We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better to Pay a little more”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife, son and I spent a week here while visiting relatives. We booked the room as part of a package with airfare and a rental car. The hotel is very close to our relatives and seemed to be a bargain.
Unfortunately the room smelled a little off (possibly mildew). The pillows were so badly stained and spotted that you could clearly see how bad they were through the pillow cases. The office was able to exchange three of the four with marginally cleaner pillows but then they ran out.
The room had two queen beds which was fine for the three of us adults. Unfortunately they would only have two sets of towels in the room. It required a nightly trip to the office in order to get a third set of towels. Every night we made at least one trip to the office for towels or other missing items. One day all the soap was removed from the bathroom and none was left....
The room was pretty large and included a small refrigerator and microwave but no coffee maker. My wife mentioned the lack of coffee maker to the manager when she talked to him on the 2nd day and he told her he had removed them to take to his other motel (Super 8). What he didn't mention and we didn't find out until the fifth day was that they had coffee available in the office in the morning. It would have been nice to know.
The staff was generally friendly and would try and provide us with whatever was missing each day but it took regular trips to the Office to get what we needed. They even neglected to make up the room at all one day!
I don't think I'll ever stay at this hotel again. This was my first experience with a Rodeway Inn, I don't know if it's typical of the chain or not but I'd be very hesitant to stay at another one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence W, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Greg,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rodeway Inn and taking time out to write a review for us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We take our guest feedback seriously and will try our very best to make improvements in the areas you’ve mentioned. We will continue to offer exceptional service to ensure a great experience for our future guest. We hope you can give us another chance in the future as we continue to make improvements to our property.

Regards,
Rodeway Inn
Groton, CT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

For under $50 we had a large, comfortable room. The bathroom was in good condition. We enjoyed our showers. WiFi was fine. The staff was friendly and made us feel welcome. The room was quiet and we slept undisturbed. It would have been a five-star experience but for one problem.

We'd requested a non-smoking room and it was confirmed when we checked in. But when we entered the room there was a stale tobacco tinge to the air. One of the chairs had a cigarette burn. We opened the back window and the door to air it out a bit. Then I checked several doors on both floors of the property and found that none were labeled as non-smoking. We concluded that changing rooms would be unlikely to improve things, since it appeared that there were no actual non-smoking rooms.

Bottom line is that we were comfortable, so I don't want to overstate the tobacco issue. Cranking the air conditioner to lower the room temperature improved the air quality and after a while we didn't notice it unless we went outside and returned. We'd probably stay here again if we needed a room in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I'd rate the motel a 2.5. Went to Block Island for the day and needed an inexpensive place to sleep for 1 night. We arrived at 10pm and left at 8am the next morning. For what we needed and the price we paid, the motel worked well. It is a 5 minutes drive from the New London CT Ferry. Hit Mohegan Sun in the morning and it was a short drive (approx. 15 minutes away). Room was clean, but king bed was uncomfortable and only had 2 pillows. For an 8 hour stay, $116 was worth the price in this area. Make sure you request a non-smoking room.

Room Tip: Request Non Smoking if you dont' smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HuntersWife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at this motel and found it to be very nice. The double room was very spacious and clean. It came with a refrigerator which most times you have to pay extra for. It had been recently painted and the bathroom was like brand new. New HD tv. Its location is excellent to New London seaport, Mystic and the casinos. It is a quiet location. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick the double beds room very spacious and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rjbtlb294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The room and overall appearance of the motel was very bland especially considering that it had just been through a major renovation. The room had no wall art or decorations, drab curtains, bed spreads and carpeting, making it a very dull and uninviting room. There were no standard amenities such as coffee pot and iron & ironing board in the room. The room was clean however. The bathroom was adequate and clean as well. Given the fact that this motel was "no frills", I would have expected the price per night to be well below $150 (with taxes). I was glad we were only there for one overnight and checked out early the next morning.

Room Tip: Don't expect much more than a bed and shower from this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livinlife0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this place 3 days in advance and it was the best value in the Groton mystic area upon arrival we were very pleased with how clean the building is and when we went to our room it was practically brand new fresh paint flat screan tv very clean carpet no "motel" smell just clean and larger than we expected overall great experience we would definitely stay here every time we are in the area the front desk staff very friendly

Room Tip: King bed no smoking excellent value large room very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikechir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a great alternative to the overly priced Mohegan Sun, then this is the place to go.

My friends and I stayed here when we went to see Lady Gaga at Mohegan Sun. The rooms that night were going for $800 at Mohegan. If you want to save $700+ this is the place to stay! The Rodeway Inn is conveniently located and was only 15 min away from the Casino.

We got 2 rooms and were very impressed with both rooms. The rooms were newly renovated, clean and comfortable. Each room had a flat screen tv, refrigerator and were very spacious.

I will continue staying here for future trips to the casino.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BYSuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
0.4 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#7 of 14 in Groton
707 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Waterford
Rodeway Inn Waterford
#2 of 5 in Waterford
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Groton
Motel 6 Groton
#8 of 14 in Groton
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 425 Bridge St, Groton, CT 06340-3723 (Formerly Knights Inn Groton/Mystic Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range: £30 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Groton
Groton Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing