We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Greenwich Conn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Best in Service, Food and Location.
Don't waste your time looking anywhere else This is the best in all the Above
Plus a Terrific Value for what you get

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thanks for the outstanding recommendation! We strive to deliver the very best in hospitality and I appreciate your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Delamar soon.
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

I grew up in Greenwich and have been by the Delamar often (they have a great restaurant and bar attached to the hotel), however this was my first time actually staying there. The hotel is beautiful and right on the water. The staff was welcoming and helpful, and the rooms were a good size (I stayed in a Deluxe Town View Room, as I was only staying one night). The hotel is a short walk to the bottom of Greenwich Avenue, where there are fantastic restaurants and shops. The Delamar is a little pricey, which is to be expected as it is in Greenwich and is an upscale hotel. I would definitely recommend the Delamar to anyone coming to Greenwich!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyowlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again at both the restaurant and the hotel!
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

It is almost impossible to get 5 women together, but we have been doing our best to do just that for over 20 years. We needed some place quick and convenient for women in the city, the NY suburbs, the Berkshires and Philly and the Delamar was it. We love dit! The rooms were lovely, the beds incredibly comfortable, the spa was delightful, the wine and cheese in the afternoon was a nice touch and the continental breakfast was a treat. But really the best par t was the staff. The women at the front desk, the doormen and driver, and the people at the spa were wonderful. I was less than 25 minutes from my house and felt like I was on vacation. We had a great day shopping in town and a delicious dinner at Barcelona.

I would highly recommend this place for a romantic getaway as well. It felt very luxorious but very comfortable at the same time

Room Tip: Get a harbor view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kidfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our spa and services and we certainly hope we can welcome you and the girls back again soon!
Warm Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We had the fortune of choosing the Delamar for a last minute weekend getaway. This is an ultra clean, beautifully decorated, elegant hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff.

Check-in was not only efficient but the staff was aware details that had been discussed when I made the reservation by phone - like asking if "Bocci" (our dog) was traveling with us. A water bowl dog treat was waiting for us in our room when we got there. These may seem trivial but I appreciate a detail-oriented staff.

The room was great with a view of the harbor. The various sitting areas throughout the hotel were warm, comfortable and inviting.

The restaurant was great!!! Excellent service and OUTSTANDING food. The restaurant is clearly frequented by locals - with good reason! Getting to the restaurant from inside the hotel from the "back stairs" was a little confusing the first time and could probably use better signage.

The hotel is on the harbor but there is not too much else around. The weather was cold when we were there (late winter - early spring) so we were disappointed that we could not take advantage of the hotel's outdoor areas on the dock.

Downtown Greenwich is very quaint with nice shopping and eateries. It would be an ambitious walk to get to downtown - we took the car.

We did hit a small bump in the road when attempting to make a spa appointment. We visited the spa appointment desk (rather than calling). The staffer bluntly said "sorry, we have no openings" (surprising, since the hotel was not crowded but it seems the locals use the spa, as well). The spa manager, who happened to come from the back room while we were trying to convince the staffer to become creative to fit in an appointment, immediately intervened. He took over the process and my wife was receiving her massage less than 30 minutes later. The manager explained to my wife (during her appointment) that the staffer at the desk was a nail technician - not the receptionist (who called in sick) - and apologized for the confusion. Like I said - "small bump" - which was immediately rectified. My wife said the spa environment and treatment was very good and very relaxing.

We frequently travel with our 30lb dog. Delamar is a pet-friendly hotel that charges $50/night for pets. This is a good thing!!! My experience has been that a fee at this level tends to filter out inconsiderate pet owners. My point is, non-pet owners should not be concerned about staying at this excellent hotel.

This hotel was a winner and we would definitely go back. The nicely appointed rooms, cleanliness, beautiful lobby and common areas, and great restaurant make it a great property. The ultra-friendly, well-trained, helpful staff make it a great experience.

NOTE: I'm not a push-over customer (read some of my other reviews). This place was really good!!

Room Tip: A water view room onto the cute harbor is nice. I'll assume rooms near the spa and fitness cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJM2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful comments. we pride ourselves on striving to deliver the very best service in a genuinely warm and welcoming atmosphere. I was glad to hear the spa quickly resolved your appointment request and your wife enjoyed the treatment (our Spa is in high demand and appointments fill very quickly). We certainly hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and look forward to welcoming you both (as well as 'Bocci') back to the Delamar soon.
Kind Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I took my wife here for her birthday as a surprise. From the moment we arrived with our 90 pound dog in tow, we were all treated to the best service imaginable. We received an upgrade to a suite upon check in (a nice extra). Our dog was supplied a little bag of treats and his own personalized dog tag! It's nice that they allow dogs up to 100 pounds as this is not common for upscale hotels. The gas fireplace in our room was a welcome addition as was the balcony overlooking Greenwich Harbor. The spa was excellent and dinner at L'escale was well worth the trip.

Thanks to the staff for a great birthday weekend!

Room Tip: Belvedere club level harbor view suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drumfunksta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for writing such a nice review. We are delighted you enjoyed your Birthday weekend and look forward to welcoming you back to Delamar soon.
Best Regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here for three nights on a business trip to Greenwich (tried to extend by two more nights, we liked it so much, but they were full)

Delightful staff, rooms and service. Nice touches include the complimentary breakfast. A real "home from home" when you are travelling.

We would return.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

We are delighted to hear the Delamar met all your business needs as we strive to deliver an exception experience for both business and leisure travelers alike. Our goal is to provide a 'home away from home' atmoshpere with genuinely warm hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Can't say enough good things about this place and can't wait to return! Short story is that the staff is friendly and helpful, the hotel is beautiful with attention to every detail, the spa is great but books up quickly because it's small, and the location is superb. This is an excellent couples location!

Long story:
My wife and I went for a long, holiday weekend in February 2012. Starting with the booking over the phone, Katherine and Petya were super friendly and very helpful. Delamar is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, and it shows! Katherine made a few dinner recommendations (including Valbella which was outstanding!!). Upon arrival, you’ll see the hotel is right on the water, so book a harbor-side-view room. You’ll get a nice balcony and see the sun set that way as well! At check-in, I was greeted by name and they remembered it was my wife's birthday; it’s those little things that make all the difference. The porter offered to take our bags to the room while we enjoyed the manager’s complimentary wine and cheese gathering in the lobby. The décor of the hotel is top-notch – intentional and well thought out; very tasteful and elegant throughout the hotel and guestrooms. Great attention to detail and nothing over-looked. There was even a baby-grand piano and player in the lobby, which was enticing to stay longer to relax and enjoy the surroundings. I booked the romance package which included some meal vouchers, flowers, champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries, etc. Upon entering the room, all of the romance package inclusions were there, set up in the room already. Every request I had for the hotel was handled with accuracy and care. The king-size bed and pillows were very comfortable, as were the linens and towels (including the plush robes in each room!!). We had a huge soak tub in our bathroom. Didn’t use it but nice to have the option. We ordered room service one night which comes from their on-site restaurant, L’Escale. Pricey, but good; don’t forget that the tip is included in the bill! Be sure to notice the iPod dock in the room, turn-down service each night, pleasant-sounding door bell on the room door to avoid knocking, complimentary car service to/from the hotel within Greenwich…again, it’s the little things that make all the difference, and Delamar is AMAZING!

Room Tip: hotel is right on the water, so book a harbor-side-view room. You’ll get a nice balcony and see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KP_SpeakerFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delamar1, General Manager at Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We truly pride ourselves on striving to deliver world-class service and I will certainly pass on your kind feedback to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Delamar again soon.
Best regards,
Daniel Coggins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
2.6 mi away
The J House Greenwich
The J House Greenwich
#2 of 3 in Greenwich
331 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#3 of 3 in Greenwich
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
361 reviews
3.9 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
814 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#3 of 14 in Stamford
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel

Address: 500 Steamboat Rd, Greenwich, CT 06830-7120
Region: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Price Range: £188 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning jewel for travelers with a taste for Old World style and bespoke services, Delamar Greenwich Harbor ranks among the most elegant boutique hotels in the country. With a prime location on the beautiful waterfront, this luxury hotel in Connecticut features 82 deluxe guest rooms and suites arrayed with luxurious, European-style furnishings, relaxing hues, and contemporary communications technologies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delamar Hotel Greenwich Ct

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing