We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful restoration” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanton House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stanton House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mkm1013
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful restoration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed here for business trip to Greenwich. Very close to downtown area. Beautiful restoration of home. Room was very comfortable and clean. Bed was great. Breakfast was simple fare, but nice. Drawing rooms worked well for intimate meetings. Staff very helpful and friendly, Reasonable prices for the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkm1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stantonhouseinn, Owner at Stanton House Inn, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
We thank you for your kind words and we hope that you will return in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    19
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
35
74
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Poor breakfast, cold water, room so and so. Service was not very polite.
The location is a bit out of town but in a pretty area..
The air condition wasn't working well.

We didnt use the pool because it was closed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Food82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stantonhouseinn, Owner at Stanton House Inn, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
We are saddened to hear that our guest (a family of 4) reportedly had issues with their stay with us. Unfortunately, what is not told in the review is that a mattress was soiled beyond recovery and had to be replaced. The guest was charged a nominal amount to defray the expense of the mattress (the unavailability of the room was not charged). The mattress and box spring had to be thrown-out and the room is out of order until they are replaced. The guest thought that the charge was unreasonable and, thus, we surmise, that this poor rating on Trip Advisor resulted. Interestingly enough, the guest wrote in our guest book the comments “great stay”, adding, after the mattress incident, “never again”.
The pool is closed at sunset each day, earlier in the event of bad weather. The guests arrived at 7:30 pm close to sunset.
The hot water system was working properly. We have found that some of our foreign guests occasionally have trouble with our tub/shower faucets as they have volume and temperature controls. In, most instances, the guest asks the front desk for assistance for safety reasons.
The air conditioners were working properly in both rooms (adjoining). Our breakfast is complimentary, continental buffet during the week and we added cooked eggs to order on weekends and holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We recently stayed at the Stanton House Inn for five days and commuted back and forth to NYC. The owners were very gracious and our room was comfortable, clean and welcoming.

We wished the continental breakfast had a few more offerings, but otherwise the Inn was lovely and located close to downtown.

Thanks for a nice stay!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank PlanetGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Spent Friday and Saturday evening at the Stanton Inn. Would not hesitate to go back. The Inn was very charming...the two rooms we reserved were both decorated lovely, were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday was great. A cold buffet with a nice assortment of breads, fruit, yogurt and made to order eggs/bacon. The Inn was spotless. It is obvious that the owners are great caretakers of this property inside and out. The owners were responsive to all of our questions about the area and provided good insights on what to do, where to eat, where to park along main street, etc. We enjoyed the two public sitting areas on the first floor and walking around the Inn's grounds.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Have stayed many of times at the inn but after this go around the help is never consistent and the owner was very cranky! To bad!

Also, the rooms are becoming dated.

Stop serving Home Depot Breakfast! Very tired place.

Seams as though the owners are nervous because of the economy!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I've been staying at the Stanton House for 12 years. I seek it out because of its friendly, warm environment and its extremely comfortable rooms. You feel like a houseguest at a particularly posh Greenwich house.

Beds are huge, lighting is good. The breakfast isn't so great (except at weekends when they serve a hot breakfast).

Ample parking is free. This is the kind of place where the staff know you once you've stayed there a few times. Well worth trying out.

Room Tip: The nicest rooms are in the oldest part of the house, though you can get rooms with direct outdoor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucada777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights in July, 2011. The Stanton House is across the street from our son, daughter-in-law,and grandaughter, at whose house we are normally welcome (really), but this occasion was a BIG birthday party, and we had no complaints about our stay here. Anyone visiting Greenwich or NYC would likely love this house and the hospitality of the hosts. The room where breakfast is served is especially fine. I wanted to sit outside to eat, but, alas, Greenwich has the same flying insects as the rest of eastern N.A., so I would have had to dine alone. On any future group family events in Greenwich, we would gladly volunteer to walk across the street. By the way, the house across the way isn't shabby, either. I'm told that Mark Twain's daughter once resided there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin P, Owner at Stanton House Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Jim, I know it's been quite a bit of time since your visit, but I just wanted to let you know that we appreciate your writing us a recommendation. It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that we could make the birthday festivities just a little more special. Next time you visit your family, we'd love for you to stay with us again!

Colin P, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
1.4 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
2.0 mi away
The J House Greenwich
The J House Greenwich
#2 of 3 in Greenwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.7 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#3 of 3 in Greenwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
12.2 mi away
Tarrytown House Estate on the Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanton House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton House Inn

Property: Stanton House Inn
Address: 76 Maple Ave, Greenwich, CT 06830-5698
Region: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanton House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanton House Inn is a unique bed and breakfast in Greenwich, offering a piece of old world charm just a few steps away from the town’s finest attractions. Lovingly restored in a country decor by its current owners, this small and peaceful Inn is an elegant and intimate alternative to ordinary hotels. With 20 individually decorated chambers including three suites, The Stanton House Inn offers all of the modern comforts and amenities you could hope for in a friendly and relaxed environment. From breakfast, dry cleaning and concierge services to cable TV, wifi and an on-site swimming pool, we provide everything you need for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Stanton House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton House Hotel Greenwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing