We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had the best time - EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The J House Greenwich
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Well well well well .. I was here visiting the US office and the guys recommended the J House to stay as it was 'fun' and not the usual stuffy hotel etc !! And fun it was .... from the moment I went to the bar to the moment I left th J House (after a week) I was 100% looked after me..in every sense!!! it was delightful and I cannot say enough good stuff about the staff there .... you know who you are!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you for looking after me - I had the most amazing time in CT and it was down to you guys making me feel welcome..... will recommend you highly over and over again .... my work colleagues are sick and tired of me going on about how great you were !!!! I think my job is done ..... take care the J House and I will be in touch xxx

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Husband and I stayed here near relatives in Riverside. From its location, above the busy I-95 and alongside a typical "main street", the interior of the new JHouse has been designed to a high contemporary specification and finished to an excellent standard (for once, husband didn't mention spirit-levels, which he has in Aman hotels). Our Standard King room was discreetly packed with lighting/media/temp controls at handy points which could also be set from the iPad stationed at the bedside, very easy and intuitive. The large mirror morphed into a screen. The style was masculine, modern, compact, luxury. The bathroom was very clean, high quality - and a TV screen within its mirror perfect for flossing to the weather report.
We only had the simple continental breakfast, but locals highly recommended the dining experience and the cocktail area, which had a natural, modern design (wood/stone/linen).
Soon, they won't need to plant the DB9 in the front park and offer such reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sateasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by local friends when we were passing through on our way from Boston to NYC, and wanted to spend the night near, but not in, NYC. The location, just off a major freeway was very convenient. We spent one night, in late June, and it was perfect. There was a huge party atmosphere on a Thursday night (we had great/reasonably priced drinks inside [quieter], but there's also an outdoor bar and restaurant venue). The good news is none of that interfered with our privacy, as the windows in our room were so well sealed we heard nothing (even though the room was on the first floor adjacent to the parking lot)! There's a wonderful cafe, gelato, and chocolate shop in the hotel - we sampled all and had breakfast there. As noted in previous reviews, most electronics in the room are controlled by a provided iPad - some things a little harder to figure out than others - but the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. One oddity is the layout of the bathroom - where the toilet seat raised as you passed by to get a towel or get into or out of the shower - funny for a night, but could be annoying if staying a few nights. Overall, good value, and reasonably priced for an almost-in-Manhattan location.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to look out on parking lots, either in the front or back, so there's no choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kklSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This "design hotel" gets a lot of things right and with just a few tweaks (it's only a year old), would merit a top rating.
First of all, the welcome at the front desk is warm and friendly, though there is no one to help take your bags to your room.
We chose a suite, and while the bedroom part of the divided room was well done, the sitting area was barren and uninviting. A piece of ceramic art, a terrarium, a potted plant--any touch of personality would give it some warmth and appeal. As it was, we didn't want to be there, and so thought money would have been better spent on just a room.
As for the high-tech stuff, technophobes, relax: Everything you can do with the iPad in the room can also be done via buttons on the wall next to the bed. The automated Toto toilet will be a treat for some, scary or funny for others.
Ladies, a warning: they do not give you a shower cap, though I learned later that you can call the front desk and they'll send one up, but really, who wants to do that as she is about to step in the shower?
One thing that I couldn't quite compute: The pool area is exceptionally nice, with curtained cabanas all around it, complete with sofas and chandeliers--in addition to the expected loungers for sunning pool-side. It's a situation that cries out for drinks service. How nice it would be to sip a glass of rose or a mojito there, nibble on some tapas.... But alas, there is no such service. It's a disappointing omission, no doubt dictated by economics.
We had a very good meal in the hotel restaurant, and the bar had a lively and attractive crowd. The J House is a welcome addition to the Greenwich scene.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelsalot05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan W, General Manager at The J House Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Travelsalot05,

Great to hear from you and thanks for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay.

I would have to honestly say that your comments are spot on – for a boutique luxury hotel at our level, there should always be someone on hand to help with luggage. You will be pleased to know that we have in fact just added a full time Bellman to not only assist with luggage but also shuttle guests around locally in our new courtesy vehicle (which arrives late next week). Yipee!

You are again correct in calling us out for certain rooms missing small decorative “touches” which would definitely supply additional warmth and appeal to our high tech rooms. Being a new property, this was an area that was perhaps a bit overlooked in our rush to open. Needless to say, this too is being resolved in the coming weeks. I love shopping!!

I was however very sorry to hear that we failed to offer you our poolside service, when in fact you should have been offered a full menu every day from 9am until 8pm. True, we do not have a staff member stationed at the pool all the time but our staff should have made rounds to offers any drinks or menu service. I think we could improve this by installing a direct “hotline” to the restaurant at the pool or some improved signage to let guests know what is available. Many thanks for pointing this out.

Darn, and we were so close to receiving full stars….

With so many of these and other additions happening this summer, we do hope that you will make the short trip from Katonah to join us once again at The JHouse and eleven14Kitchen.

Very best,

Jonathan Wise
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed it. Everything could be controlled with the IPad.
The room was tastefully furnished in a modern simplicity. We payed a higher price for a room with a balcony, which was not worth the money because it faced the parking lot and was on the ground level. If you don't mind the location between the highway and another very busy street, it's the place to stay in Greenwich. We also stayed at the Delamar, which has a much nicer location next to the harbour, yet also next to the highway. The rooms might be more classy, but they definitely don't offer the modern comfort that the J House offers. Here you get more for less money.

Room Tip: The Deluxe King on the ground level had a balcony facing the parkink lot, impossible to. You might c...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank USFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent the 4th of July at this really cool, sophisticated little hotel in Greenwich, Ct. The J House is very well priced and my first choice in the area.
It has a really suprisingly cool sexy vibe, and very nicely appointed rooms with a retro feel. One down side in the bathroom however is a remote controlled technically advanced toilet. A liitle to much effort for its purpose.
The Miami inspired pool area has cabana's and lounges and is very inviting.
The restaurant area especially the outside terrace area is a real find, we had a 3 hour lunch which was great. The general manager and staff could not have been better,(shout out to manager Jonathan!!) and made every effort to make our stay very enjoyable.

Room Tip: ask for rooms not facing parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterMmetroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at J House June 25-29 and had a great experience. The hotel is surrounded by busy roads, providing great access, but no road noise could be heard from the room. The room itself was very comfortable with a good firm king bed, a huge mirrored, flat screen TV, an empty refrigerator that we could use for beverages, etc. The bathroom was a marvel of technology with a toilet that took care of all needs - . Yes, the toilet seat went up every time we walked in front of it, but we did not find that annoying as some others have. The chocolate lab off the hotel lobby is a place for anything chocolate and we particularly enjoyed the chocolate gelato. The restaurant food is excellent and the restaurant itself is interesting as it offers the opportunity to dine inside or out. There are also two attractive bars, one inside, one out, and it is a lively scene for the 20-30 year olds. Breakfast was not included in our rate and it is expensive. The hotel is immaculately clean and bedroom and bathroom linens are of the best quality. The only minor glitch about the room was that the air conditioner was next to the bed and it was difficult to read in bed with the cold air blowing so directly onto the bed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 227, on the back side of the hotel (parking lot view) and at the end of the corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
2.6 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,471 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#3 of 3 in Greenwich
99 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
5.5 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The J House Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The J House Greenwich

Address: 1114 E Putnam Ave, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878-1306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Price Range: £150 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The J House Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenwich, CT's only modern boutique full service hotel focused on personalized experiences and hospitality. Fully renovated and opened in 2012.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The J House Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing