We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The J House Greenwich
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very comfortable high tech hotel! Beds were very comfortable. Service was wonderful. Watch out for the toilet! Awesome. Great location . Restaurant...Expensive...breakfast. Coffee was 5.00. Service very slow... All orders came out wrong. I would say don't eat there but stay there! Oh and one glass of wine was 18.00!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a truly unique and technologically advanced hotel. The rooms were clean and smartly decorated. Ipads are provided to do things like turn on the lights, open the curtains, everything at the touch of a button; even the toilet was mechanized, but my compliments stop here. My group consisted of my sister, my mom and me. My mom is 87.5 years old and walks with a walker. The only room that could accommodate us was down a few steps and then around a corner and down a hallway. Not very easy to access for her. All the electronics made my mom crazy, so perhaps older people who aren't comfortable with sort of thing won't enjoy the experience. The worst part was, however, there was absolutely no hot water in the morning; the shower was frigid, so none of us showered. When I spoke to the desk, other people were there complaining of the same thing. The manager told me he will not be able to compensate us because we paid for the room through Tingo. I really did not feel the staff were very accommodating or helpful or really even cared. Other people may really enjoy this hotel, but we will not be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank readingtutr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were very pleased with our initial experience. The staff on check in were helpful but we were trying to get a premier room and since we were not knowledgeable about the hotel we ended up getting a room facing the parking lot. Staff should have explained the hotel and our options better. We were very excited to experience the beautiful bar and restaurant but we had already made dinner reservations elsewhere and invited our guests to come back for a drink and enjoy the beautiful space. When we arrived at 9:30 PM the restaurant only had one table occupied and the bar which was very large only had 2 people seated. We went to sit down but the hostess told us we could not have a drink at the bar, we had to order food. We explained we were guests and wanted a just a drink. She was adamant that no exceptions were to be made irregardless that no-one was at the bar. We had to go sit in a lounge in another space which was not conductive to a late night drink,
since it was overly lighted. We had to apologize to our guests and they had to leave without a drink and we just went to our rooms which were nice but we would never stay here again because of,the service and our resident friends will never return either. Shame looks very nice.

Room Tip: Be very clear about what you want and expect. Staff not a lot of help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 259Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great hotel, great accommodations and great staff. We had a wonderful stay. The room was new, clean and sleek. Love the reflective flat screens and all the technology in the rooms. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Even though there was a soft opening for the restaurant and bar, breakfast was very good and inexpensive. We will have to come back when the renovations are complete and everything is open. Great location and near excellent restaurants, beaches and shops. We loved it. The public areas in the hotel are really cool and set up for quiet relaxation. The fireplace in the lounge area is cool and the decor is engaging and artsy. The bar is neat with clean lines. Shuttle service to local restaurants and shops. Looking forward to the outdoor area to be open and the warmer weather for the pool. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed there this past Wednesday. The front desk is so helpful and extremely nice. They make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms are insane !! So clean and everything is technology based. The beds are so comfortable it's like your sleeping on a pile of marshmallows. So private and a beautiful neighborhood. I stayed one night and actually left a bag behind and they were kindly enough to ship it to me (I paid for shipping for my mistake) Can't wait to plan my next trip out there !!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicollemarie0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Loved, loved, loved it! Was traveling with my soon-to-be 13 year old daughter. Great place for adults and old kids. Unfortunately, while we were staying there the hotel's restaurant and outdoor area were under renovation (was to be complete a few days after our stay). However, the staff went out of their way to ensure we remained happy and accommodated and in no way inconvienced. Exceptionally cool common areas, very artsy and modern. Plenty of nooks and cranies to get lost in if you so desire. The room was incredibly comfortable and simply fascinating with its modern amenities and clean lines. Bakery/coffee shop offered delicious pastry and beverages in a very convenient location. While we loved the environs, it was the staff that made our stay truly special. Everyone went out of their way to treat my daughter with respect and kindness, something that at some properties would be overlooked. Smiles and friendly disposition were offered by all we came into contact with. Even more above and beyond the call of duty was Anthony, a front desk lead agent/concierge. He made sure our every need was covered, making recommendations and even reservations for us as we desired. Will go back with my husband for an adult weekend. Can't wait to try the restaurant (which looked lovely in its nearly done state) and the pool area. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED PROPERTY.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooandYoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A really cool and interesting property. What an aloft Hotel should have been.

The good:
- Fully automated room, including the toilet as others have mentioned. Never used one of those, an interesting experience.
- Public spaces are very inviting and comfortable, a lot of nooks and places to escape to.
- Nice breakfast area.
- Bed was comfortable, nice sheeting.
- Restaurant and outdoor lounge look like they would be amazing . . . if they were open.

The bad:
- No notice on website that restaurant and outside lounge are going through a major renovation.
- Hotel is in a more isolated residential area with no good restaurants in the area.
- The rooms are relatively expensive for what you get. I rented a King Garden room, the "garden" essentially looks like a Maximum Security "fresh air" area. A table, a chair and high concrete walls and floors with no adornments, no decoration, no view. Miserable. They should actually charge less for these garbage rooms.
- Toilet is impossible to figure out how to flush. It did not want to flush itself if that's what it's supposed to do.
- Traveled alone, but the "fogging" on the glass to the bathroom does not go up high enough. A tall person of six feet or more can see the whole show inside without difficulty.
- Service was not at all impressive. The kids running the front desk had a blasé, "could care less" attitude. The girl in the Chocolate Bar for breakfast was attractive but she was not very engaging either.
- The room is not that large, on an upgrade you would expect a larger room and some type of pleasing view.
- The bathroom amenities are great but there is no glassware in the bathroom. The styro cup from coffee service is not a good replacement. You need glasses in the bathroom.
- No "tour" of the property or review of the amenities of the hotel when you check in. It's sometimes annoying when they go over those at a chain hotel because you already know the drill, but at a property like this, they should be promoting things on the property. To this point, I still don't know if there is a gym or a pool at this property.

Room Tip: Take one with a balcony, be advised there are no views whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwich
2.6 mi away
Delamar Greenwich Harbor Hotel
1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
Hyatt Regency Greenwich
#1 of 1 in Old Greenwich
1,448 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#3 of 3 in Greenwich
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Zero Degrees
Hotel Zero Degrees
#4 of 14 in Stamford
700 reviews
5.5 mi away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
826 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The J House Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The J House Greenwich

Address: 1114 E Putnam Ave, I-95 Exit 5, Greenwich, CT 06878-1306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Greenwich
Price Range: £163 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The J House Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greenwich, CT's only modern boutique full service hotel focused on personalized experiences and hospitality. Fully renovated and opened in 2012.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The J House Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Riverside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing