We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small in size but Large in charm”
Review of Bufalina

Bufalina
Ranked #5 of 82 Restaurants in Guilford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small in size but Large in charm”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Thanks to fellow reviewers we decided to stop in for dinner on our way back from killingworth to west haven. We arrived just after opening and easily found a spot. Within 15 minutes the place was full (not too surprising considering there are only 6 tables outside) we brought a bottle of wine and enjoyed it with our fig pizza, olive tapanade pizza and a couple of margarita pizzas. Delicious. Perfect night. 2 thumbs up.

Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    16
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, CT USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small but quaint and oh so good!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The pizza is fantastic with wonderfully fresh and high quality ingredients. Limited menu but every pizza is memoriable and changes with the seasons. The pizzas are thin crusted gourmet pizzas with offerings from the stand by Marguerita, 4 cheese or meat lovers to the nightly special (what I often can't resist). It is also BYOB. The biggest challenge is getting a seat. We tend to go later in the evening (for Guilford 8/8:30 pm) and sometimes are lucky enough to get a seat. There are approximately 10 bar like seats and 1 window seat. Warmer weather brings outdoor seating on a backyard patio (another 10 seats or so). It is our go to place for good food and a warm and friendly atmosphere - the young owners are delightful and the staff are terrific as well. Take out is available and we very infrequently take advanatge of this option (only when we can't get a seat and we have a bufalina craving and nothing else will do) however we think one misses out on experiencing the pizza at its best (straight out of the wood fire oven) and the relaxed warm atmosphere that Melissa and Matt create for their guests.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thank you for squeezing us in!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We were driving from Philly to Mystic, CT. A friend recommended we stop at Pepe's in New Haven for pizza on the way. Well we drove down the street and the line was out the door on a cold February night. We hopped back on 95 North and used Trip Adviser to find Bufalina and what a find it was. The place is tiny and we saw people coming out with pizzas. As we approached the door we thought maybe it was takeout only. Inside there is one small table and window seat for two and enough space at the counter for 8. They asked if we had a reservation which took us by surprise. They managed to squeeze us in and it was fantastic! We had two pizzas - one per person is just right. I had the Gamberi which is a tomato pie with shrimp that was awesome. My wife had the Bufalina which is tomato pie with buffalo mozzarella and basil which was excellent, too. The best part is the real thin crispy crust so it is not real filling like a regular pizza. If ever in the area again we will make a reservation!!

Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Greenwich Village in Guilford, CT”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I have been to Bufalina on quite a few occasions and the pizza never disappoints. It reminds me of similar restaurants in Greenwich Village. I have ordered various pizzas and each one is better than the next all cooked in their fantastic wood burning oven. The staff is super friendly and very helpful and the owners are wonderful. The only issue is the small size of the restaurant so make a reservation. Spring and summer are easier as they have outdoor seating; enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east lyme, ct
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“tiny joint”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

sweet couple make the pies in front of you. with a smile and great ingredients. They seasonally change their pies and they are terrific. Great date spot if you can get a seat

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lawarence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bufalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing