We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pasta Like it Should Be”
Review of Paul's Pasta Shop

Paul's Pasta Shop
Ranked #1 of 120 Restaurants in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Groton, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pasta Like it Should Be”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful scenery, excellent pasta and great atmosphere. This is the way Pasta should be. Don't miss out on their fettuccine alfredo and for the love of god, don't let your eyes tell you you can finish a large portion in one sitting!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfalkenavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    105
    27
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best fettuccine ever”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The fettuccine alfredo is awesome. This is a small, not fancy, cozy restaurant, on the Thames River. The prices are reasonable. The garlic salad dressing is yummy and the cakes look fantastic. You can also buy uncooked fresh pasta and sauces to go. Sorry Pasta Vita...Paul's is getting it done!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SK06475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pasta Done Right!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My most recent visit had me ordering the small size which was more than sufficient to satisfy my appetite and not waste food. Have dined here on many occasions. Summertime on the outside deck offers breezes from the Thames River and people enjoying water activities. We had a large family group that was well attended by staff and no one complained about their food. If dining inside, note that patron voices can be loud and I suggest grabbing the front window table to avoid feeling irritated by the chatter. Yes, the wait can be long but one will not be disappointed once "in the door". Watching staff make pasta can be entertaining for little ones.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GARLIC !!!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family and I have been to Paul's Pasta on several occasions. My 16 year old son and I just can't get enough of the tossed salad with their homemade Garlic Dressing !!! It is awesome!!! They sell their dressings to go and sometimes we do that too. Their garlic bread is one of the best I've ever tasted and their pastas are all homemade and cooked to order. Perfect! At times it can get very cramped because of the layout of the restaraunt but the staff help to make things not so noticeable. What's also really neat is you can watch them making and cutting the pasta right up front as soon as you come through the door. I would definately give this restaraunt a thumbs up!!! The Vanner Family

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Homemade Pasta”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We make it a habit to go to Paul's each time we visit our son at the Coast Guard Academy. The pasta and sauces are amazing. The garlic bread is out of this world. We usually have to wait for a table which speaks to its popularity. They have good wine as well. We highly recommend Paul's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CincyBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paul's Pasta Shop also viewed

 

Been to Paul's Pasta Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing