We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What was expected”
Review of Motel 6 Groton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Groton
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Groton
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
356 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“What was expected”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Needed a room of the night, this was available, and not expensive. It needs an overhaul, heard everything in other rooms. Not good .....especially when traveling with kids. Shower was ok...beds were clean...to the naked eye. I would not stay here again unless I had to.....service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    60
    57
    32
    24
See reviews for
68
71
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Quality Inn in Groton was clean, comfortable, and the best value around for traveling with 5 people. This was much cheaper than staying in Mystic, CT, only a few miles away. We went with 2 adults, 1 teenager, and 2 children. For around $81.00, we got a room with 2 double beds and a roll-away. But we almost walked out when we saw that there were double beds, and not queen-size beds (my mistake--they don't have 2 queen-bed rooms). But we stayed, and I am glad that we did. The mattresses were very comfortable, even on the roll-away, and they were roomy enough for 2 people. There was even an indoor swimming pool, which the children enjoyed. The bedroom and bathroom were clean, and the breakfast was decent. The hotel could use some updating, but what do expect for the price? Also, we met the owner, and he was very accommodating and pleasant. There were only 2 downsides: the catwalks need re-doing (and there seemed to be a lot of bugs on the outdoor catwalks), and the wi-fi did not work in our room--but there is wi-fi in the lobby. All in all, a great value.

Room Tip: One side of the building is supposed to be strictly non-smoking rooms, so ask for that side if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Let me start by saying the younger woman at the Front Desk is one of the best customer service persons I've seen in a while and I travel a lot. The hotel needs updating having said that we found all the staff to be very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Groton hotels

Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked this room for one night because it was a girl's get-away and we only needed a place to stay after a shop-'till-you-drop day. Premier Outlets and Clinton Crossings are both located very close. We paid for room package that included the shuttle to Mohegan Sun, which is also close. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. Check-in was pretty quick. The room didn't have a fridge or microwave so make sure to ask for them if you want them. Beds were very comfortable. Complimentary breakfast was decent. The pool was undergoing repair so we didn't check that out. I would definitely stay again for just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

i decided to stay overnight after a beach day. booked two rooms through priceline at a very reasonable price for my budget. however, when we got to our rooms i was expecting to find two beds in each room. i was wrong and there was only one queen in each. when i called to see if they had a non smoking 2 beds available, they said yes but it was considered an "upgrade" and charged me 15.00 more for the room. Both rooms had some mold in the bathtub, and carpets had dirt/dust which made it hard to sleep when the allergies kicked in. the room itself was bigger that average. The A/C didn't seem to work properly and it was warm. the pool was too cold so we didn't really stay in it. the curtain wasn't wide enough to cover the window so morning daylight shines in early. there was a frosted window above the door and the lights from outside kind of lit up the room at night. Front desk staff was very cheerful and pleasant.

Room Tip: if you have allergies consider another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ginab059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Went down for a baseball tourney-War at the Shore. It was 4th of July wknd and most hotels were booked so we took this place. After arrival, our room was situated in the rear of the hotel. Our first impression was "what have we gotten ourselves into" because there was someone standing outside with their curtains and door open on our walk to our room which was right next door. The room was sizable but a little dated, small bathroom and no closet space. It was fine for 2 nights. The beds were comfy and ac worked well.
After we settled, we went to the pool area to find it filled with mostly chlorine(we could smell it in the lobby) Noticed the water was also a bit cloudy and it was really tiny with lots of kids yelling and screaming. Once we returned to the room, we also noticed the room next door had about 6 or 7 teenagers in it. At this point they were all hanging outside, well, being teenagers. That included lots of noise and running around, some cursing, etc. We opted in for some PlayStation and online movie time. Sleep was fine as the noised stopped around 1am. Next day, went to our game for 11am. Came back around 5:40pm and rested,as the kids hanging out were away, it seemed. There were smokers hanging out over the balconys, which should probably be law they move smoking downstairs. When we opened our door, the smoke entered into our room. One of us has asthma. At around 10pm the loud crowd, as I call them decided to play some sort of Frisbee game right near our vehicle. We then just decided to head to the bowling alley which is around the corner, to get away from the noise and drinking in the parking lot. This was 11pm. We returned around 1am and things had settled down a bit. Earlier we'd decided to go for a swim but there was so many kids in the pool, my son just wanted to get out of there. It seemed like the same folks who had stuck one of the fried eggs and sausages in the toaster earlier that morning...yes they did that to try and warm up the food. It was about 10 of them in the pool and we couldn't understand the language. Hauled it back to the room after waiting about 20 mins to see if they would leave. Looks like they didnt leave until it closed. Next morning was checkout and it went fine. Hotel staff is very accommodating. When we arrived our room didn't have a fridge or microwave. They found us a room with both. The only thing I would say is try not to place a family of 4 alongside rowdy and disruptive teens, and, try to monitor the premises a bit better. Call police if they are loitering. Fireworks and Frisbee games near a $60,000 vehicle is not my idea of a good time. I would stay again but not with family. Maybe a boys' trip to the casino or something.

Room Tip: Seems rooms in the front of hotel are quieter. Ask for a room with a fridge and microwave if you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodioCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budd Lake NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Quality Inn and found it to be clean, comfortable and well located.
The staff was very helpful. It is near Stonington, Mystic, New London etc.Great hotel for the money and right on the main road right near Route 95

Room Tip: We had a room in the back so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catbite4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Groton hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Groton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#8 of 14 in Groton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.8 mi away
Best Western Olympic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Groton

Property: Motel 6 Groton
Address: 404 Bridge St, Groton, CT 06340-3709 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel 6 Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Groton CT is conveniently located off of I-95. Enjoy our indoor pool, meeting room, coin laundry, truck parking, and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. We also offer jacuzzi tubs in select rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Groton
Quality Inn Groton
Groton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing