We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean comfortable hotel.”
Review of Motel 6 Groton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Groton
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Budd Lake NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice clean comfortable hotel.”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Quality Inn and found it to be clean, comfortable and well located.
The staff was very helpful. It is near Stonington, Mystic, New London etc.Great hotel for the money and right on the main road right near Route 95

Room Tip: We had a room in the back so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catbite4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    60
    57
    32
    24
See reviews for
68
71
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Usually I read reviews before booking a hotel, but I was in a rush, so I figured Quality Inns are OK.
Not this one. Check-in was very fast and the woman checking us in was very friendly. She gave us a room around the back of the building so we were thinking less cars driving by will be nice. Off to a go start, then we opened the door to our room. It has a weird smell like someone had tried to cover up a odor with too much air freshener. We laughed at the heights of the bed as they only came up to my knee and I am 5'3". My son laid down on the bed, then lifted the blankets to see if there was a mattress or just plywood. The beds were hard and extremely uncomfortable.

Could not help but notice stains all over the carpet and one humongous stain around the air conditioner unit. Should have asked for a different room right then,but we did not. Within 10 minutes of being in the room we found 3 different species of spiders. Yuck! Could not help but notice that the wallpaper was bubbled up in many places around the room.

The bathroom was nice, plenty of towels.So I decide to check out the rest of the inn.The place could use some fixing up. I find the pool and no one is in it. So I go in to see how the water feels and now I no why no one is in it. The water is dirty. I have never seen black water in a pool before. I could see the top two steps to get in and then nothing. The irony is the huge picture in front of the inn telling you to come and enjoy the indoor swimming pool.

Nope would never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Groton hotels

Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was clean and a great value. It is about 10 minutes away from Mohegan Sun and about a quarter of the price to stay there. Also less than half the price of many of the hotels right near Mohegan. It is also pretty close to the beach in New London so it is a good location in the summer. Definitely worth the price and I would stay there again if I was going to Mohegan for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NL814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our group decided to stay for one night in less expensive hotel while touring Groton-Mystic area.
While otel looks run down the rooms were clean and comfortable. Front desk accommodated all requests our group had. Breakfast was not as good as expected.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

For the money, there's no reason you shouldn't stay here. Aside from the occasional dust bunny and run down atmosphere, if you're looking for something cheap you got it here. The hotel staff is pretty relaxed, and the hotel wasn't very occupied when I stayed so it was very quiet. The breakfast kinda sucked, with only primarily waffles and cereal, but hey we only made $40 a night what do you expect. The location of this hotel was great. We didn't try the pool. The shower took forever to get warm and wouldn't stay warm for long but we dealt. The TV was nice, A/C worked great....JUST DO IT.

Room Tip: Higher floored rooms, you have to walk around the building to get to the front. Kinda annoying. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreviews7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night so we could play bingo at a near bye casino the quality inn is a old style motor inn (there are several in the area) where you enter from the outside we didn't want to stay in a more expensive place seeing we would probably spend little time there just to sleep bed was clean comfortable bathroom small clean recently redone decent shower hot water if you want a cheap 2 star motor inn its not a bad choice for a night or two nothing within walking distance to eat as its on a back road which is adjacent to rt 95 20 min to fox woods if you take the back road through mystic beware its a very curvy road would stay here again if it was for a night

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shemp56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

For a property that has been in service as long as this place has things were clean working and comfortable. Our room may have been recently updated as all our amenities were in good working order. The front desk staff is very pleasant, customer/guest oriented and have an excellent knowledge of the area. This property is usually lower priced than other hotels in the CHOICE chain that are in the area and is an excellent value. The pool had crystal clear water and the ample breakfast was typical of what Choice offers. All in all I would look to stay here again when I return to this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g-man41559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groton hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Groton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#8 of 14 in Groton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.8 mi away
Best Western Olympic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Groton

Property: Motel 6 Groton
Address: 404 Bridge St, Groton, CT 06340-3709 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Groton CT is conveniently located off of I-95. Enjoy our indoor pool, meeting room, coin laundry, truck parking, and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. We also offer jacuzzi tubs in select rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Groton
Quality Inn Groton
Groton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing