We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected pleasure ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The J House Greenwich
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We made our decision to spend the night at the j house at the last minute.
We were heartily greeted and delighted by the chocolate cafe and the Decore of the lobby. The staff was so kind and friendly - we were given a mini course in all the new age electronics in our room which actually worked! We loved it! We look forward to our return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Morgantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Loved the idea of turning an old Howard Johnson Inn into a hip-hotel. Arrived late on a Saturday night after a long flight. Great room. All mod cons (including the heated loo seat ...) and everything controlled by ipad. The night we arrived the place was heaving, but the subsequent 3 nights it was very quiet. We ate in the bar three times (fine, not cheap and being given a glass of sweet Reisling instead of a glass of Sauvignon Blanc - without a word - was strange and showed a lack of wine knowledge. I was told it was because the latter had "run out"!) We ate in the restaurant one night, only about 8 other diners (more staff than diners) but the service was not good. We were left with empty glasses and had to call the waiter over after 20 mins to take our order (the fab bread basket kept us going). The included breakfast is very good with a great choice.
In summary I would say the hotel was great - really good - but the restaurant and bar food need to get their acts together a bit ....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

For those familiar with the area, the JHouse is at the site of the old Howard Johnson Motor Lodge. The only connection to the old lodging is the land...everything else is new!

First, the HOTEL...

Parking is on-site free. There are parking spaces at the entrance area; HOWEVER, because the hotel restaurant/bar is THE "in-place" to be any evening, valet parking starts there at 5 PM....in which case you tell the valets you are guest and proceed to the ramp on the far right for parking at the rear lower area (having previously checked-in, otherwise drop luggage before proceeding).

The room size was OK, neither small or large, (was quiet) with all sorts of bells and whistles. It had a frig, K Cup coffee maker, safe but no microwave. There is giant flat screen wall TV in the bedroom and a smaller one smack in the middle of the bathroom mirror. There are two sets of buttons to operate the lights/shade...one set at the entry and the other on the wall by the bed(s). You can amuse yourself by playing with all the buttons. Oh, the entry room door is solid, so use your mussels to open it. The bathroom is fogged glassed in...and if you haven't before had experience with an avant-garde toilet, you are in for an experience! As you pass the commode, the lid automatically rises (gotta push another button and the seat will automatically rise). You've head the expression "...being on the hot seat"? Possibly originated from sitting on the commode at the JHouse? The seat is heated!! There are more buttons at the commode...you can spend the day trying them all. Note checkout time is 11 AM.

Continental breakfast was included in the room rate. A nice selection of bagels, bread, Danish, juices, fruit, cereals,. The on-duty waitress is there to up-sell you on a full breakfast not to replenish the breads/Danish! She'll tell you they ran out (which they didn't). Replenishing is the responsibility of the individual in the bakery to the left of the breads...so if ya need something from that display, ask him.

The hotel's "eleven14" is their very popular bar/restaurant. We did not use that facility. I am advised that their bar is the "IN-PLACE" to meet people and that their restaurant is a great place to eat. All I can tell ya is that the place is packed in the evening!

In the hotel, off the lobby, is their Chocolate Lab! It is their coffee shop. Home made sorbet and gelato plus other snacks/pastries is available from 6AM to 9PM. along with other goodies.
Tried the gelato...OK...but would pass next time.

The hotel desk staff was friendly but were not familiar with options on where to eat off-site...so suggest you visit TripAdvisor to get a handle on eatery options in the area.

Bottom line: provided the price was right, you gotta stay at the JHouse!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papaleadfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

When my wife and I checked out of the J House Hotel in Greenwich, CT this past Memorial Day, I was assured by the staff, that my Enterprise rental car would be taken care of. What a shock to see an additional week’s charge on my credit card. J House Hotel says they are not responsible. An Enterprise representative says they are as the key was eventually found with the valet. There has been no response from Enterprise HQ. The J House Hotel now under manager Jonathan Weiss after two months of phone calls, finally responded to my letter with an email: sorry, unless you can prove that our staff was at fault, not our problem. Shame on The J House Hotel and Enterprise Rental Car.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

You'll totally enjoy your room at the JHouse! Lots of hi-tech gadgets...ie, ipad, tv in mirror in bathroom, electric shades,etc. Great lighting options in the room. Super comfy bed. Nice shower. Frette bathrobe. Everything was super clean. High end. We had a deluxe king room.
Friendly and polished staff. Has a chocolate shop in the lobby and an outdoor covered patio for drinks. Hotel restaurant is called 1114 and we enjoyed our dinner, especially the housemade cheesesticks they give you as a nibbler to begin.

Also, Go left out of the hotel a few miles down Putnam Avenue into Greenwich for excellent shopping and nice breakfast spots on Greenwich Avenue.

Room Tip: You might want to request a room away from the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HaverfordColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We went for dinner at the J House last Friday and it was fantastic, great variety of menu and food was wonderful. A really enjoyable evening. We returned today with our children for brunch and were bitterly disappointed - unimaginable menu and very average food. Such a pity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank HuwJones2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The J House was such a wonderful experience for us. My husband and I were looking to get away for a night, and the J House was recommended as a nearby hot spot. We were so impressed that this high-tech jewel was right in out backyard! Clean, modern, friendly, yet surprisingly intimate and charming. The outdoor seating restaurant and bar on the patio was divine, we were able to sit and enjoy live music and truly relax over a fantastic dinner. The room was clean, modern, with a fabulous outdoor patio we could enjoy breakfast on. And the beds were soooo comfy, I always love that. Furthemore, my husband was mesmerized by the techy surprises he was able to play with in-room. TV in the bathroom mirror anyone? It was truly a treat, and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
2.6 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,449 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#3 of 3 in Greenwich
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
700 reviews
5.5 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
826 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The J House Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The J House Greenwich

Address: 1114 E Putnam Ave, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878-1306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Price Range: £162 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The J House Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenwich, CT's only modern boutique full service hotel focused on personalized experiences and hospitality. Fully renovated and opened in 2012.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The J House Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing