like 15", way too much for one person to devour alone in one sitting. AJ's was generous with the cheese and toppings, however, I found the crust to be too thick and difficult to cut through. Another guest ordered the Chef's Salad, which was served in gigantic stainless steel mixing bowl with a set of tongs for serving. It too was too much food for one person to finish. Another guest enjoyed her Coconut Shrimp.

The special for this Thursday evening was Prime Ribs served with smashed potatoes for a reasonable price of $10.00! From what I could see on other tables, all portions were very generous, no matter what you ordered. While the food quality is average, I recommend AJ's if your looking for a good time in a relaxing, yet noisy, restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirto56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful pizza”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

AJ"s is a town favorite with great pizza, ribeye steaks and their fabulous bison burgers. We visit AJ's several times a month.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetsherrilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
160 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fried food”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

If you like fried food this is the joint for you. The bar noise was loud, service lousy and folks in the bar kept knocking into my chair and totally disrupted our meal. One bar patron actually leaned on me, with a drink in hand.
Won't be going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank styx-stones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AJ's Steak & Pizza also viewed

 

Been to AJ's Steak & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing