We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic inn”
Review of Stanton House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stanton House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Historic inn”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A wonderful historic inn close to downtown Greenwich. I had a wonderful morning walk into the village. We spent one night at the Stanton House Inn. Room was immaculate, and the attention to detail was impressive. The owners and staff are very pleasant and friendly. The room was large and tastefully decorated in period style. Colin was very helpful upon check in and offered information about the surrounding area. There is a modest breakfast provided (croissant, boiled egg, cold cereal, fresh fruit, bread, one pound cake, yogurt) which is a bit less than I have had at other bed and breakfasts--I would have given it a 5 otherwise. Air conditioner in room was a bit loud when it cycled on, but that is what would be expected in a historic home. All in all, a delightful experience

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    20
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
38
75
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was traveling with my children (ages 6, 12 and 14) throughout New England and the Northeast and we spent one night at the Stanton House Inn. I wish we could have spent more time as everything about the Inn was great. The room was large and very comfortable, the pool was much appreciated as the weather was hot and muggy and the owner and her family was very helpful with restaurant suggestion in Greenwich.

I generally do not stay in B&B's as they tend to have an "old lady" feel. The Stanton House Inn had a small luxury hotel feel. The common rooms were beautiful as was the property. I hope to return in the winter as it must be a magical place in the snow.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23 which had two queen size beds and a little bonus area. Also, there is a deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Stanton House Inn. The house itself is larger than most b&bs we have visited. Every room was immaculate, and the attention to detail was impressive. The gardens and pool are beautiful. Our room was a nice size with a modern bathroom and was very clean. The breakfast was not as fancy as at other b&bs we have visited, but there was a nice variety from which to choose. An "experimental" batch of scones ended up being the best scones we ever had! Every staff member was friendly and helpful. Many thanks to Colin, who sent us home with the gift of three plants from their garden to plant in ours!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieMId
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A wonderful historic inn close to downtown Greenwich with very reasonable rates. I visited from California and stayed for two nights in June 2014 while visiting the nearby Milbrook area of Greenwich where I was born.
The owners and staff are very pleasant and friendly. The room was large and tastefully decorated in period style. The bathroom was modern with a good shower with high enough showerhead for a six-footer. The breakfast in the morning was excellent with a wide array of choices on the serving table and hot entree included cooked to order for each person. The large and confortably furnished downstairs areas have current newpapers and are a pleasant place to sit and relax. There is plenty of off-street parking.
I highly recommend the Stanton Inn when staying in Greenwich, Connecticut.

Room Tip: I had a large two bed room on the second floor at the back with a nice outside balcony with chairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumboldtPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Stanton exceeded our expectations, centrally located, gracious hosts, perfect place. I would recommend it to everyone who plans to visit Greenwich. The grounds were gorgeous and breakfast was yummy. Great pie crust.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcowper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton Manors, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I'd stay there again. They were nice, especially in that they accommodated several special requests. I liked the chickens they keep on the premises. It depends on what you're looking for. I believe there's no gym, for instance. I liked being central in Greenwich. It's pricier than what I'm used to, one could certainly get by with cheaper, I usually do, but I went with it this time, and I'm satisfied.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We've been coming to Greenwich for the Concours for years now and have stayed at many different hotels. The location is about as close as it gets to downtown and is minutes away from the Merit and Rt-95 without being noisy. The room was beautiful and very comfortable at a reasonable price. The pool was refreshing after a long day walking downtown. We will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
2.0 mi away
The J House Greenwich
The J House Greenwich
#2 of 3 in Greenwich
322 reviews
1.4 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#3 of 3 in Greenwich
98 reviews
3.5 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#1 of 2 in Rye Brook
798 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanton House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton House Inn

Property: Stanton House Inn
Address: 76 Maple Ave, Greenwich, CT 06830-5698
Region: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanton House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanton House Inn is a unique bed and breakfast in Greenwich, offering a piece of old world charm just a few steps away from the town’s finest attractions. Lovingly restored in a country decor by its current owners, this small and peaceful Inn is an elegant and intimate alternative to ordinary hotels. With 20 individually decorated chambers including three suites, The Stanton House Inn offers all of the modern comforts and amenities you could hope for in a friendly and relaxed environment. From breakfast, dry cleaning and concierge services to cable TV, wifi and an on-site swimming pool, we provide everything you need for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stanton House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton House Hotel Greenwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing