We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great BBQ”
Review of Chester's Barbecue

Chester's Barbecue
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Craving BBQ after calling on Electric Boat, I was given a recommendation by a couple of Navy personnel who frequent Chesters when in port. Good call. Service was quick, BBQ was delicious. Many options from combo platters to sandwich combos. Choice of about 10 sides to go with your meal.

Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tolson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    57
    21
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Solid BBQ in New England”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for a late lunch and was impressed. Chester's has a great variety of BBQ meats and sides. Not a traditional sit down restaurant, but very good. Their pulled pork and smoked turkey is tender and cooked perfectly. The chicken wings have great smokey flavor but were a little greasy. If you crave BBQ, give them a try.

Helpful?
Thank stevekaz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansonia, CT
Level Contributor
211 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good barbecue”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I'm normally not a huge fan of barbecue but usually go because my partner really enjoys it. I liked this place because the meat was not swimming in sauce and the sauce was not super sweet. They have extra sauces available if you wish to add more. I had the chopped pork sandwich on a soft roll with a side on beans and soda for $9.00 . The place is huge, it takes up 2 storefronts in a strip mall. They must get really busy. We went here for a late lunch and there was a steady stream of folks still coming in. I would most definitely go back if I am up in the Groton area again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank javaandjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“underwhelmed”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was quite possibly the worst meal I've ever eaten. The ribs were dry. The vegetables were overcooked, the mac & cheese was bland. Just a crappy meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 866andreab866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding BBQ”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

When you're craving good authentic BBQ...this is the place!
Great variety, great atmosphere, and the owners are so friendly!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YeOldeStonecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chester's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Chester's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing