We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Groton Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A friend recommended this hotel as a "clean, no frills" place to stay near Mystic. I'm glad I followed his advice. The entrance to this hotel is easy to miss, so call ahead for directions. The front lobby is charming with a small Koi pond and sitting area. A small reading nook with easy chairs and books is located at the top of the lobby stairs. The main building does not have an elevator, but the stairs are an easy climb. I was somewhat concerned when I realized that the lobby and halls were not air conditioned, but the air conditioner in our room worked well. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The building is older, but seems to be in the process of being renovated. Rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. One drawback was tight quarters in the bathroom and a toilet without a lid. The ice-machine is located downstairs in the smoking wing (not pleasant for non-smokers). We enjoyed the hotel restaurant which serves a "killer" prime rib! My friend tackled the lobster. The complimentary breakfast with a sit-down menu was also a pleasant surprise after a week of continental breakfasts at other hotels on the road. My friend asked if I would I stay here again. My answer? Yes :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HokieGal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

This inn had two rooms left when we passed through Mystic during a very busy weekend, so we stayed. It is well priced for the area, and we were rented a two bedroom one bath apartment. The entire property is dated, but kept clean. It seems like the staff is doing the best they can with what they have to work with. There is a restaurant on site that is affordable priced, with a bar. The inn offers short and long term rentals and is close to attractions in Mystic. Even though it is located near the highway, you really don't hear the traffic with the air on. It was a good night's rest for us and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Firstly, I We took a chance on booking this hotel despite the numerous comments regarding the staleness and age of the carpeting, furnishings, etc. because the price was too tempting for a two bedroom, full kitchen room. We have two young children, so they amenities are important to us. We were willing to accept old furniture, and even brought Febreze to combat any odors!

Our first impressions were scary. Despite being prepared (thanks past reviewers!), we were dismayed at the look of the hotel sign (major peeling - looked like it belonged to a hotel that had been long abandoned!!), and the hallway carpeting (we were in Building 500), which looked like a herd of wild animals had just come through. But those fears were dissipated when we actually entered our room. Yes, the furniture is old, and looks like it was purchased from a discount outlet store, but the carpeting was fine, and the place was huge!! The kids shrieked with delight at the sight of it all, and ran from room to room. Whew!

The place to be more than adequate, size-wise. In fact, the walk-in closet in our master bedroom was bigger than the one I have at home! And we liked that there was an extra sink outside of the bathroom for brushing teeth, etc. Sheets were decent, mattresses were VERY comfortable, and seemed to be brand new (which was, in fact confirmed by our waitress the next morning). TV's were also new, and I believe the sink and bathtub was new too.

What was NOT new, and really needs to be the next thing on the list: kitchen appliances. My god!!! Both the microwave and oven were AT LEAST 20 years old, which made them somewhat unusable. Both have dials. When was the last time you saw a microwave with dials!! We had bought a number of microwaveable things from Trader Joe's to eat while on vacation, but ended up using the oven and stove, which was faster. Example - fried rice package said 1-2 minutes; we put it in for about 8 minutes, then decided to put it in the pan to finish up. I guess the microwave guide, which said 9-11 minutes for frozen veg was right... wow. Oven also worked, but again, it was really old, and I couldn't for the life of me figure out the timer. Plus, it made the whole area really hot when it was on.

Which leads to the other main problem, which is the lack of air-conditioning in the 2nd bedroom. The one in the master bedroom and living room is great, but if you close the doors to the 2nd bedroom or use the oven (which increases the temp of the bedroom, which is across the way from the kitchen, by about 15 degrees), it gets really hot. We started cranking up the living room a/c to maximum each day when we left so the kid's room would be nice and cool when it was time for them to sleep. We forgot one day, and it was boiling in the room at night. I literally put ice on their beds to cool them down!!

Other pluses, though, were the free breakfast (very good, though not great, IMO) and the location, which is right off the highway, near to many restaurants (Five Guys Burgers and an Indian restaurant in the Ramada with good reviews are both within walking distance), and right across from a large shopping area with a supermarket, dollar store, Kohl's, Panera, and more - perfect for picnic supplies, and getting anything you might have forgotten to pack.

Would stay there again if they made more improvements, which they seem to be in the process of, so fingers crossed for next time :) Otherwise, we'll be looking for another place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItineraryLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We spent Saturday and Sunday visiting the Mystic area of Connecticut. Discovered Groton Inn two years ago staying only Sunday night(only night available). This time we called in advance and booked both nights. When checking in Arline (Guest Services Manager) at the desk, actualy remembered us. We were put in an efficiency with a king bed and full kitchen. The bed was super comfortabe but was being replace with something better. Each day were given a voucher for a full sit down, waitress servied breakfast that was excellent. Everyone was very nice from the cleaning staff to the waitresses, especially Arline. If you forgot something Walmart is across the street.We will stay there again and highly recommend thr Groton Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamespmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This in not the best motel I have ever stayed at but neither is it the worst. Paid $124.95 + tax for two nights 20 and 21 June 2013. Our room had two queen beds, a large living room area and a kitchenette with microwave and small frig. The only short coming was the noisy A/C unit. The overall property is in fair to good condition. A little rough around the edges. Yes, the bath room is small and contains only the tub and toilet. But then I don't live in the bathroom and all we wanted was a comfortable place to sleep and shower. This filled the bill at a very nice price. And I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont think there was a pool nor room service. It isn't that kind of hotel. We wanted a place c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The hotel shows it's age in some places, but overall it's in good condition. Seemed clean other than the sheets had a stale odor to them.

We were there for an event at the hotel, so the location was great for us. It is close to many of the reasons you'd go to Groton, so that's a plus.

Staff was very nice. Complementary breakfast was good. There is a restaurant and bar right off of the lobby. Both were good.

Price was about half of the chain hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RnDinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I stayed here one night for a brief trip. I found the hotel to be clean and well tended with a friendly staff. The nearby area has plenty of restaurants to suit most tastes as well as plenty of shopping.
It's about 25 minutes away from Foxwoods, which was the reason for my stay.
Completely satisfied for the price I paid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SigurdJarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.5 mi away
Best Western Olympic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#2 of 14 in Groton
618 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
0.2 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#7 of 14 in Groton
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groton Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groton Inn and Suites

Address: 99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range: £64 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Groton Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service hotel with traditional rooms, suites and full apartments. Complimentary full served hot breakfast of choice and free wifi.Lounge and restaurant serving 7 days a week-continously breakfast thru dinner. Weekend lobster specials and early bird dinner specials. Wifi complimentary. Only 5 minutes from Mystic and close to Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino, and U.S. Submarine Base Groton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Groton Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groton Hotel Groton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing