We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in New London area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Groton Inn and Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Groton Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Astoria, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in New London area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We used the hotel as a base for trips to Mohegan, Nautilus museum, Peqout museum, Foxwoods and other nearby sites. It's economical, clean, with a good complete breakfast (not toast and tea) every AM. A little "old school" in design, but we like it.

Room Tip: Main building better than annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    102
    59
    34
    25
See reviews for
74
116
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Really a good place to stay, I have been a customer for 11 years and always had an enjoyable time. Your staff is wonderful and the location is excellent! Recent upgrades are nice and the entire place is clean and exceptionally well run. From the front desk to the morning breakfast, this is a great place to stay, and close to all the things that you need to see in eastern CT.

Room Tip: Get an efficiency or apartment if you are staying more than 1 week. The upgrades done recently are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arcitech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Blocked off rooms in February for a wedding in July..traveling down from NH. Reserved a suite for 4 adults and a child. Got there and they had no suites available and wanted to put us in a room with queen beds. Finally got a suite because another party who got the last suite heard our problem and changed with us. So those 4 adults were put in the room with the queen beds. The building with the suites smelled like mold and the hallways were filthy. Room had a cigarette butt left on the window sill, the toilet rocked, the hair dryer over heated and burnt out while I was trying to get ready for the wedding and when I went to call the front desk I found the phone did not work. But we got a free breakfast. The manager did give us a 50% discount but after finding out the problems all my other relatives and friends had with their rooms we should of got them for free. And when confronted with problems the manager got a little pissy. I called and left a message when I got home but he did not return my call......will not stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Groton hotels

Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husbands family held their 21st family reunion at the Groton Inn and Suites over the July 4th weekend. We had 65 people attend using 28 rooms. The hotel is dated but clean, maintained and in good shape overall. The rooms were spacious (except for the tiny bathrooms), they had new bedding & curtains, a microwave and a coffee pot.
The restaurant food was very good with a decent selection and reasonable prices. We also had a family buffet dinner in the Oakwood Right Banquet Room.That food was also very good.
We used the Amber Room for our hospitality room which was awesome! It was large enough to accommodate all of us for social time, fun and games. The Amber Room was located right across from the front desk and apparently is quite soundproof. This was the first reunion we didn't have complaints about noise. :)
Lastly, I can't say enough about the staff.The manager, Bill Brown, was very professional with a welcoming personality. He was very accommodating to all our wants and needs. Summer was in charge of our banquet/dinner and the Amber Room. She was nice, patient and very helpful. The entire staff including the front desk, custodial, housekeeping and the restaurant wait staff were all really nice and made us all feel welcome.
I would definitely recommend Groton Inn and Suites, especially for large groups.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 696CherylS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Not a glamorous resort but very good value at a reasonable price. The room was a little dated but very clean and much larger than expected. It included a full kitchen. The king-sized bed was very comfortable, although it needed a fourth pillow. Air-conditioner, large screen TV and WIFI all worked well. Full breakfast, with outstanding service, was included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

THIS IS NOT A 4 STAR PLACE! We in with my family and kids, two drunk people making out by the front door. Drunk people everywhere. The rooms are worth the rate they are asking. The whole place smells musty. The DaysInn & suits across the street would be better.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jarredi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

It was a good stay.. Rooms were nice and clean, staff was excellent ... Went out of the way to make sure things were right. Complimentary breakfast was excellent. .. Thanks for a good room at a great price...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#3 of 14 in Groton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#8 of 14 in Groton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groton Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groton Inn and Suites

Property: Groton Inn and Suites
Address: 99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Groton Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service hotel with traditional rooms, suites and full apartments. Complimentary full served hot breakfast of choice and free wifi.Lounge and restaurant serving 7 days a week-continously breakfast thru dinner. Weekend lobster specials and early bird dinner specials. Wifi complimentary. Only 5 minutes from Mystic and close to Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino, and U.S. Submarine Base Groton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Groton Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groton Hotel Groton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing