We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really OLD Needs UPGRADE BAD!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Olympic Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This Hotel Looks Nice From The Outside But the Rooms Are 1980's Circa. I mean Old and ran Down. The Room Had A Bad Smell Like Stale Or Mildew. I Read A lot Of Reviews Before I Came And Didn't think It Would be That Bad, But It Was. The Bathroom Was So Small When I Opened The Door It Just Missed Hitting The Toilet. I was Scared To Sleep On The Bed, But I Had To Since I Was on An Prepaid Trip. All They Need is A Modern Make Over With All New rooms And It Would be Great. Breakfast Could Use Some turkey & Beef Products Since Everyone Doesn't Eat Pork. But The Staff Was Very Awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwolympicinn, Owner at Best Western Olympic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Tash,


Thank you for your completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future..
Issues of cleanliness are taken seriously; our housekeeping staff has just received an award for a perfect score on our latest inspection from Best Western International. There have been several guests in that room since your stay and they brought up no issues. We have VERY satisfied guests staying 45, 60 nights or more. They love it here, the friendliness of the staff, all the extra amenities at no charges, etc. Perhaps if you had stayed longer, you would've been more satisfied with our property. I'm sorry we didn't leave you with that warm, fuzzy feeling as well.
We would like to inform you of some exciting improvements to our property; In the past two years, we've replaced all wallpaper and most carpets. We are currently installing brand new carpeting in the rest of our rooms and in the process of replacing all our mattress sets, and installing brand new 32" Flat Screen TVs and furniture in all rooms. In our fitness center, new equipment has been added. As a previous guest, we are prepared to keep you coming back by continuously improving our rooms and service to you.

If I can be of any assistance in the future; please don't hesitate to contact me directly regarding discounted room rates or anything at all at 860-445-8000. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Me and my boyfriend were looking for a simple, clean, cheap motel that would be near sightseeing areas. This place had exactly what we were looking for: TV, refrigerator, safe, coffee table, sofa, a pool and a jacuzzi. Best of all it was near the casinos. It's also near a Walmart which made it convenient. We had a nice low maintenance time, and even got a free upgrade for a king size bed. If you're looking for a fancy/romantic atmosphere this might not for you, but if you're looking for a good value place to stay, this is definitely it. Also love the restaurant downstairs, so convenient and had good cheap food.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwolympicinn, Owner at Best Western Olympic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Sue,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We would also like to inform you of some exciting improvements to our property; We are currently installing brand new carpeting in the remaining rooms, in the process of replacing all our mattress sets, and installing brand new 32" Flat Screen TVs in all rooms. In our fitness center, new equipment has been added. As a previous guest, we are genuinely devoted to keep you coming back by continuously improving our product; our rooms and service to you.
If I can be of any assistance in the future; please don't hesitate to contact me directly regarding discounted room rates or anything at all at 860-445-8000. Please mention you are a returning guest. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We recently stayed at this motel because it was chosen by friends for their wedding room block. It was certainly adequate for a brief stay, but the place is otherwise pretty rundown and outdated. The room was clean and spacious, but the bathroom was on the small side. We had a third floor king sized room that was equipped with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The linens were clean. Staff was friendly and polite.

We all had the hot breakfast buffet in the morning and it was perfectly fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracylesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Overall not a bad place to stay. Pros: Very nice and helpful staff. Clean bathroom, linens, bedding. Cons: Extremely run down, e.g. cracked whirlpool badly repaired, bathroom sink counter pulling away from the wall, ceiling tiles in pool area had signs of mold and water damage. Every interaction with every member of the staff of this hotel was exceptional – it's unfortunate that the money isn't spent repairing basic problems. It's a decent and clean place to sleep but not worth more than $89 a night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Enjoyed this place a few years ago, on a long weekend. We chose this location because we were going to the casinos and also to Mystic, so it was a great spot to stay. We had a suite, and it was just what we needed. The beds were comfy and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichMcCluskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Booked this hotel for a one night stay over the internet. We left with mixed impressions. The building itself looked pretty good from the outside but the rug in the hotel lobby was filthy. Our room was a good size and the linens were good but the small fridge was unpluged so the carpet in front of it was wet, I guess the run off of a defrost. The bathroom was clean but the sink counter had started to pull away from the wall. The combination bar/restaurant was small and the floor could have been cleaner. The hot food at the breakfast buffet was mostly gone when we arrived and there did not seem to be visible effort to get it filled up. The staff was helpful both in the restaurant and at the front desk. The hotel was packed, the parking lot was full and had to drive around to find a space in the rear lot. Did not have a chance to use the pool or hot tub due to time but it looked clean and maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We arrived there at around 2 in the morning after going to Mohegan Sun and it took us at least 20 minutes to find the place. When we got there they checked us in right away, and we went to our room. When we got to our room and opened the door, the stench was unbearable! We asked for another room, in which they gave to us, but when we went to go into the room, the door was jammed. We asked for ANOTHER room, and it smelled horrible too and we just gave up! The TV didn't work. The light fixture was falling off, the doorknob to the bathroom was falling off. The light switch in the bathroom was disgustingly old and dirty. The bathroom was dirty. I didn't feel comfortable going under the covers, so I slept on top of the covers. The air conditioner is ugly, old, and dirty. The bed was horrible, it was like a trampoline. Never ever going there again!

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara_TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwolympicinn, Owner at Best Western Olympic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Tara,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Hotels always face the dilemma when purchasing mattresses of which level of firmness to buy. Some guests prefer a firmer mattress. We’re sorry if this was uncomfortable for you. Issues of cleanliness are taken seriously, our housekeeping staff has just received an award for a perfect score on our latest inspection from Best Western International There have been several guests in that room since your stay and they brought up no issues. We have VERY satisfied guests staying 45, 60 nights or more. They love it here, the friendliness of the staff, all the extra amenities at no charges, etc. Perhaps if you had stayed longer, you would've been more satisfied with our property. I'm sorry we didn't leave you with that warm, fuzzy feeling as well.
We would also like to inform you of some exciting improvements to our property; we now have wireless Internet throughout the hotel, as well as keeping hard-wired modems in the rooms. We are currently installing brand new carpeting and in the process of replacing all our mattress sets, and installing brand new 32" Flat Screen TVs in all rooms. As a previous guest, we are prepared to keep you coming back by continuously improving our rooms and service to you. If I can be of any assistance in the future; please don't hesitate to contact me directly regarding discounted room rates or anything at all at 860-445-8000. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Mr. Christie Armaos
Vice President / Owner
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.5 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#2 of 14 in Groton
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Olympic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Olympic Inn

Address: 360 Route 12, Groton, CT 06340-2930
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range: £85 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Olympic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Olympic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Olympic Hotel Groton
Best Western Groton
Groton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing