We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudest Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Griswold
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Shuttle service requires advanced reservations, but they failed to tell us this when we actually made the reservations. Instead of apologizing for the confusion the staff was extremely confrontational and rude, especially the manager Tyler Knutson. Because we did not have advanced reservations for the shuttle TO the casinos we had to take a $50 cab. The hotel is really far from Mohegan Sun! We were, however, promised a ride BACK on the shuttle from the casino to the hotel. The shuttle back conveniently broke down and when we called to inquire where it was we were spoken down to in a condescending tone by the concierge who then told us it was not his problem. They left 50 guests stuck at the casinos with no rides back on New Years Eve. Cabs were busy and hotel guests were left for 3.5 plus hours at the casino until all hours of the night and morning without so much as an apology or a discount. When we finally got a cab home, the cab driver told us that THE SHUTTLES "BREAK DOWN" ALL OF THE TIME! DO NOT STAY HERE! IT'S HORRIBLE! THE STAFF ARE RUDE, MEAN AND DISGUSTING!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griswoldct, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Since your last stay we have had a change in management. As the new general manager I strive for excellent customer service and expent no less than perfect from my staff. I'd like you to come and stay with us again and I promise you will not be disapointed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2010

For not being a big chain hotel this place is trying very hard to be as good as the big boys and you benifit by saving an avg of $50.00 less than other hotels in area. Was very surprised at how clean the overall apperance of the entire hotel was. Staff was very friendly also. I would definitley stay here again. Very Clean place.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciopryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We checked into the Americinn Griswold late in the evening after a long flight and drive, and so were sensitive to any flaws or disappointments. Thankfully the hotel provides a warm welcome, with cookies at the check in desk and a mix of classy homeliness. It's certainly a high grade above a motel, and provides very comfortable spacious rooms at a bargain rate.
The location is very convenient for travellers needing a stop between New York and northern cities, just off the freeway, and is gloriously peaceful and in a beautiful quiet leafy road.

Breakfast is great. Don't be mislead by the continental breakfast description, there is far more than just cereal on offer. We came down to cereals, donuts, muffins, pastries, bagels juices, fresh fruits, a range of coffees and a waffle making station. More than we could eat and all delicious.

Overall a bargain hotel that provides everything you could want at just a touch above the standard class.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed here for one night before starting one of the recommended scenic routes in New England (Route 169). The hotel was only a couple of miles from the recommended start point in Lisbon. We hadn't stayed in this chain of hotels before so weren't sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised to find a very spacious and comfortable room with nice modern decor. One of the nicest chain hotels we've stayed in! A continental breakfast was included - bagels, waffles, muffins etc - which was pretty good. I would definitely stay with Americinn again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewburghLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We spent one night here before heading over to Foxwoods the next day. Location is ideal – right off the highway. Staff was very friendly at check in and check out. The room and halls were very quiet even with being full - just as the hotel advertises. We had a room with 2 queen beds with a mini/fridge/microwave. Decent space for a budget motel with an extra separate sink outside bathroom. The mattresses were very firm and linens a little rough but not a big deal to us for one night. I give the room cleanliness huge pluses and minuses. The room and bathroom were extremely clean. The newer AC unit was great….wasn’t dusty or smelly. Minuses: The room was non smoking but the hallway reeked of smoke and our room had a light scent of smoke. (Gross) The remote corners of the room were very dusty and cobwebby. The carpet could use a good general vacuum. (I never understand why these hotels can’t vacuum room in-between guests.) Note: this hotel charges an optional but automatic fee for the in room safe. (?) You’ll need to request they don’t charge you at check in or a refund when checking out. The breakfast was your basic cereal, bread/donuts etc...all we need is coffee anyway. We did not use the shuttle to Foxwoods but it was about a 20 minute drive through cornfields. A little better quality then some of the other local budget motels. Overally - an ok and average stay for a gambling weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphne418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Not a bad place to stay, but it's not a luxury hotel and on the expensive side considering. I think it's probably so expensive because of the location. It was hard to sleep because the mattresses are very hard, and there was A LOT of light coming in from around the curtains (they were too short and not high up enough to block the light). There was a VERY bright light in the parking lot outside my room, so this really disrupted my sleep. This was a non-smoking room but had a musty smell, like smoke, in the bathroom. Also, this hotels touts extra-quiet walls, but I could hear the tv next door like it was in my room. The staff was nice and all in all it wasn't bad, but not great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler2010Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Clearly this is a hotel for the budget-minded traveler, but the breakfast was decent (waffles, bisquits & gravy, cereals, yogurt, fruit, juices, etc.) and the lobby quite comfortable for fellow wedding guests to bump into each other and chat. Comfortable pillows, very good wireless service in the room, cheap amenities but still, everything we needed was provided. The staff was friendly. Not a vacation destination, but good rooming.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastcoastdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Griswold
7.8 mi away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
10.7 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,414 reviews
15.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
9.2 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold

Address: 375 Voluntown Rd, Griswold, CT 06351-2532
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Griswold
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Griswold
Price Range: £83 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold is your destination for comfortable, friendly and affordable accommodations near the I-395 business corridor. Visitors to the Mohegan Sun, Foxwoods Resort Casinos and MGM Grand Casino at Foxwoods will enjoy our unbeatable hotel value and free hourly casino shuttle every weekend. (Shuttle reservations must be made in advance.) Relax and enjoy yourself gambling, or taking in a concert or event while we take care of your transportation.(Please contact the hotel direct for shuttle times.) Sports fans will also enjoy our convenient location near venues for the Connecticut Defenders baseball team and Connecticut Sun basketball team. When you're not busy at an event, you'll enjoy our comfortable rooms and vast amenities: a heated indoor pool, hot tub, fireplace and whirlpool suites, free high-speed Internet, new flatscreen TVs in each guest room and more. Start each morning out right with our free hot, home-style breakfast before exploring the Griswold and Norwich areas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Griswold
Americinn Lodge & Suites Griswold Hotel Griswold
Americinn Hotel Griswold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing