We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”
Review of Ramada Groton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Groton
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Needed a home base for a visit to Foxwoods en route to Nantucket. Neat and clean. Indoor pool. Cont. breakfast included. This is not the Ritz but service was great and room was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

Arrived Fri, room not cleaned Sat. Went to desk for towels at 3 PM; told room would be cleaned shortly. Came back to room at 11 PM Sat night. Room still not serviced. Called desk; clerk was very rude. Room across hall had dirty sheets, towels outside their door on the floor all day Sat. Requested clean towels on Sun AM-were told there were none available. Were given 2 hand towels and 2 wash cloths. Had to wait an hr. for bath towels. Maid replaced towels on Sun PM but never touched the bath fixtures (toothpaste in sink, used wash cloth and empty shampoo containers still in tub). Floor was not vacuumed. Pool was freezing; maintenance said heater broken for weeks. Orange juice dispenser at breakfast was broken both mornings-had to find someone to fix it. Mgrs. excuse-hotel full!!! Hire more help!!! Don't get frustrated like we did; stay elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cars55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Arrived at 1pm and told room was ready but there would be a charge for early check inn. Explained just wanted to drop bags off and go to Mohegan Sun casino for concert and fun. Man at front desk who claimed he was acting manager was not helpful and rude. No customer service skills and ruined our impression of Hotel. I never write negative reviews but this experience changed that. Avoid this Hotel at all costs. I will never go back there and will tell all I know the same. This terrible experience could have been avoided with a little thought to customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xd5y4sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

While the Ramada is not the Ritz, the hotel itself is good. We booked a room close to a month ago and got a great rate of $59/night for 2 nights and $69/night for the weekend. I read the mixed reviews before booking but decided to take a chance.

I was pleasantly surprised. We always put in the special request box when booking a room " a room close to the pool would be great". This request is from the 12 year fish that we travel with. We usually do not get that request forfilled, but this time it was. We were in the room right next to the pool. We had a small patio, that was right next to the pool. The other rooms on that floor had tables which we did not.

The pool was very cold due to the heater being broken, but our little fish did not care. The hot tub was great..

The breakfast was the usual bagels, muffins, cereal.. which is what we expected, but the breakfast was so close to our room we brought it back to our room to eat.

The room itself was larger than expected with 2 double beds, a pull out couch ( not expecting), chair and ottoman. Coffee table..

The Decor could be updated, but we spend so little time in the room that to us that does not matter. It is convienant to the highway for trips to Mystic, Providence etc.

We would definitly consider this hotel again, when traveling in the Groton area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squigglesbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

There are literally dozens of hotels that are probably the same price, maybe a bt more expensive that would be a better option. There's an Indian restaurant in the hotel, and the entire place smells like curry. It was nasty. Room was OK, but not very clean. Bathroom had tiles missing. Floor needed to be vacuumed. Location was fine, but like I said, plenty of better choices out there in same area. They charge you $25 for early check-in, which I didn't care for.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dangol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

The day started off well front desk person was great and talkative. She let us know places around the area and asked us if we were going to the casino(in which we were). Finally we got to our room and found dust all over the floor and nightstands. The carpet seemed like it had not been vacuumed for weeks. The jacuzzi in our room had hair and was very dirty. We spent almost a half hour just cleaning that then we decided to go for a swim pool heater was broken and front desk said it had been like that for quite a long time. The jacuzzi water by the pool was a green color as well. Please be advised this is not a hotel to stay in. Specially when all hotels in this area are around the same price range.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_the_weekend23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Check in went great not any problems there. ..I got to my room and I noticed it looked like there was white lint on the rugs.. I think they need a vacumm with stronger power.. They also could of dusted better and that would of made the room look great. The bediing was clean and so was the bathroom..It is an average hotel but I knew that just by it's price... It is a good hotel if you plan on going to the local casinos.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpoison76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.2 mi away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Olympic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
5.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Groton
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Groton

Address: 156 Kings Hwy, Groton, CT 06340-3436 (Formerly Gold Star Inn A Clarion Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price Range: £41 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Groton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated Summer 2007!! Two Story, 69 Room Hotel. Continental Breakfast 7 days a week. 24/7 Coffee. Indoor heated Pool & Jacuzzi. Restaurant & Hair Salon on-site. Pet Friendly. Truck Parking Available. Close to major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Groton Hotel Groton
Clarion Groton
Groton Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing