We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn - Groton
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It was really a pleasant stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Forgot to bring my shaving kit and the staff provided me complimentary razor and shaving cream on request. Great breakfast served in the morning. Excellent location very close to I-95 and Walgreens and CVS stores nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 496umeshd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Expensive for what you get in return. Convenient to i95. Breakfast was hot, but majortiy of products were taken from freezer. Pool was a nice feature. AC worked beyond well. Overall clean and well maintained

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Herb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for a weekend to visit and enjoy the Mystic, CT area. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and was able to get me in the right type of room after the Hilton App horribly screwed up my room preferences. The room was very clean, and quiet. Wi-Fi was just okay. Complementary Breakfast was good...it was a hot breakfast. The room was a little dated, but it was all good. Bed was comfortable. Rates were a lot better than other hotels in the area. Great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here while playing in the War at the Shore tournament here in CT. The hotel is easily located right of off I95 and about 5 minutes from the ferry landing in New London. It's close to all the ball fields and just minutes away from Mystic Seaport, Old Mystic, the aquarium, etc.

It's hard to go on and on about your average hotel but:

Pros:
-rooms were spartan but clean.
-free WiFi and rooms have flat panel TVs and movies to order
-nice pool
-washing machines a plus
-friendly staff
-free coffee in the lobby which was actually very good; oranges, bananas, KoolAid and chocolate mints and the newspaper
-nice pool

Negs:
-we've had worse beds but if you like a firm mattress, not the best sleep in the world
-breakfast was actually better than many other similar hotels but you know the deal: slow toaster, rubbery pancake batter for the ONE waffle iron that you have to wait online for, stale bagels and muffins, overly sweet fruit juice from the machine, greasy bacon, rubbery eggs, but, hey...the sausage was good
-your views from the hotel are the road, the roof and the parking lot lol

If you are on Long Island, the Cross Sound Ferry from Orient to New London was well worth the cost. It may not be quicker but I heard some folks coming up from Long Island were stuck in 4 hours worth of traffic. If you are playing in the tournament, consider an 845 pm Ferry home on Sunday since the playoff games start at 5.

Room Tip: Rooms on the northside are away from the main road but didn't find noise much of an issue on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flr9003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Groton Hampton Inn is a great place to stay if visiting the Navy Base or Coast Guard Academy! The ammenities and services are outstanding. From the complimentary breakfast to the snacks offered each afternoon, the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the facilities make this the place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

just passing through and doing a little sightseeing locally as well needed a place to get some sleep. did not have a reservation and it was not a problem. will definitely be staying here again. and I recommend it to friends. trips in the future that require an overnight or longer I will make it a point to find the closest Hampton Inn

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Two night here during recent visit. Our adjoining rooms (NON-SMOKING) were located right above the designated smoking area outside. Any time someone lit a cigarette, the smoke came right into our room. The first night, a group of 25+ little league parents chain smoked cigarettes and cigars - the hotel's only solution was giving us air freshener, which did not address our primary concern about the smoke's affect on our infant. When we inquired about changing rooms, we were informed that adjoiuning rooms are all right above the smoking station and that they would not move the station to elsewhere in front of the building, so the problem persisted.

Saturday evening the hotel hosted several little league teams and their families. After some of the kids went to bed, many of the parents headed to the lobby or tables outside to smoke and drink while kids ran amok inside the hotel. The well-intentioned evening staff had no means of controlling the situation and were forced to call the Groton police to try to control the situation - not the most comforting way of handling things.

Those two issues aside, the hotel was fine, though breakfast was poor enough that we ate out the second morning and it was of slightly lower quality than other Hampton Inns in which we have stayed. Day staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank 30Cros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.5 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Groton

Address: 300 Long Hill Rd, Groton, CT 06340-3738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range: £78 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great amenities at our Groton, CT hotel near Mystic, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn - Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Groton Hotel Groton
Groton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing