We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Groton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Super 8 Groton
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    124
    159
    85
    110
See reviews for
139
192
61
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We checked in after a long drive late on a Friday evening. Check-in was prompt and friendly and the young man at the front-desk gave us an enthusiastic dinner tip

But the room itself was sub-par for our experience with Super 8s. The 'desk' chair had stains, the carpeting was stained and felt somewhat sticky, which was off-putting. The window was open upon check-in and we were in a first floor room. We had to search for outlets for our various electronics. Breakfast was sufficient and the public areas seemed clean enough. The breakfast area was attended. Checkout staff was pleasant as well.

We're not overly particular - but it's hard for great staff to overcome old furnishings and worn carpets.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveh2ofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I was VERY disappointed in this Super 8. The only bright spot was the staff who were very helpful and polite. That was really about it.

Now for the negative. The towels all had gross brown stains on them. The toilet needed two flushes to flush properly. The vent in the bathroom didn't work. The blankets had cigarette burns in them in a non-smoking room. The walls were all patched and peeling in spots. Finally, the sidewalk in front of the building had big chunks of cement missing. This was directly behind the handicap parking. I don't know how a wheelchair is suppose to navigate it, it's all tore up.

If you are able to stay somewhere else, I would.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SgtFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Groton hotels

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Rooms were clean and spacious. Front desk help Kyle very helpful. Breakfast was more than adequate. Close to interstate and sites. Restaurants were close. Captain Scot's Seafood is a great place to eat in New London just a little hard to find. It's on the wharf and We ate there two night. Stayed two night and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beardiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Staying here was a surprise. My family and I have been on a road trip across America for the summer. We decided to stay at this Super 8 that was off the freeway. Was surprised to see that the place was clean and well maintained. Had a great quiet night sleep. Breakfast was typical and area was not bad. Highly recommended. As for management as promised I posted on Trip Advisor. Thanks for the great service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Keota A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The carpet was stained beyond relief, cigarette burns in the sheets, black thick hairs found in more than one towel, stale cereal at the breakfast, smells weird, elevator smells like cheese and mold, internet wouldn't work one night, just old. I'm not a snooty person by any means but this was really just gross. I would much rather pay 20 more dollars to stay somewhere I don't feel like I have germs crawling all over me. Location is great. Its nice that there is a fridge and microwave in the rooms. No coffee maker though.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jozlyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.4 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#8 of 14 in Groton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Groton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
2.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 5 in New London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Groton

Property: Super 8 Groton
Address: 173 Route 12, I-95 Exit 86, Groton, CT 06340-3432
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Groton 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Groton
Super Eight Groton
Groton Super 8
Groton Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing