We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guilford Moorings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guilford Mooring Seafood

Guilford Mooring Seafood
Ranked #17 of 82 Restaurants in Guilford
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Guilford Moorings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a large group of people (15 plus) and tried to have the bill split in smaller groups, which they agreed to. But everything got screwed up. To top it off, the charged $2 if you wanted a drink over ice! Really? $2 for ice? Other than that rip-off and trying to figure out the bill, the food was excellent and the service very good, considering we had a big party.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    61
    41
    27
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Now Open After Sandy...Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

The Moorings has reopen after storm Sandy. They now have a new Chef, Ray, who does an outstanding job. The food has never been better. His menu is new and fresh. Apps including the fried calamari that melts in your mouth to raw tuna over a mound of seaweed salad. The shrimp tacos have a hint of heat...all were wonderful. Dinner from the fish and chips to the perfectly cooked penne shrimp ala vodka.The portions are plentiful and worth the price.
The staff is so eager to help and make you feel welcomed ...our waitress Erica was so professional, she had a smile from the start to a great big thank you, come again when we left. We will definitly return and tell our friends.
I wish the Moorings great success, I feel they finally got everything right, they say third time is a charm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clawdad711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location ... Been hurt by storms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This longtime restaurant on the shore in Guiford, CT was destroyed by Hurricane Irene. They totoally rebuilt better than ever! The dining area was more upbeat and the staff seemed freidnlier than ever. The menu was updated and the food was at a good level. Unfortunately, Hurricane Sandy devastated the restaurant again. Not sure if it has reopened yet. If/when it does - give it a try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seven32009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gave it a 3rd try, but no good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Each time we have tried to give this place a shot something always is wrong. Someone at our table always gets something that is cold or not cooked properly. This time the fried seafood was soggy in grease. The waitstaff is unattentive. The list goes on. SO many better options in CT for seafood.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank karabear8317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

This is our family's event restaurant. Birthdays, anniversary, girls night out. It is always a good experience. Views of the Guilford Harbor, live music, and excellent food, just make this place more special. We can't wait for it to reopen after sustaining damage from the hurricane!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PDP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guilford Mooring Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Guilford Mooring Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing