We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfied !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Olympic Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed here for a family wedding in New London. Had requested adjoining rooms, and they were waiting for us when we got there, even though they were not guaranteed to us at initial booking !! Rooms were well equipped, clean, beds were very comfortable. Check out was 12 noon which really surprised us. Usually hotels want you out by 11, so this was an added bonus for us. The breakfast was just wonderful. Had everything we could have wanted, and the kids were happy(nothing else counts !! ) My only complaint would be that it states "heated pool". The pool was clean and big enougfh but COLD !!!!! No way was it heated. The kids braved it but I could not take it so ended up staying out . Would have been a perfect 5 had it been heated, but gave it a 4 as a result. I would however highly recommend this hotel for anyone coming to the New London/Groton area. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnaloub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

I read all the reviews before staying here and was a little worried becuase they were not very good. However, we were headed to Mohegan and this hotel seemed like they had it all for a good price...and they did! No it isn't the BEST hotel room in the area but it is good. The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and accomodating. There was a fridge, micro and coffee maker in the room. Free coffee and cookies around 4pm in the lobby. We took the FREE shuttle to Mohegan there and back it was great, easy on and easy off. About a 15 minute ride through the woods. Our room was clean and average size. The beds were ok and the bath room was clean. Pool area was good, clean and no kids. Elevators were fast and the restarant there was actually VERY good. We ordered dinner there and took it to our room, I even when down and told them how good it was. Breakfast was ok, nothing fancy but filled my belly. My only complaints were it was slightly out dated, there was one large water stain on our room ceiling and the walls were VERY thin. For the price and the breakfast and shuttle I would deffinately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sweetp9994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The hotel is affordable and our room was clean. Close to Mystic and has a shuttle on Friday and Saturday night to Mohegan Sun.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank getaway999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is a great hotel for the money. We saw Bob Seger at Mohegan, but the cost of a room there was off the charts. Shuttle arrived on time on both ends, room was clean, front desk staff helpful, comfy beds. What else do you need?????

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwolympicinn, Owner at Best Western Olympic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at our property and we sure appreciate your nice review.
We hope you enjoyed the Bob Seger Show.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We are delighted you were happy with the accommodations and service here at the Best Western Olympic Inn. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write the review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Bus tours for casinos. Very good breakfast. Dated property.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveL114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwolympicinn, Owner at Best Western Olympic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thanks for your nice comments, we do cater to bus tours, they love our low rates, the included breakfast buffet, and the FREE shuttle to Mohegan Sun.
Thank you again for taking the time. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had 9 rooms reserved. When I walked up to the desk they handed me envelopes for each room with key cards, breakfast tickets and a welcome letter for each room. Check in took less than 1 minute. Rooms and bathrooms are a little small but clean. Indoor pool was great for kids to unwind. Parking is tight for oversized vehicles. Internet requires cables available for free at the front desk. Connection was quick and service fast. Check out was easy. Breakfast was served in their in hotel restaurant, and included six hot dishes plus the standard cold items. China plates, no paper or foam. Front desk was very helpful on every request regardless of evening or morning shift.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youthtripplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwolympicinn, Owner at Best Western Olympic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
Thanks for your nice comments, we do emphasize guest service as a top priority. We are family owned and operated. Nobody cares more than an owner, and an owner will always be on property. We strive to treat each guest like family, we believe this practice of providing outstanding service and superior customer care is what sets us apart from our competitors.
We look forward to seeing you again for your next stay. .
Thank you again for taking the time. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Warm Regards,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We arrived in the afternoon on a Thursday. The hotel looked fairly underbooked, judging by the parking lot. The lobby was inviting, spacious and well appointed with comfortable seating. We were greeted very promptly by the very friendly front desk personnel. We were checked in in no time and were given a very nice room.

The room was clean and bright and relatively spacious with two double beds, however, we had a slight problem of not having grab bars around the commode in the bathroom. This causes someone with mobility problems to need assistance after using the facilities. As I was traveling with my elderly mother, we requested a more handicapped friendly room and were switched immediately and without hassle. However, the second room, while having a larger bathroom, also did not have grab bars in the toilet area. Fortunately, this bathroom had the sink closer to the commode which made the sink useful as something to grab on to. I did not understand the omission of the bars, as my sister's room, which had a single king bed and was also handicapped accessible, had bars in the toilet area.

I also was not impressed that the bathroom sink was only a sink...no vanity top to place toiletries on. There was a tiered glass shelving unit with the complimentary toiletries, but its placement was too far away from the sink to be useful while washing up, brushing teeth or doing other grooming that requires using stuff. Other than that, the room itself was fine.

There is free wi-fi in the lobby, restaurant and pool area. The rooms have free internet, but not wi-fi. You can plug in your own ethernet cable if you travel with one, or get one from the front desk. The rooms have refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers --they give you a pack of coffee but no tea bags: but when requested, they were promptly supplied. The room price included a free breakfast buffet, which had standard fare--eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, french toast, assorted cereals & yogurt.

The hotel has a full service restaurant & bar and there are many places to eat just up and down the road from the hotel. Dunkin Donuts next door. Every staff member we encountered greeted us with a smile and a good evening or good morning. There is a pool, sauna and exercise area, which we didn't have time to take advantage of, but I scoped it out for the purposes of this review. The area was secure (you need a room key to enter), and the pool and hot tub area were immaculate and well lit. The exercise room has a few machines, which looked to be new and in good condition.

I would stay here again if I needed to be in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwolympicinn, Owner at Best Western Olympic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Thank you so much for your thorough and kind comments. We DO have a separate handicapped toilet surround device with grab bars all around. I'm sorry we didn't offer that to you.
We are delighted that you were pleased with the accommodations and service here at the Best Western Olympic Inn. We strive to treat each guest like family, we believe this practice of providing outstanding service and superior customer care is what sets us apart from our competitors. We look forward to seeing you again for your next stay.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.5 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#2 of 14 in Groton
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
5.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Olympic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Olympic Inn

Address: 360 Route 12, Groton, CT 06340-2930
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range: £78 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Olympic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Olympic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympic Hotel Groton
Best Western Groton
Groton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing