We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent great service”
Review of Octagon

Octagon
Reserve with OpenTable
Octagon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$70
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located just outside Mystic, CT, Octagon prides itself on offering the finest steaks and freshest seafood everyday. Our menu changes seasonally and celebrates local ingredients harvested right here in our beautiful state of Connecticut. To our pleasure, our guests are travelers from around the globe and neighborhood locals. From our open grill and wine cellar to our one of a kind artwork and glass sculptures, we truly believe dining should be an experience, not just a meal.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistent great service”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Amy and Roger always welcoming, great service and attitude Good drafts beers usually interesting menu a selections

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rockrimmonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Octagon, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Rockrimmonroad!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind words regarding Amy and Roger during your experience here at the Octagon Steakhouse.

We hope that the next time you're in the mood for some more interesting dishes, you come back!

All the best,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    62
    43
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hebron
Level Contributor
141 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet great”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Breakfast buffet exceeds expectations. Food is fresh and replenished regularly. Staff is attentive and friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Octagon, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Theresa A!

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our breakfast buffet. We try to make it the absolute best because we know that it's the most important meal of the day!

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about the Octagon to help inform the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Kindest Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Extremely friendly service and good food”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Roger was our server and was very knowledgeable and made good recommendations. He was friendly and the food was good.

Helpful?
Thank MATT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Octagon, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your experience at Octagon Steakhouse! Roger really enjoys his job, and it sounds like you could tell from your experience with him!

We hope that the next time you're looking for a fantastic meal and are in the area, you come back to Octagon and try some of the other dishes we offer (I myself am partial to the shrimp ceviche!).

Best Regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meals and service at the Octagon”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Octagon is a must if your're looking for a quality steak in the Groton/Mystic area. The menu has much more to offer like the Tuna Street Tacos. One of my favorites. The Dragon chowder or the Sirloin chili are great starters. The Octagon is a great place to bring the whole family to dine with the variety of selections on the menu. The Octagon staff is second to none in the Groton/Mystic area. Always polite, professional and welcoming whether you dine in the restaurant or the lounge.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Limaruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, Special Events Manager at Octagon, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Limaruss,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of Octagon at Mystic Marriott Hotel and Spa! I have to agree with you completely - the Dragon Chowder is one of my favorite items on the menu hands down!

We look forward to serving you the next time you come to Octagon for dinner.

Warm Regards,
Amanda Toner
Special Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“ok not great”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I decided to give this place a try, we were staying at the Mariott overnight and it was the only restaurant in the hotel. I was surprised at the prices 10 for a glass of wine. My husband was going to order the scallops but being we were at a steakhouse, he figured he should order steak. He ordered the bison skirt steak medium and what they gave him was rare. He is not one to complain so he ate some of it, but I stopped him because I can see he was struggling with cutting it and the meat was purple. Our waitress brought it to the manager's attention. They gave us complimentary dessert. My dinner was good I ordered the salmon and the roast pork belly appetizer was delicious. Overall, good service. Just too pricey for the quality of food you get.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sellyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHGGuestService, General Manager at Octagon, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sellyna,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and give your honest comments. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your meal and appetizer. Bison is one of my favorite local products and I hope it was recooked to your husband’s liking.

We hope you have the opportunity in the future to try more items on our menu to experience the top quality products we offer.

Best regards,
Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Octagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing