We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bang for the buck!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Groton Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Groton Inn a few weeks ago while we lost our $ at Mohegan Sun, the hotel was very nice, huge room, with a separate sitting room, king size bed and 2 nice Samsung flat screen TV's, also a fridge and microwave. Room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The front desk clerk was very nice and helpful and the chambermaids were very pleasant and kept the bathroom spotless...great hot water power in the shower too! The added bonus was the great full off the menu breakfast in the restaurant, fantastic pancakes and eggs, I couldn't eat another sliver! The hotel is also very convenient to the highway and a number of shopping locations if you forgot anything. All n All I would recommend the Groton Inn highly and you will save about $400 on a Sat. night compared to those rip-off prices at the Mohegan Sun....Big Thumbs Up to the Groton Inn & Suites!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We went while they were renovating so I can't complain about the look or anything, it's under construction. But beyond that it was a cozy quiet place. Perfect for a family trip. Located right off the highway and basically right in the middle of everything.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Desiree410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have a group of friends (6) that all get together for a all-girls weekend trip every Feb. And for the last 3 years we have stayed the Groton Inn & Suites. We normally can fit in their 2 bedroom unit, but this year we took 2 (2 bedroom units) because we had a 7th person. We love this establishment. We had heard they had new owners and some changes took place. We noticed some subtle changes (new rugs, drapes, flat screen TV's). These units are always clean, and the pots and pans are in good shape (I am fussy) and this is a real plus for me. Ample dishes, silverware etc and if you need additional they won't hesitate to bring you what you need. Housekeeping was very accommodating for extra towels, and shampoo's etc....Front desk is very friendly. The bartenders are the best. Our first night we had Jess, hugs and welcome back when we walked in. Saturday night we had Daun. It was great seeing her. She entertained us with a magic trick using pennies and then a brain-teaser using toothpicks. Waitstaff for breakfast put 3 tables together for us to eat at. Breakfast was delicious and she kept the coffee coming. Jess makes a yummy Bloody-Mary. Mr Brown the new GM, can't thank him enough. He was so accommodating and he never tired of my emails and many questions. Coming to this establishment is like coming home....they treat you like family. Thank you once again for making our all-girls mini vacation a wonderful experience. See ya next year!!

Room Tip: We always take the 2 bedroom apartment. It has a full kitchen with all the pots and pans. They are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Arriving late at night and needing to catch the 6:00 AM ferry, we were looking for a reasonably priced place of decent quality. And the Groton Inn filled the bill. The place is a bit dated - you won't mistake this for a five-star mega-hotel. But the lobby was well-kept, the rooms were good-sized and clean, the water pressure was decent, and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, the cooked-to-order breakfast began at 6:00, and we had to leave before that to catch the ferry. Pity; it sounded much nicer than the typical Hampton-Inn fare.

This is not the place to hold your wedding. But if you're looking for decent accommodations at a fair price, head on over. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you don't want to carry your luggage up the steps, ask for a room on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry5b6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I had recent knee surgery and requested a 1st floor room.The staff checking me in not only provided a first floor room,but gave us a handicapped accessible room, without me asking!! They saw my cane and took action from there. We have stayed here numerous times, rooms are always clean, staff is always friendly. They offer a free breakfast and the wait staff is great!
I love this place! Keep up the good work Groton Inn and Suites!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil S, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thanks for the kind and generous words. We take pride in our level of service, and I'm glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations. We will continue to offer the elevated level of service and an excellent dining option at our restaurant - Oakwood Bare & Grille.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Excellent Staff at the Groton Suites. I feel at home there on every stay. The room is clean, comfy bed & two nice flat screens.
I do think the drink prices are a little high in the lounge though. Great food & friendly bartenders.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlieSater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil S, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Our team will re-evaluate drink prices in the lounge. Thanks for the loyalty and feel free to catch me on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have stayed at this inn many times using coupons. The rooms were small and near the lobby but the included breakfast made them a good deal. But we were told on our last visit that there would no longer be a breakfast included with coupons. They did give us breakfast this time because we were taken by surprize by the change. We will be finding somewhere else to go with the coupons, such as Quality Inn in Norwich.
They changed the coffee in the dining room to some really awful smelling and tasting stuff. The waitress got me coffee from the kitchen which was quite good. That was very nice of her.
Our last stay, sadly,was on Dec. 8-9, 2013.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil S, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry that some of our promotions no longer include breakfast. The new promotion allows us to offer rock-bottom prices to first-time guests as an incentive to try our newer and improved rooms. We still offer other promotions, which can be found on our website - www.grotoninn.com, which may be more suitable for your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#2 of 14 in Groton
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#7 of 14 in Groton
715 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groton Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groton Inn and Suites

Address: 99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340-3402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range: £61 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Groton Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service hotel with traditional rooms, suites and full apartments. Complimentary full served hot breakfast of choice and free wifi.Lounge and restaurant serving 7 days a week-continously breakfast thru dinner. Weekend lobster specials and early bird dinner specials. Wifi complimentary. Only 5 minutes from Mystic and close to Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino, and U.S. Submarine Base Groton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Groton Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groton Hotel Groton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing