We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a hotel which is committed to guest satisfaction”
Review of Ramada Groton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Groton
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Most reviews written about hotels deal with things like cleanliness, decor, amenities, etc. However, as all travelers know, sometimes things go wrong during a stay and then what matters most is how responsive the hotel's management is to your issue. I have stayed at the Ramada Groton on numerous occasions, and I've always enjoyed my stay there. (You can read my previous "five circle" review on Trip Advisor from about two years ago.) However, on my most recent reservation at this hotel, the person who took my reservation mistakenly forgot to mention that the indoor swimming pool was closed for renovations, which I discovered only once we arrived. Since I was travelling with my two children who were practically in their swimsuit prior to arrival, this was a major issue for me.

I subsequently had to scramble to find another hotel at the last minute, which wasn't easy since I was also travelling with our two small dogs. A week later, I reached out to the hotel management, to let them know of the inconvenience that had been caused, and I am pleased to say the management at this hotel was VERY responsive to my issue. They promptly offered to comp a future stay, and they did so with a very obvious concern for my satisfaction and a genuine regret for the hassle I had encountered.

Whether you are staying at a $60/night hotel or a $600/night hotel, it's important to know that the management has a concern for your satisfaction, and I can whole-heartedly say that the management of the Ramada Groton has proven this on their part. As a traveller, I appreciate this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JustCNNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear JustCNNew England...Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We would also like to thank you for understanding that occasionally things do not go as planned and when that happens it is upon us to fix it to the best of our ability...so thank you for giving us the chance to do so in this instance. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Marci W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
Mississauga, Canada
910
Reviewed 28 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived at hotel at 10:30 at night with two kids. Both kids were so tired that we decided to stay even thought the room looked like it belong in a third world country. The hotel stinks of curry. Not great!
The rooms are ok. Our windows were broken and the bathroom door would not close. The bathroom had a drip all night and it was like having Chinese torture all night. We did not get any sleep. The room smelled of curry and mold.
Breakfast was really blend. Eggs tasted like rubber and they only had eggs as a hot choice and bagels, cereal and old pastries.
Like I said, because of our two kids, we didn't leave until morning.
We were told we could have a suite, but magically, the suite was rented out as soon as we had our bags packed and ready to move. Then, they wanted us to wait until 11 for another room. We decided to leave and get something else.
We got charged for mold, sleepless night, and blend food.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flcktgjskwgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Flcktgjskwgr...Thank you very much for taking time from your busy schedule to share a review of your stay with us...we regret you were disappointed. Your feedback and opinions are important to us and appreciated. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Vincent F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramada_Gr0t0n, Manager at Ramada Groton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.2 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Olympic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
5.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Groton
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Groton

Address: 156 Kings Hwy, Groton, CT 06340-3436 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range: £41 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated Summer 2007!! Two Story, 69 Room Hotel. Continental Breakfast 7 days a week. 24/7 Coffee. Indoor heated Pool & Jacuzzi. Restaurant & Hair Salon on-site. Pet Friendly. Truck Parking Available. Close to major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Groton Hotel Groton
Clarion Groton
Groton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing